We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Trelew hotels

Hotel Galicia

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 de Julio 214, Trelew, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Galicia to your Saves list
Hotel Galicia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
45%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Trelew
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014
MikeV84 Ghent, Belgium
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
127 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

...were it not for the tobacco smell in our room and (more noticeable, despite the no smoking sign) in the lobby. That the hotel is somewhat outdated, is one thing, but tobacco stench is unacceptable. I realize some guests just don't care and smoke in their room, but the hotel can always sanction people who leave their room in that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel was pretty much what we expected for a stopover point during a 3 week road trip around Patagonia. The website advertises that parking was included but upon arrival, we were told by the not-so-friendly reception clerk that in order to use the parking we were supposed to make separate reservations. We didn't and lo and behold, the parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias Scott por sus comentarios. Es cierto que la sala de desayuno no es confortable como nosotros y nuestros... More

Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Galicia hotel is centrally located near the museum and restaurants, it is one floor hotel, our room was with a window street view, the room is clean comfortable and the size is OK for short stay. The breakfast is good. The receptionists are the highlight of the hotel as they are very friendly and helpful. In Trelew it is difficult... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Dear Khaled K, We are very happy to know that you felt very well during your stay with us! Yes, It's a little difficult to organise regular excursions from Trelew but we always have an option for you. Thanks for your comments about our staff!! Thanks in advance and Best Regards!! Take Care! More

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are after a long stairs. They don t have elevator. I was using a walking stick when i has here and it was very difficult to go up and down. The room is tiny and seems that there wasn t any manteinance in 40 years. I had to fix the chair, it wasn t difficult, why don t... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galicia H, Manager at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments but never offered service elevator because we do not have it. Many Thanks anyway. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I arrived in Trelew without a place to stay - unexpectedly - and I scrambled to find a free hotel room at a decent race. So, I guess you could say I stumbled upon Hotel Galicia by accident. But it was such a good thing that I did... From the moment I walked in, Ariel at the front desk was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Galicia H, Gerente at Hotel Galicia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments!! An excellent and detailed description of your days in Trelew. I hope you enjoyed our natural landscapes and wildlife!! Hope to see you soon!!! Take Care & Best Regards. More

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We arrived at the hotel in the early morning and they let us check in immediately. We had a room overlooking the street but it was very quiet at night. They were able to help us book a tour that same day. There are also cheaper rooms without windows. The hotel can be full or have limited rooms available so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a stop-over as we were flying from Trelew airport early the following morning. There is not much to recommend Trelew as a destination (although the dinosaur museum is worth seeing) and the hotel clearly caters for business travellers - that's fine. The room was very dated but clean and functional.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

While there is little to attract in Trelew there is even less to recommend this hotel. No air conditioning in a place with rooms right on the street so open windows are not really an option. There did seem to be windowless, interior rooms. Indifferent staff. We were happy that we got in relatively late and left early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lapland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We chose this hotel based on the description in the Footprint guide to Patagonia (which for other purposes was very good, by the way). We were quoted an extortionate price (being foreigners, of course) and shown to a room that should have been about a quarter of the price. We complained to reception and were changed to a cheaper room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gwynedd, North Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

I arrived in Trelew with no accommodation booked as I hadn't planned on staying in the town at all! I went to 3 hotels with no luck and then came across the Galicia. The man at the front desk was very helpful and apologetic that he only had one room to offer me. The room on offer was a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Galicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Galicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galicia

Address: 9 de Julio 214, Trelew, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Trelew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galicia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Galicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galicia Hotel Trelew

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Trelew with
any amenities