We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Apia hotels

Le Manumea Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd), Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Le Manumea Hotel to your Saves list
Le Manumea Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
83%
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sarah0000000 Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (156)
  • Photos (104)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
56
57
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Le Manumea with our 2 children and used it as a base to explore Upolu. Overall the hotel provided good, friendly service, with daily breakfast included and car hire and babysitting able to be arranged. The room was adequate, with air conditioning and we liked the outdoor shower at the back. The cultural night for guests was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for your feedback.Your thoughts & response goes towards the betterment of our service & hospitality. Pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Le Manumea. One of our definite priorities is to help our guests get the feel of Samoan culture. Glad we managed to succeed in that area.... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely garden setting and nice open restaurant bar fale looking over the gardens. We were a little disappointed by the room, as it was not cheap at all by NZ standards. No flat screen TV in the room (which is fine but why say they do if they don't!). The sheets were threadbare and not very clean. And the outdoor... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for your time, and for your honest feedback - Which helps us improve our terms of service & hospitality. Apologies for any inconvenience caused, and all unforseen mishaps. We are truly sorry that your experience with us was not quite what you expected. However, we are definitely working on improving matters you have stated. Fa'afetai tele... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really disappointed by our stay in this hotel. The room was dark and with a musty, dampness smell with fans are out of order. We were close to the reception with an uninteresting view on the dining area and with people talking loud late in the night. The outdoor shower is nice but at night there are large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Firstly, thank you for your response. We are truly sorry that your stay here at Le Manumea wasn't at all what you expected. Although from disappointment, your feedback helps us work towards the betterment of our service & hospitality. Noted, with thanks. Fa'afetai tele lava. More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this Hotel rooms were lovely outdoor showers were great. Staff lovely and friendly everything clean and tidy. Not to far from Apia,Taxi to town cheap. Food was ok. Only 1 bad meal first night apart from that it was good. Breakfast lovely. Setting nice ,lovely gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for taking time out to give us feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay here at Le Manumea. Our outdoor showers is definitely one of our "best sellers". Hope to host you again sometime soon. Fa'afetai tele lava More

Christchurch, NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms. I enjoyed the outside shower! Great location walking distance to the Botanic Gardens and the Robert Louis Stevenson museum. Nice tropical breakfast. We arrived late after the kitchen had closed but they very kindly cooked us fish and chips for a late meal which was much appreciated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for your time. We are so grateful for your feedback, as this helps us improve on our terms of service & hospitality. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Le Manumea. Our "Fish & chips" meal is definitely TOP CHOICE for many locals and close friends. Glad you got the chance to taste... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives Nice room and garden area Outdoor shower wet area Complimentary breakfast Staff friendly Negatives No sink plug No remote for TV in our room And the big one was that the pool was not available which was the main reason for why we chose to stay there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for your feedback. Your comments work towards the betterment of our service & hospitality and we are ever so grateful. We apologize for any inconvenience caused, however we remain thankful that Le Manumea was your choice of destination, and we will most definitely work on improving matters that you have stated. Hope to host you again... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as an extended whanau of 6. Luna & her staff were very welcoming and caring. Rooms were cool & spacious & the enclosed outdoor bathroom was lovely, as was the short walk through the gardens to the rooms. Free tropical breakfast was the perfect kickstart to the day and the other meals we ate in the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Le Manumea. This helps us improve in terms of service & hospitality. Much appreciated. Looking forward to hosting you once again, Fa'afetai tele lava. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would like to take this time to thank you both and your family for a wonderful time at Le Manumea. Everything was just perfect from the welcoming when we arrived, the rooms, the cleanliness the hospitality from you both and your family and even the staff. The food, the entertainment and the extra things you did for us free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava! Thank you so much for your feedback. We are truly grateful that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and had the opportunity to experience/see a bit of our culture. We are definitely looking forward to hosting you and your family again sometime in the (hopefully) near future. Le Manumea has indeed become "home" to many others. Welcome... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked online through a reputable booking website for check in the same day, and booked 2 hours before check in time. I received an email from the hotel saying my credit card had declined the booking deposit. I saw the email an hour after it had been sent, and immediately emailed back and then rang them to give them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you for your honest feedback. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our service. In cases such as the one you have mentioned, we require immediate responses when referring to declined credit cards. Especially when other bookings are waiting to be confirmed. However, we are truly apologetic for the way things turned out, the inconvenience,... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family spent around 3 days here a couple of years ago. The host was lovely and the food was great. Happy to return in the future. Lovely outdoor shower and the room was delightful. From memory, the owner was able to organise a hire car for us also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lava, Thank you so much for your feedback. Pleased to know that your family enjoyed their time here with us. Looking forward to hosting you all sometime soon in the near future. Fa'afetai tele lava. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Manumea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Address: Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd), Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Apia with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 22" TV is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Manumea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer