We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

2.0 of 5 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    66
    25
    7
    19
See reviews for
53
71
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

100% non-smoking except cabana at pool area. The area is kept very clean, ashtrays were dumped and pool looked clean as well. Our room was also very clean and we got a very low rate probably because of the road construction (we had no trouble getting to the motel). The room includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, blow dryer. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Nameeta, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. The rooms were surprisingly clean and spacious. It is definitely worth the value. The road construction was pretty annoying but it wasn't very hard to find, or enter. What the poor review for however, is the service! The front desk lady/owner? is absolutely miserable. I don't know what her problem is but she has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

this guest is not stay this proprty so please take this bad review thank you More 

Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
162 hotel reviews
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

As a Choice Privileges Diamond Elite member, I stay at Choice-branded properties frequently, of which Clarion is one. I travel to Phoenix frequently and have stayed here many times. This most recent stay was just as expected - good service, and surprisingly nice and comfortable accommodations. This hotel looks hardly spectacular from the street. It's an older hotel and looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! frant... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

First, due to the street construction out front of this hotel, it was almost impossible to get to it. you have to do a zig-zag detour on some back streets to get there. Due to the construction ,the hotel was nearly empty. I saw maybe only 10 other cars in the parking lot. The manager was very apologetic about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, clarion inn mesa More 

Payson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This was one of the best deals we have had. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We needed to find a place for a quick weekend stay. The price for the room was reasonable and the free breakfast was very good. Loved the sausage biscuits. Check in and out was quick and easy. My only complaint was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Flight was canceled and they paid for a stay over at the clarion. First off, the passengers were pissed! The staff did a wonderful job of checking in every guest and their families and cooling the situation. They really handled themselves well. That alone made this stay very pleasant. Was only there for a few hours but the rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Right now (Aug 2014) this hotel is compromised by sitting right next to the construction works connected to the Central Mesa Light Rail Extension which means that the middle of Main St is packed with equipment, concrete, rails being laid and so on. It makes it look as if access to the hotel (which is on the south side) is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, clarion inn mesa thank you More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Disappointed compared to previous experience with Holiday Inn. Alot of little things that bothered me but they add up- no coffee cups, decaf only, not enough towels, housekeeping trying to enter room at 9am on morning checking out, bar/restaurant/pool all closed at 10pm, no info in lobby for local attractions/food/etc, breakfast buuffet definately not worth $9. The best thing was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear sir or guest On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with... More 

Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There is absolutely no one else in this hotel but me. Due to construction outside or what I'm not sure. Check in went pretty smoothly however not overly friendly at the front desk. As I go upstairs to my room the hallway is sweltering hot as well as my room. It took all night for it to come down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

... due to road construction on Main St. Literally only a handful of other guests at the place. Got a great bargain rate due to the construction. The hotel has the feel of the '90s. Not the 1990s, but the 1890s! It might work for an upscale boutique hotel, but it definitely does not work at all for a budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

dear guest Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, clarion inn mesa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

Address: 951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix Hotel Mesa

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay