We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North

#78 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
9631 North Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85021
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
13
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Up: Nice quick snacking area, comfortable staging areas, great business services, very friendly desk and cleaning staff. Comfortable new beds, balconies Down: Not good walking in neighborhood, to restaurants or bars, minimal dining and bar services, confusing traffic access. FYI: no frig or microwave, single serve coffees in room, not great for groups of worker bees to gather. Pet peeve:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Greetings barthelmais, Thank you for taking time to post your comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Bistro Restaurant and friendly staff and very happy to hear you enjoyed sleeping in our new comfortable beds! Some of our guest rooms do have refrigerators and microwaves and we are in the process of purchasing refrigerators for... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Myah (not sure how her name was spelled) was the best customer service person I have ever encountered. She was there when we check in late Friday, there when we got coffee in the morning and there when we left at noon. I'm not sure if she works 24 hours a day, but you couldn't tell by her appearance and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear TheBestDaysAre, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay. Marah is a true asset to our hotel and always provides top notch customer service to our guests. I will be sure to share your comments with her as well as the entire staff at the hotel. All of our associates take... More 

Laguna Hills CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Every Thanksgiving we visit family in Phoenix - and every Thanksgving we have been incredibly disappointed in the various chain hotels we have stayed at UNTIL we booked Courtyard Marriott Phoenix North - and now, this is where we will stay every time when we come to Phoenix. In every category it is superior to the competitors in the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Grimwood, We are beyond thrilled to hear that you have found your home away from home at our hotel while you are traveling to Phoenix. That is the best compliment we could hear. We have completed our guest room renovation and lobby renovation, so you will be pleasantly surprised when you return this fall. I will... More 

miami
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Had a pleasant stay... Courtyards have created the "Bistro" concept that must be french for " where is my breakfast, I am still hungry" Serve a decent breakfast like all other hotels in your range and stop trying to play trendy with that flat screen that nobody uses!

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear ranger22miami, We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay at our newly renovated hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our Bistro restaurant. We serve a wide variety of refreshing healthy breakfast choices in the morning and a selection of dinner and cocktail option in the evening for our guests to enjoy. We have received... More 

Billings
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I think some of the past reviews have a mixture of photos that are from this hotel and some that are incorrect and are from another facility. The names are easily confused. There is a North and there is a North Happy Valley. This one is on North Black Canyon the other has a Whispering Pines address. While both have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Greeting MTfamily, Thank you for your comments. Our two North Phoenix Courtyards are very similar in name and sometimes our guests do get us mixed up. The photos online are from a traveler who actually stayed at the Courtyard Phoenix North Happy Valley, not our location. When looking at a hotel, it is important to look at the hotels photos,... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Good location - very friendly staff! The hotel is newly renovated in time for the Super Bowl. The bed was very comfortable, the mattress appeared to be new. The sofa in the room is very cool - it is a circular shape, nice touch to the room. My only negative was the speed of the elevator, the door takes forever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear Greg T., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and thank you for the nice comments about our friendly staff. They all take great pride in delivering a memorable experience for our guests. Thank you for the comments about our elevators.... More 

Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Crisp white sheets and towels (and plenty of towels) clean room, name brand shampoo and conditioner and quiet room. What else could you ask for? What about room service from Outback?! Yum Under renovation (which I barely noticed), Outback is delivering room service for $1. And in about 15 minutes in my case (soup and salad). Free breakfast as well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay! As you mentioned our hotel is currently under renovation. We are renovating our guest rooms, restaurant and lobby spaces. During the renovation, we are serving a complimentary continental breakfast to our guests. Our Bistro will be opening on January 21st and we... More 

Henderson,nv
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The Marriott is conveniently located, the staff was very friendly. The Marriott was very clean inside and outside, but the hotel lobby was under construction. Breakfast was very weak, very limited in the variety of items served. The room we had was spacious and spotless, but had a very small bathroom. The AC was noisy,but over all a nice Courtyard

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Rickey W., Thank you for taking your time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, clean hotel and spotless rooms. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent customer service. As you mentioned our hotel is currently renovating our guest rooms, restaurant and... More 

Albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard on thanksgiving. Arriving a little late we were greeted by a very friendly staff. The hotel was clean and quiet despite on going lobby construction. The breakfast was a bit lacking but enough to satisfy. A little more variety would have been appreciated but okay. Perhaps it's better at other times of the year. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear nineteenseventyseven, Thank you for taking the time to post these comments about our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were greeted by our friendly staff while you were visiting over Thanksgiving. We are currently undergoing a hotel renovation, renovating our lobby, restaurant and guest rooms. During the renovation we are serving a complimentary... More 

Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights the reception on arrival was awesome! The rest of the time when we went to the front desk the young man could not have cared less! He bordered on rude. The room was clean and in a quite location. However the AC was very loud so we shut it off...then it was hot in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General_Manager_CY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix North, responded to this review

Dear ccmr4, Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. My personal apologies for the young man at the front desk that made you not feel welcome at our hotel. I can imagine how this made you feel and I am so sorry. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question