We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hosteria Meulen

Calle 202, No 608 | Frente a Resv Ecologica Laguna Nimez), El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Meulen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hosteria Meulen
Share an Experience

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    20
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
york england
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this Hotel the Staff were great, the ambience quiet, OK for most people you would need a car I didn't have one but didn't miss out. Breakfast was more than adequate and I had 5 evening meals there and that would be the only small criticism I would make, the menu does not vary at all.The bedrooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Narberth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights with our whole family... Welcomed warmly with a glass of Pisco...loved our room (2 adults and 2 college aged children) Very comfortable room and open spacious public spaces Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I am in the process of putting in an official complaint to the Secretary of Tourism of El Calafate and of Argentina. We had a reservation for December 18, 2014 that we made online. On my reservation I specified and called out that we would be arriving on the daily flight from Buenos Aires into Calafate at 1:30AM and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergerac, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

very helpfull and kind people at reception ,bar and restaurant. Very quiet place ,a bit far from center ,but reception organizing everything for customers with good suggestions. The rooms are a bit old fashion ,but very clean .The overall stay remains as very pleasant

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Decent accommodations, overall a disappointment Positives: 1. Rooms : accommodations were decent for the price. 2. Transportation : Upon arrival to the airport, we called the hotel and they organized a taxi to collect us which arrived quickly. 3. Features: We had a nice view of Lago Argentino from our room. Negatives: 1. Tour reservations/bookings : the staff poorly explained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brea, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

Facts : 3.2 miles from city center. Pros: - Very friendly and professional staff (Vanessa helped with tours and arrangements) - Shuttle available twice a day( we tried it 2 times) - clean and decent size room - 200 meter to lake Argentina Cons: - Horrible dinner. (Tried 2 entrees and soup and salad-All bad) - Nothing around for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful spot. Our room had a great view of the lake and was decorated with thoughtful touches. Breakfast is typical Argentinian, ie very sweet with plenty of jams and dulce de leche. There was also ham and cheese and cornflakes. The wifi is decent. There is a lovely conservatory area where you can sit in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

As other reviewers indicated this place is very far from town, so you're very limited in shopping and dining options. It is close to the lake and is in a peaceful and serene location. So if you have a car, it's ok, otherwise it's a hike to and from town. The rooms are larger than the ones closer to town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Greeted by a most warm welcome, we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Obtaining a snack upon late night arrival was no problem at all and we were well taken care of. All our questions were immediately answered and rental car, restaurant reservations (as probably other things) were happily done by the reception. Run and decorated with love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Firstly I would like to say that we booked this Hotel because of the lovely reviews I read. Unfortunately the rooms do not look like anything in their website and also most of the comments. The Hotel did not offer free shuttle service but service against payment. There was no desk with electrical outlet as stated in their website and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Recepción at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

We really regret that your stay wasn’t good, The price that you paid was for an standard room, and we correspondingly assign, and the next day we gave you an upgrade of a superior room (courtesy only) not because you was upset, actually you didn’t pay the difference. Unlike the rest of people who come to Calafate, and previously reserve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question