We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Phoenix hotels

Camelback Sahara Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Days Inn Camelback Phoenix and Conference Center)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Camelback Sahara Hotel to your Saves list
Camelback Sahara Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
43%
Ranked #112 of 176 hotels in Phoenix
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013
creativeconsulting Scottsdale, Arizona
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    33
    23
    36
See reviews for
34
24
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We got dropped off at the hotel as we arrived I turned pale when they read our names! This place looks nothing!!!! Like the pictures!!! Stay clear!! The place is filthy. Plastic knifes and folks polystyrene bowls!! The staff how ever were amazing especially the guy on reception!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phoenix
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this hotel on Expedia and from the Web site, things looked good. Turned out that my expectations were way off the mark. The hotel has signs stating that they are under new ownership but it isn't reflected in the shape of things. The room was definitely not worth what I was charged. The bed was at least 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to start?! The front desk help was awesome. that is the ONLY good thing about this place. It says it was under new management, new rooms, etc. If it was undergoing renovation it must have been from 1920! The beds don't have comforters or spreads and some didn't have skirts on them either. The whole room was filthy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
H502GM, General Manager at Camelback Sahara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara B, I’m so sorry for letting you and your family down. There are guest rooms being renovated, unfortunately they are not complete due to delays in shipments and construction. There are some items in your review that should not have happened and the room should have been clean. Based on your experience at our hotel, I hope you... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

ok, so they are trying to under go a image change well its not working!. The manager Jim is a joke. He wont return calls and even follow uo about my stay. ok, so the entire room was under reno no carpet, no lock on door, they put in new bath room although it was dirty! The shower would go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
H502GM, General Manager at Camelback Sahara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dtp84 I’m sorry we left you with a poor impression of our hotel and our service. However, as you may recall, there was no record of your reservation through Booking.com. Given that we were sold out, and rather than turn you away, we did inform you that we could accommodate you in a room that was being renovated. The... More

Cortez,
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Avoid this hotel until the construction is complete. I booked this hotel based on photos online and was shocked when I checked in. I have seen "crack houses" that looked better. There were tarps hanging over doorways with caution tape. There was drywall dust and debris on the elevator carpet and no carpet at all in the hallways - only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is undergoing renovation. The hotel consists of two building structures. Only one building is available for guests. The available building fourth floor is totally renovated, third floor partially renovated and second floor much to be desired. The hotel went through two signature hotel brands, the last being a Days Inn. The hotel in its current condition should not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is central and allows access to the light rail system that will transport you to all major sporting venues, places of interest and the Phoenix Convention Center. There is no way this location should charge a resort fee when it isn't a resort and doesn't provide the amenities of a resort. The hotel consists of two building structures.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel charges a $10 fee if you book on Expedia, etc. A "resort fee" of $10/night for this place is a joke. The restauarant was closed for renovations. The pool is not heated, so couldn't be used during our stay. No on-site fitness center. The computer in the lobby for guest use did not have internet access for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

the desk clerk was pleasant on check in. The room was terrible. Strong odor of cleaning supplies. Bed flimsy with no comforter. Bathroom small and outdated. Coffee maker filthy with particles floating in water reservoir. Window lock vandalized in violent manner making it unable to be secured. Photos enclosed. Anyone could have slid it open and walked in. Phone was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 32
1 review
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Had amenities listed to my wife and I through a hotel booking site and only half of those amenities were actually offered. And, if that wasn't enough to perturb me, I was charged $10 a night as a "resort fee." After further research, I noticed that the resort fee was supposed to include things such as the amenities listed. Seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 41

Been to Camelback Sahara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelback Sahara Hotel

Also Known As:
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel
Red Roof Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Red Roof Inn
Address: 502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Days Inn Camelback Phoenix and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 176 hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camelback Sahara Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camelback Sahara Hotel is at the heart of The Melrose District just 7 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Conveniently located just 1 block from the 7th Ave. Metro station, providing access to all points of interest including The Phoenix Convention Center, downtown sports and theater venues, museums, shopping, and Sky Harbor Intl. Our enormous pool area provides a great space to relax and soak in the Arizona sun. Rooms are furnished with plush mattresses along with all the pillows you could want, flat screen tv's, in-room Keurig coffee makers, and a hot fresh breakfast every morning. We also have meeting space available that can accommodate up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Camelback Sahara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelback Sahara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.