We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Phoenix North

17211 North Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85023 (Formerly Super 8 Phoenix)
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Phoenix North
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    21
    55
    55
    112
See reviews for
91
56
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was outdated and in poor conditions, the bed was hard as a rock, definitely not what i had expected.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Remon H, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and I want to assure you that we are continuously improving through guest feedback and suggestions. I am very sorry for the impression we left you with, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was charged $20 because I checked in early. The room had a coffee maker but no pot , no trash can in the room and no ash tray in my smoking room. And when we asked the front desk about the missing amenities we were told we would have to wait till the maids were cleaning the rooms, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. I also want to apologize for the lack of certain amenities in your room and I am especially upset to hear that the situation was not addressed right away. We hope to see you again and that you'll finally be truly impressed with our improvements. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kept my deposit for 2 mins late after checkout, threatened the police....and were certitude/racist.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the experience you had during check-out. We wouldn’t want any of our guests to feel such way and to go through such experience and rest assured that this will be reviewed and prevent from happening again. We do not tolerate this kind of incident and we will definitely correct any one who would ever treat... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

This was last minute not planning it was convenient off the freeway. We had a clean room but where missing towels had to ask twice and missing the tv remote, the front desk guy was rude horrible check in experience because of his rudeness I most likely wont come back to this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways, though I am terribly sorry for the issues you encountered and any rudeness or insult that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar incident occurs... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

This is a dreadful place, in general Super 8 is great, this one is not worthy of the Wyndham name. Shower didn't work, the hotel has a very unsavory crowd, the rooms are very tired and in desperate need of a renovation. It was good that the front desk didn't ask how my stay was, he probably didn't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

We are very sorry about how you felt during your stay with us. We certainly don’t want any of our customers to feel that way and we would like to make it up to you. If you’ll give us another chance we will show you that we listen to your comments and that we act on them immediately. We do... More 

Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This place was disgusting. Holes in the curtains, internet put a Trojan on my tablet, room smelled,door looked liked it was kicked in, got a smoking room no ashtray had to het one myself, no batteries in remote when got batteries the remote did not work, looked people doing drug deals in parking lot, I can keep going.DONT EVERY GO... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. It's our ambition to give you a five star experience, and it's disheartening to discover that this is not the impression we left you with. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Deer Valley
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix North
Sleep Inn North
#79 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deer Valley
Comfort Inn Phoenix
Comfort Inn Phoenix
#108 of 175 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
North Mountain
BEST WESTERN Phoenix I-17 MetroCenter Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay