We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Galicia

9 de Julio 214, Trelew, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Galicia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Galicia
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    10
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
8
16
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

The stay was okay during the 2 days. After leaving the place, reaching another city, we discover that 100$ were stolen in our bag during our stay in the hotel. Someone enters in our locked private room, and stole the money. We decide to write an email to the hostel, in order to warn them and trying to find out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galicia H, Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thomas, I noticed about this problem last Friday 24/04 when we read your comment on booking.com. I send you a mail in order to receive more details about this delicate problem but we never received your answer. Throw booking.com, explained that you sent us an e-mail before writte your critic but we never received it on our inbox outlook. So... More 

Italia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

We arrive late at night to take an early morning flight. The lobby is sumptous but not recent (as the rooms); a young girl was there to take some pictures for her birthday (really funny experience). The staff was absolutely friendly and helpfull. They gave us the possibility to take breakfast half an hour earlier than the normal schedule in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galicia H, General Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! Yes, usually people ask permission and comes to take pictures for his birthday or wedding!! People loves the old staircase!! Thanks again! Take Care & Best Regards! Hotel Galicia! More 

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

...were it not for the tobacco smell in our room and (more noticeable, despite the no smoking sign) in the lobby. That the hotel is somewhat outdated, is one thing, but tobacco stench is unacceptable. I realize some guests just don't care and smoke in their room, but the hotel can always sanction people who leave their room in that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel was pretty much what we expected for a stopover point during a 3 week road trip around Patagonia. The website advertises that parking was included but upon arrival, we were told by the not-so-friendly reception clerk that in order to use the parking we were supposed to make separate reservations. We didn't and lo and behold, the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias Scott por sus comentarios. Es cierto que la sala de desayuno no es confortable como nosotros y nuestros... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Galicia hotel is centrally located near the museum and restaurants, it is one floor hotel, our room was with a window street view, the room is clean comfortable and the size is OK for short stay. The breakfast is good. The receptionists are the highlight of the hotel as they are very friendly and helpful. In Trelew it is difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Dear Khaled K, We are very happy to know that you felt very well during your stay with us! Yes, It's a little difficult to organise regular excursions from Trelew but we always have an option for you. Thanks for your comments about our staff!! Thanks in advance and Best Regards!! Take Care! More 

Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are after a long stairs. They don t have elevator. I was using a walking stick when i has here and it was very difficult to go up and down. The room is tiny and seems that there wasn t any manteinance in 40 years. I had to fix the chair, it wasn t difficult, why don t... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galicia H, Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments but never offered service elevator because we do not have it. Many Thanks anyway. More 

Travelers are raving about these Trelew hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I arrived in Trelew without a place to stay - unexpectedly - and I scrambled to find a free hotel room at a decent race. So, I guess you could say I stumbled upon Hotel Galicia by accident. But it was such a good thing that I did... From the moment I walked in, Ariel at the front desk was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments!! An excellent and detailed description of your days in Trelew. I hope you enjoyed our natural landscapes and wildlife!! Hope to see you soon!!! Take Care & Best Regards. More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We arrived at the hotel in the early morning and they let us check in immediately. We had a room overlooking the street but it was very quiet at night. They were able to help us book a tour that same day. There are also cheaper rooms without windows. The hotel can be full or have limited rooms available so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a stop-over as we were flying from Trelew airport early the following morning. There is not much to recommend Trelew as a destination (although the dinosaur museum is worth seeing) and the hotel clearly caters for business travellers - that's fine. The room was very dated but clean and functional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

While there is little to attract in Trelew there is even less to recommend this hotel. No air conditioning in a place with rooms right on the street so open windows are not really an option. There did seem to be windowless, interior rooms. Indifferent staff. We were happy that we got in relatively late and left early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trelew
0.3 mi away
Patagonian Suites & Apart
0.2 mi away
Libertador Hotel
Libertador Hotel
#2 of 7 in Trelew
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring Club
Hotel Touring Club
#27 of 61 in Province of Chubut
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Posada Los Mimbres
Posada Los Mimbres
#1 of 2 in Gaiman
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Colibri Cabanas de la Naturaleza Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
La casa de Paula. Bed & Art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay