We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hosteria Kaiken

Ruta Nacional 3 Km 2958 | Lago Fagnano, Ushuaia 9412, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria Kaiken
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hosteria Kaiken
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Boullay-les-Troux, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two nights at the Hosteria Kaiken and 'just' 90 kms from the end of route 3 down to Ushuaia on our 5-week trip around Argentina. Large room, with TV... good to know Spanish! Very helpful staff in English, French and Spanish. Pleasant dinner. When we left the lights on for the night on our car, the next morning the husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The only place in Argentina where we were disappointed. Although the hotel's location is beautiful and some of the staff were very helpful, the service from others was poor to the point of being unfriendly and rude. The food was very disappointing - dinner was over-cooked on each of our three evenings and breakfast was very limited with empty dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard Greenwood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here in late November 2013 instead of Ushuaia. The hotel gives the appearance of being a little run down. Door knob on the room was loose, hot water was passable but pressure was low. Towels were cheap and thin. On the morning I was leaving I got up early (7:30 AM?) to load the motorcycle before breakfast. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Saw the sign while on my motorcycle headed to Ushuaia. Pulled in and thought what a great place...absolutely great views of Lago Fagnano and the mountains. Got one of the cabanas,ultra clean,nice bathroom,quiet,everything perfect. Had a very good diner. Was only going to stay one night but now staying two. Friendly staff...Juan and Ada, especially nice.One of the nicest places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with views across the lake looking from Argentina to Chile. It is mid way between Rio Grande and Ushuaia. This means that you need to travel to Ushuaia to see the main sites, but it is a short drive to the nearest ski fields, which makes it an affordable option if you are skiing. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Propietario at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your opinion, I found it very descriptive and useful for other people to know us. We are also glad to see our guests relished their stay in Kaiken and that we contributed, even in the smallest part, to make their trip to Tierra del Fuego more enjoyable. Thanks again! Santiago - Hosteria Kaiken More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

High standard, cosy room, with veranda overlooking the lake, great value for money. We booked this at booking.com at a very good rate (considering the generally very high prices in Argentina). Great place to explore the area and enjoy the lake and forest. Hotel restaurant was poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Director Comercial at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your comments. My only regret is that you didn't explained more descriptively you reason to choose the word "poor" for our restaurant. It would allowed us to understand if something went wrong or why you think it's not at the same level of the rest. This is bemusing. Anyway, we're glad to see you enjoyed... More 

Newberg, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took an exterior cabin, though somewhat rustic, it was quite comfortable after a day of guanacos, birds, dirt roads. All receptionists fluent in English, friendly and helpful. Manager and owner provide a wealth of information about history, scenery, local things to do, bird book loan in house. Lovely view of lake, mts, sunset. Setting is beautiful and easy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Director Comercial at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank for your comments! It shows that you enjoyed your trip and also your stay in Hosteria Kaiken. The kind of room you stayed in, the Del Lago ("lakeside") rooms are, efectively, a bit rustic. These are the preferred choice for most of our guests actually! But the rooms in the main building are completely different, much more... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We really liked this place. So peaceful at night and stunning views. The owners who live in BA were delightful and the english speaking receptionist could not have been more helpful eg with info for my husband who wanted to fish locally. We thought the breakfast and evening meals were good. The cabana had all we needed. Only negatives were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Director Comercial at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We agree, when you travel to foreign countries, sometimes the language may be a barrier if you don't know it. We're glad you enjoyed so much your stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime! Hostería Kaikén More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A great view. There are several places around to visit. A good restaurant, a few meals but well done, at affordable prices. Rooms are not very silent. No TV on the rooms. (TV is in a common place). There is a nice lounge for drinking a coffee or some Martini. A couple of days would be fine. But... I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Director Comercial at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful review! It's a company policy not to have TV in the rooms, as adviced in our website. Regarding the sound of the TV that occasionally may be heard in the upstairs room next to the bar, we're working on the subject to avoid this form happening again. We're sorry, our aim is to make all... More 

milan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

we booked a cabana months in advance to be independent and avoid noisy families and we got a standard room when arriving the same evening without prior notification. It ended up being a nosiy stay with screaming children around. The restaurant offered a limited selection of courses out of the many in the menu, because it was the day before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hosteria_Kaiken, Director Comercial at Hosteria Kaiken, responded to this review

We offered our apologies for the inconvenient with your cabana room in time. It was not available because there was a problem with the heating that could not be repaired that day. In exchange, you were given an upgrade, a much better room, free of charge. We apologize again for this. As you said, the restaurant offered a limited selection... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question