We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    15
    41
See reviews for
21
14
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Binghamton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were no washcloths, the bed looked like it had been slept in, the pillows and pillowcases were dirty, the A/C did not work very well (cooled the room from 96 to 72 in a 24 hour period),and the breakfast left a lot to be desired.There were no washcloths available at the front desk and none left on the second... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvience if you please let us know that the room was uncomfortable please let us know we would switch you to another room again we apologize here at the hojo where you feel at home go hojo mojo. More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This place is beyond awful. The building should be shut down and torn down. I work for another Wyndham property and was in town for a graduation party. I chose the place because it is pet friendly and was incredibly cheap. I should have known better, I regret spending any money here. It's hard to choose where to start...from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience please let us know so we can take action thank you and go hojo. as for the police wouldnt you rather have them here than not here. More 

Travelers are raving about these Mesa hotels

Hurricane, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Besides the bathroom, only one light worked and that one the socket was broken away from the frame and suspended buy the wires; bit of a fire hazard! The carpet was so dirty my bare feet never touched it. My white socks were black on the bottom. I have recently stayed at some HJ's at similar rates and have been... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience please let us know so we can take action thank you and go hojo More 

Pacific Grove
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Room was disgusting and outdated. Rotting food in the refrigerator, cigarette burns on everything including the bath tub. Filled with drug dealers and prostitutes. The dealer nextdoor fought two different people and then his girlfriend screamed at him until 3 am. The phone in the room didn't work to call the desk and I wasn't going to go out of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience please let us know so we can take action thank you and go hojo. More 

Stockton, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

This hotel should be shut down. There is holes in the wall the room looked like it had not been cleaning for several months. There were live in tweakers below us. The breakfast was a joke (unacceptable). Swimming pool was scary!!! Blood droppings on the bathroom floor. Advertised free WiFi not true!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I apologize if your stay wasn't pleasant you could of come to the front lobby for a refund or have been switch to another room as for people there if you weren't happy I would just leave but I can assure you that area is safe because mesa pd always respond very quickly and efficiently. More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I have no idea where to start. The Box Springs were totally filthy. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. The towels were paper thin also and were like sandpaper to use. Stayed two nights (which if I hadn't booked online and been penalized financially I would NOT have done). First night, had to go back to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

We do apologize for the inconvience if your stay wasn't pleasant More 

Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

This hotel was a horrible stay. If I could have slept standing up I would have. Needs to have retraining in maid service. They should have paid me to stay there. Expressed my feelings about the hotel to the girl at the desk and she just had a deer in the headlights look on her face. You wouldn't even want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize if you didn't like the room you could of ask us we can switch you to another room again I do apologize. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay