We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
951 W Main St, Mesa, AZ 85201 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
JerseyGirlLostInNM Los Lunas, New Mexico
Add Photo

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    76
    34
    10
    22
See reviews for
61
82
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Its not in the best of areas, but I'm not from Phoenix so everything seems kind of "off" to me when staying inside the city. The hotel seems somewhat old and in need of updating, but for the price it was a surprisingly good stay. The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff really seems to go out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

... I just couldn't. The entire wing of the hotel where my room was located reeked of curry. Don't get me wrong, I love curried food, but it is totally unacceptable for the resident owner-manager's cooking to dominate the ambiance of the hotel like that. I oppose this hotel's policy of charging a $100 deposit up front for customers paying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for the review and your repeated business. We apologies for the unsatisfactory stay and also that the appliances were left dirty. We strive to provide clean and comfortable stay, but we fell short on services during your stay. We do not charge any deposits on credit card. We apologize if there was any misunderstanding or confusion... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel staff i encountered was rude and unfriendly. The A.C in the room was turned off even though it was 109° ourside. When i booked my room, there was no policy stating a $150 deposit until i got there. I will stay far away from this junk of a hotel if i were you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Our apologies that you found our hotel to be Junk even though the rooms are renovated up to modern standards. If you had requested for the the room to cooled, than we would have surely turned on the ac of your room. We do not charge any guest and neither did we charged... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

The Clarion Inn in Mesa is a great value: bed, breakfast, close to all the places to visit in the Phoenix-Mesa area. There for a wedding and a quick weekend visit, we will definitely keep this place in mind for a future visit to other friends and tourist sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Stayed here twice. Will not repeat. 1st time: At check in I was asked if I really needed a handicap accessible King room. Hmmm, there has to be a rule aganist asking such a discriminating question. I was assigned a 2 double bed room on the 2nd floor. Because that is all they had. No elevators on the property. 2nd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Just needed a room overnight as we were attending a wedding down the street. Normally we are looking for 4 star and above but since it was to sleep only we gave it a try. Booked due to previous reviews and we (3 couples) were not disappointed. Check in was quick, the rooms were clean and had some nice upgrades.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More 

tucson
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

My friend made us a reservation at Clarion Inn Mesa for Friday, April 10, 2015. This was the night before a difficult bicycle tour we were to ride Saturday morning, El Tour de Mesa. Upon check-in, the clerk instructed us that our bicycles would not be permitted in our rooms. Instead, we would be allowed to keep our bicycles in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. frant desk 480-833-1231 More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Booking.com somehow managing to screw up and reserve me TWO rooms instead of one - Niki at the desk was a champ! When I couldn't make any headway with their support staff, she got on my phone and managed to hammer a clue into them! Although the neighborhood left a little to be desired, the property was great - spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! frant desk... More 

Stockton, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Made the reservation while in the car as darkness was falling. WE needed something quick after a long, hard day of driving. After finally locating the hotel, we checked in with our online resevation number. Our request for a first floor room was honored. The smell of curry and other spices premeated the hallways. It was passable as far as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, General Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. frant desk 480-833-1231 More 

Cedar Rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I'm a diamond member and stay about 100 nights a year at Choice hotels. This place is by far one of the worst I've ever stayed at in all aspects. First of all, this hotel is located in a very sketchy area, the parking lot is behind a bar and is poorly lit. The hotel room was old and basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tejash p, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn-Mesa/Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. frant desk 480-833-1231 More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay