We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 174 Phoenix hotels

Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   965 East Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85006 (Central City)
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
65%
Ranked #80 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mercedes12974 Chicago, Illinois
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    65
    25
    17
    24
See reviews for
47
35
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The so called manager they have is the most unprofessional and prejudice person I have every seen in a public place. They really need to get rid of him, because he does not know how to treat people. We travel from California to Phoenix quite often, and we would always stay there because it's an okay motel for the most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Let me explain to you why your son did not get his deposit back. When a guest checks in the are asked to sign that they have been informed of our no smoking policy and non party disturbance policy. Since you weren't here I will tell you that his room was registered for 2 guest which is the maximum allowed... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exterior looks older, but the inside is updated. Location itself is a mild walk from downtown area. Near the lightrail/public transport which is nice for out-of-towners.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you the next time you are in phoenix. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was much more comfortable and well appointed than we expected from a motel. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate, and it included the delights of making one's own waffles. We chose this hotel for its proximity to downtown and to Chase Field.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walt S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you. We try hard to be better. More

Payson, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had reserved a room approx 2 months ahead. letting them know we had a small dog. when we arrived the girl said she did not know we had an animal and since the male manager was allergic we had to take another room. the room was ok other than the carpet was soiled. there was only enough coffee creamer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you booked on a online companies website. They do not send any special requests to the hotels such as a pet will be with you. The reason you were moved a 2 queens beds is because we did not have any king pet rooms left. When your lock broke we were there immediately to... More

Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to downtown, great customer service, you can see that they do what they can to keep place nice. I llke what they do

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Kamuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'm a Wyndham Rewards member but have never stayed at a Super 8. I was pleasantly surprised. I was on a road trip and stayed at four other motels but The Super 8 was the best and the most economical. Friendly staff, clean room and bathroom. Close to the Phoenix Airport but they do not have a shuttle service.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

We are very happy that we surprised you. Our staff loves surprising people with great service and clean rooms. This is why we are the only Pride of Super 8 in Phoenix. More

Glendale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The place was actually not bad considering the price. The rooms were clean enough, and we didn't have any issues with bugs. The rooms did not smell like smoke, which is nice. The only issue is maybe the location. First of all it's a bit of a walk to downtown, but it's not that bad. There's pretty much nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walt S, General Manager at Super 8 Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review

Your happy, we're happy! Please come see us again. Maybe we can see you for the Super Bowl. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Phoenix Downtown

Address: 965 East Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85006
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Phoenix Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Super Eight Phoenix
Phoenix Super Eight
Phoenix Super 8
Hotel Style
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix #65 Business Hotel in Phoenix

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay