We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Payson Campground and RV Resort

808 E. State Hwy 260, Payson, AZ 85541
Payson Campground and RV Resort
Add Your Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Casa Grande, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

For the last five years, my wife and I have rented a space for a minimum of 3 months each summer, using it on the weekends. We have a 29 foot fifth wheel. At 5,000 feet, it is far cooler than the valley.This campground is in town near all the amenities of shops and restaurants, yet inside it feels like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PaysonCampground, General Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate all comments, suggestions, and concerns posted on tripadvisor. We want each of our guest to know that we appreciate them. We take every comment, suggestion, and concern seriously. When a guest informs us that they enjoyed their stay with us, we strive to make the next visit just as enjoyable and pleasurable. We thank you very much. We... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Made reservation 2 weeks in advance, for a 2 week stay. Only thing we had to go by was the whimsy-type map on their website. Map is "cute" and shows green. Campground is brown and not so cute. Pictures shown on website were very cleverly taken & cropped. Not what you see when you get here. NOT welcomed, but greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PaysonCampground, Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, After reading your review, we would like to ensure you that this is not the normal treatment a guest should receive at our park. We have hired new managers, ensuring that our guests' visits are pleasant and enjoyable. Unfortunately, Payson had not received rain. Yes, the park was dusty. We are doing what we can to keep the... More 

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Don't bother reserving a particular space. They will give it away even though you paid for it. We have stayed here before and it was nice. This last trip was a total nightmare. I complained about them giving away our space and we ended up with possibly the worst spot in the park. It was very narrow, uneven and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaysonCampground, Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

We are new managers here at Payson Campground and RV Resort. We are doing everything we can to make the guests stay a pleasant stay. When you have a problem with a site you are given to stay in, the campground in general, management, maintenance, or anything else, please come to the office and let us know. Had we known... More 

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I have been at this campground for a while as she has a long term contract in Payson. A few quick notes: - Nice shady spots - Quiet location - Very nice swimming pool and facilities - Great friendly and helpful owners and staff. Love those guys and gals. They know you by name and always keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PaysonCampground, General Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We do strive to make every guest's stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible. Yes, at times our Park does get dusty, however, we do our best to keep the dust at a minimum and to ensure that our guests are happy and are enjoying their stay. More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The reviews are pretty accurate - the park is both good and bad. The dirt/dust is pretty bad. I was here for a month and everything in my Motorhome was covered in red dust. Plus, for the price I think you should get a table at the site. And, the sites are close! Lots of unkept permanents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PaysonCampground, Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

We have read your review. We would like to address the issue of the picnic table. We are working on constructing new tables. We will gladly place a table in any site upon request. Most of our RV sites do not have tables, however, if a site can accept a table we will be happy to put a table in... More 

Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend with friends who had their own site and all of us had a blast! This park excels at so many things that it made us forget about what it didn't. You can tell this used to be a KOA at one time but it was better than any AZ KOA we've stayed at. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
West Branch, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you ask for a site in the back, it would be less noisey. I do not know if it is reserved for campers that stay longer. I stayed for 4 days near the front by the highway. It was not so quite. I enjoyed the pool and I even walked across the street to breakfast. I would not stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaysonCampground, General Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

We always enjoy reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It is nice to know when our guests are having a good time camping with us. We do strive to make every guest's visit with us enjoyable and pleasant. We want each and every guest to know that if there is a comment, concern, or suggestion for us, that we take it... More 

Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here labor day weekend. Nice quiet campground with nice rv sites. We are camping in an rv and are in site 48...love it! We are far enough from the front to feel like we are away but close enough if we need something it's just a short walk. Showers look nice but we have our rv has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you don't want to be in the boonies, but want a good camping location, then this is it. They have good campsites for tents only, some do seem a bit close to your neighbor, so look up online first. We've never been there before, so we chose our spot blindly, but it was great! There were many trees and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vail, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wow. Not as advertised. Three toilets & 2 working showers in the ladies for a 100 site park. Fewer in the men's. No toilet paper, no soap, inoperable shower flooding the floor each of the 3 days we were there. Wi-fi was on site but access codes were only available periodically so if you wanted to use your computer you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PaysonCampground, Manager at Payson Campground and RV Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have taken your review seriously. We have encouraged our permanent guest to clean their sites with our help. We believe we have addressed your concern appropriately. Picnic tables are not always available on every site, however, if a guest requests a picnic table we do our best to accommodate that request. We are in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question