We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Certificate of Excellence
Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Add Your Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    253
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
154
326
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (644)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (221)
All months
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a gem. The hotel is gorgeous, the service is wonderful, the food is delicious, and the rooms are spacious and beautiful. The hotel is an amazing value, and if you're traveling to visit the glaciers -- you will not regret staying at Alto Calafate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although we had a pleasant stay we found that the lack of air con made sleeping uncomfortable. Because the hotel is elevated it makes opening the windows impossible as the wind whistles around the room. Wifi was very patchy and the bathrooms small. The earliest breakfast is 6:30 which is cutting it fine for people on a 7:00 trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting El Calafate and his region in February, we stayed in the Hotel Alto Calafate for 5 nights. For us (2 adults and 3 kids), it was the perfect place to rest from the visits during the day (Perito Moreno, Viedma, ...) enjoying the swimming pool, the fitness room, the sauna or the Jacuzzi. We also enjoyed the massages that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the room was very comfortable we did not have a lake view as requested by our agent. Reception did not engage with the clientele and service in the restaurant was variable. On our first night we were served by Carlos who was very helpful but on our second night he was not on duty and we did not receive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards, depto e-commerce More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is like a standard model but it could have been much more attractive if the staff had displayed a bit of energy or enthusiasm in doing their job - there were a few exceptions. This contratsed with the other 6 hotels we stayed at in S America and was disappointing. El Calafate itself seemed equally unenthusiastic about its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaint are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards, Depto. e-commerce More 

United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

El Calafate is a bit of a dump, with its broken pavements, empty lots, litter and tourists killing time between excursions, but it is where all the banks, shops, bars and restaurants are. The Alto Calafate is about 4km out of town, up a steep hill with only intermittent pavements. There is an hourly free shuttle bus: you book in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards, Depto. e-commerce More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here one night after backpacking in Torres del Paine, and it was a real treat after having stayed in refugios. Nice clean rooms, beautiful views of Lago Argentina, close enough to town, a sauna and spa, and a fantastic breakfast buffet. Quiet above town for a great night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More 

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

If you go in the summer, ask to be in a room that has air conditioning because in the summer the 707 room gets too warm as there is no air conditioning, fan and the sun is very intense. So if you want to sleep before 10pm you might have trouble because sun will be still there and room doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards, Alto Calafate Staff More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The only thing beautiful in the hotel is the view. I have no idea how come this have 4 stars!!! Really. It's totally old and very bad taking care. The walls in the room are dirty. Even my son saw it. They have an old carpet also that you can see dirty again. The installation are old and not taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards, Alto Calafate Staff More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

This 4stars hotel has a great view and a very good transfer service from and to the city center (which is 10minutes driving). Also the Spa is a plus: after excursions on glaciers is a pleasure to have a swim in the pool or a run in the gym. Nevertheless, some details just do not square with the price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaints are being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Regards Alto Calafate Staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

602 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (559)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (203)
Viewed
Family/play areas (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question