We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

4.5 of 5 Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    205
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
115
270
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (513)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Patagonia. Our room was great, it was large with a good bed and a gorgeous view. My mother in law's room was a bit noisy, the wind was whistling through. The breakfast was great, a big selection. The staff were very helpful, they spoke English and were able to help us make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. My room was small, but had a nice view. The breakfast and restaurant food was good, but 2 of the 3 day-time tours I went one I was the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off. You probably loose an extra 1-1.5 hours sitting in the bus because you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

New york
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel in El Calafate. It's the first hotel as you enter El Calafate and make sure that you have a room that faces the Lake which has amazing mountains in the background. The gym was very small and beacause it is right near the jacuzzi it's way too hot to really use. We had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaint about the omlettes time is being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel looks nice and is well presented. Unfortunately being charged 800 pesos for 2 meals ( 2 hamburgers, a salad and one beer) using room service has meant that I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone and will be informing my travel agency. The cost of the food I had was not this price on the menu in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, it helps us to improve our services, your complaint about the food is being given our fullest attention and we apologise for any issues that you may have had during your stay in the Alto Calafate Hotel. Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

panama
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

beautiful rooms. very big, 5 min away from city center excelent service, spa was not that great. please do not use prestigio for a tour. we got hit with $500 for a day tour total rip off do not get a massage,not professional restaurant at hotel is very good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights in the hotel. It is beautifully located on a hill overlooking mountains and lake. The location is definitely the best selling point. There is a shuttle going down to town (10min) every hour which was a bit annoying as you had to book it in advance. We ended up walking one time which was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Just completed a 2 night stay at Alto Calafate and were really pleased start to finish. Really the number of stars 4 or 5 is based on which yard stick you use (or meter stick)... by international standards it's a 4, hence our rating, as it had a few key ommissions, BUT given what Argentina is up against economically it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of some of the reviews. People stated that the service was poor and no one seemed to help them at the hotel. I found the exact opposite. The service staff was excellent and very helpful. I lost my sunglasses in a store and one of the staff called the store on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

As one other reviewer said, we were hesitant to stay there as it is away from "downtown" (if we can call it that). However, the hotel has a shuttle and it runs at very convenient hours. The hotel was very clean and with a great view of the lake and snowy mountains. Service was also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Alto Calafate Staff More

Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We weren't sure about staying here as it's out of town but found the 10 min shuttle service which leaves each hour to be easy and always on time. There isn't too much going on in town anyway and there is a restaurant and room service if you wanted to relax there at night (we didn't eat there so can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AltoCalafate, Depto.e-commerce at Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope to receive you again soon! Have a nice day Natalia R.Palacios e-commerce department More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico

Address: Calle 2000, #141 | Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Calafate El
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

490 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (448)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (144)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay