We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplendor El Calafate

Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Esplendor El Calafate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

846 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is such a frustrating place. First impressions are positive albeit I'm now clear that in having the Augustino as our welcoming 'host' we hit lucky. He alone has turned out to be the only one who really understands 'customer service' ; he's responsive, super smiley, very friendly and efficient. Over a number of days our stay became more and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nauj63
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Nauj: I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments about... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Is a very beautiful hotel but I was a little disappointed with the services with the people in front desk. The heating system was broken and the water on the shower have a lot of freezing pumps. The only good thing in the hotel was the restaurant. I eat the best pumpkin soup and ice cream there. They deserve 3... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cassiano f
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Cassiano F, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent three nights at the Esplendor Hotel, El Calafate. The hotel sits high on a hill with magnificent views of the lake and the mountains. The foyer is imposing but the staff are luke warm at best. They barely acknowledge you at any time. The two staff that did were the room cleaning lady and the breakfast girl. Both... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo58
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Stevo58:, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments about... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very well designed entree but only small and basic rooms in the hotel. The staff could use some training and the breakfast buffet has much room for improvement. Overall, I would not say that this is a hotel with good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank axgwl
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Axgwl, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments about... More 

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, good service, and excellent breakfast. Mostly great amenities, but poor wifi in the rooms. About a 10 minute walk from the main strip in the town. They were helpful in arranging excursions.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Sarah N, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Esplendor Calafate. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. Sincerely,... More 

UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a bit of a walk up a hill and via a few dusty roads so isn't really a great location. First impressions are that it's a very large, imposing building with a really excellent interior (huge lobby, nice architectural touches) and with a huge, really superb room with great views of the town, lake and mountains beyond.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tonysony
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Tonysony:, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments about... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleased when we walked into our spacious room. It was beautifully decorated and quite trendy. But then we noticed: An oversized bathroom with one small towel rail, and a second inside the shower. And that's all the bathroom storage there is. Nowhere to put toiletries bags. Not even a hook. The hand basin is outside the bathroom next... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tokyoexpat
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Tokyoexpat:, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services.I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. I am naturally very concerned about the issues you have raised in your comments about... More 

Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lobby is very impressive, and Esplendor is a boutique chain in Latin America. As a hotel, it boasts amenities like a traditional hotel bar, restaurant, spa and pool - very nice! However, what dropped the rating for me was the erratic hospitality and overall cleanliness of the facility. We were very warmly welcomed, which was great. Room quality decent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank local t
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Local T, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Esplendor Calafate. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. Sincerely,... More 

Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

This hotel has a very impressive entrance and our rooms were good too. We didn't eat in the hotel but the bar was good. We enjoyed the spa facilities and the massage although the latter could have been better. The town is a nice place to wander through. The only thing I would change is the awful and imposing background... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie T
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Stefanie, I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff! I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. Sincerely, Mauro Pestoni More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The interior design was beautiful. The lobby was nice. However, the view was not that great from the property. If you want to have a great view from your room or lobby, this might not be the place. Yet, in terms of location, although not a great view, it was 10-15 minutes walk to the city center and many restaurants.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travlerwhotraveling
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor El Calafate, responded to this review

Dear Travelwhotraveling: I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate. Sincerely, Mauro Pestoni Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

670 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (635)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (173)
Viewed
Room/suite (120)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (191)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#46 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#28 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay