We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hosteria Meulen

3.5 of 5 Calle 202, No 608 | Frente a Resv Ecologica Laguna Nimez), El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hosteria Meulen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hosteria Meulen
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
35
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Brea, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Facts : 3.2 miles from city center. Pros: - Very friendly and professional staff (Vanessa helped with tours and arrangements) - Shuttle available twice a day( we tried it 2 times) - clean and decent size room - 200 meter to lake Argentina Cons: - Horrible dinner. (Tried 2 entrees and soup and salad-All bad) - Nothing around for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a beautiful spot. Our room had a great view of the lake and was decorated with thoughtful touches. Breakfast is typical Argentinian, ie very sweet with plenty of jams and dulce de leche. There was also ham and cheese and cornflakes. The wifi is decent. There is a lovely conservatory area where you can sit in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As other reviewers indicated this place is very far from town, so you're very limited in shopping and dining options. It is close to the lake and is in a peaceful and serene location. So if you have a car, it's ok, otherwise it's a hike to and from town. The rooms are larger than the ones closer to town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Greeted by a most warm welcome, we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Obtaining a snack upon late night arrival was no problem at all and we were well taken care of. All our questions were immediately answered and rental car, restaurant reservations (as probably other things) were happily done by the reception. Run and decorated with love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Firstly I would like to say that we booked this Hotel because of the lovely reviews I read. Unfortunately the rooms do not look like anything in their website and also most of the comments. The Hotel did not offer free shuttle service but service against payment. There was no desk with electrical outlet as stated in their website and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Recepción at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

We really regret that your stay wasn’t good, The price that you paid was for an standard room, and we correspondingly assign, and the next day we gave you an upgrade of a superior room (courtesy only) not because you was upset, actually you didn’t pay the difference. Unlike the rest of people who come to Calafate, and previously reserve... More 

Las Vegas, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although a little far from town (30 min), that is the reason to be there. During tourist season city streets can be busy late into the night. This place is peaceful. The scenery is beautiful. The mountains that feed Perito Moreno are visible. Lake Nimez, bird preserve, seen out the window. The staff is so friendly and helpful you feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

Dear Robert! Thank you for your very kind comment, it was a pleasure for us to have had them as guests Our warm regards to you, Lis and George Mariela More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although it is a little far away from the town, it has a great view, and part of its charm is the quiet enviroment surround it. Friendly staff, good food and nice and clean rooms. They help you hiring the excursions, advicing about what is the best to do while you're staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Taboao da Serra, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you arrive in El Calafate by airplane, you may want to arrange transport from FTE to the Hosteria Meulen. The owners of the hotel can send a taxi, but they want ARS 240 (US$50). If you take the taxi directly at the airport, you are going to pay a fixed fare of ARS 140 to any hotel in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Chose this as a bit of a "splurge" since had views and good ratings. Rather far from town if you have no car. With a car, hard to find even with a map since there are no street signs in this area..if you book, remember what it looks like so you can spot it on the hill. Hotel is clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just a short walk from Lagoon Nimez the Hosteria Muelen is in a great location. It takes about half an hour to stroll into town. The room overlooking the lake was lovely and the service very friendly. Breakfast was quite ordinary but everyone gets two lovely warm croissants! The sitting room and outside terrace are good places to watch the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hosteriameulen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

Thank you very much Susan for your nice comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we will glad to see you again, if you returns to El Calafate. And indeed, by the central that you made ​​the booked, the national taxes are discriminated. Best wishes Mariela More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hosteria Meulen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Meulen

Address: Calle 202, No 608 | Frente a Resv Ecologica Laguna Nimez), El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Meulen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria Meulen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Meulen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay