We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

4.0 of 5 Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos EC180250, Ecuador
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luna Runtun Adventure Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Luna Runtun Adventure Spa
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    48
    36
    14
    17
See reviews for
51
141
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel on top of a mountain overlooking Banos. The room was comfortable with a good bed but a night it was really cold in the room. The swimmingpool is great and warm with very nice views, also a night. There is a small and cosy restaurant with decent food and good service. I used the spa for a facial... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

Dear MariekeRotterdam: Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Luna Runtun. It brings me great joy that you enjoyed your stay with us… from the room to the swimming pool view, to the restaurant. Nevertheless the night was cold, you forget to turn the heater on. All rooms and suites have eco-heated floors or... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved everything about this spot until I found out that I had a lot of money missing along with my iPod and I second guessed it until I looked at other reviews and it is very common for things to come up missing here and you are unable to do anything about it. I would stay here again but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA. We would have loved that you also mentioned you found out the missing Ipod and money two days after check out. It´s not common for things to come up missing here. It´s common for travelers to lose their things in any other place and blame the hotel staff for their... More

Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. There were beautiful flowerbouquets and the overall abiente was very soothing, as the hotel, restaurant and spa are located in a park like environment. The cafe de Ciello is extremly beautiful when considering the view over Banos. The location of the hotel is ideal, eventhough the vocano can not directly be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

It makes me happy to know that you had a great stay. Thank you for the wonderful compliments of the hotel’s staff and the beautiful view of Baños from Café del Cielo. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Luna Runtun and ensuring your next visit is another impressive and amazing experience. Warm regards. More

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this VERY EXPENSIVE HOTEL for its value. We called because there was no hot water and the person in charge did nothing about it. When complained again she said "Ah, yeah, there is no gas" we will not charge you for a bottle of wine you had in a very bad tone. Very bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

It really saddens me to know that you have this impression of our hotel. We did our best to give you the best service we could. The problem with the shower was solved in 15 minutes and we even offered you the courtesy as a compensation. Thank you for your patience. Please know that we're extremely sorry. I hope your... More

Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

If you are staying in Banos, Luna Runtun is considered the best hotel in the area. This was my first time in Banos, so I didn't know what to expect. The closest comparison I have of Banos is like going to Big Bear or Lake Arrowhead in California - a mountain retreat where "luxury" is in context to the environment.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you found the room, the location and the pools enjoyable and relaxing. 1. buffet dinner / When we have more than 30 guests, dinner and breakfast become buffet. This is stated in the web page as well. 2. Pools reception unattended / I will make the follow up. I... More

Cologne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed one night at Luna Runtun with some of our friends to celebarte our wedding. As the hotel was recommended by a close friend and the Website looks promising we thought it would be a good choice. Unfortunately, after the stay we are very disappointed! Even the view and the surroundings are very beautiful and the rooms are clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

I'd like to personally apologize for the experience you had at Luna Runtun. 1. Café del Cielo and the biggest pool were under urgent maintenance. Normally, we inform all guests prior to arrival, but this was an urgent situation. We truly value your feedback, so that we have added a news feed section in our web page. 2. I will... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Wow! The service in this place is terrible (rude) our room was almost 600usd for two nights... am i in ecuador? and it is disgusting the hot tub in our room spewed brown flakes of mold and who knows what else.. I would never bath in those conditions. I couldn't use the tub so I went to the shower which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

Dear Zack: Thank you for your opinion about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. 1. hot tub / Rooms Division is in charge of the weekly cleaning of all suites' hot tubs. As well as Maintenance Department filters the tub's pipes on the same basis. I´m surprised about what happened. I... More

Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I loved the place. My room had an amazing view and the cafeteria and the pools also. The restaurant had good food, the breakfast was one of the best in Ecuador. I felt that in the pool they should have a hairdryer. In the room i missed a shower cap. The shower is a vertical one so if you don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you loved the view and that you found the food good. Thanks for your feedback. I plan to follow up on your concerns right away. We hope to see you back in Baños soon. Remember to book online in our web page, confirmation is immediate. Regards, More

Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place is truly heaven...the views from the pools and the Cafe are breathtaking and if Tungurahua Volcano is not covered in clouds you can see that too from many points on the property. The rooms are well appointed with everything that you need and great views as well. The site is quite a respite from the towns and cities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

I'm so pleased to hear that you've been impressed with your stay. Thanks for reaching out about your experience with us, and I'm very happy to read your recommendation as a "place not to be missed if you are in the country". Thanks so much. We are already looking forward to your next visit. Wishing you safe travels in the... More

Denver
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place has the most amazing views! You can sit in the hot tub (heated by volcanic water) and see tyhe clouds pass by. The place is beautiful and the food was also great. I would come back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review

I appreciate your recommendation about Luna Runtun. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hot tubs, the food, and I'm glad that you took the time to write about your stay. Can't wait to have you back. Remember you can book online in our web page and all our services are open to the public too. Best wishes. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Luna Runtun Adventure Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos EC180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Runtun Adventure Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Runtun Adventure Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (190)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay