We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    13
    40
See reviews for
20
13
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Pacific Grove
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was disgusting and outdated. Rotting food in the refrigerator, cigarette burns on everything including the bath tub. Filled with drug dealers and prostitutes. The dealer nextdoor fought two different people and then his girlfriend screamed at him until 3 am. The phone in the room didn't work to call the desk and I wasn't going to go out of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience please let us know so we can take action thank you and go hojo. More 

Stockton, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel should be shut down. There is holes in the wall the room looked like it had not been cleaning for several months. There were live in tweakers below us. The breakfast was a joke (unacceptable). Swimming pool was scary!!! Blood droppings on the bathroom floor. Advertised free WiFi not true!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I apologize if your stay wasn't pleasant you could of come to the front lobby for a refund or have been switch to another room as for people there if you weren't happy I would just leave but I can assure you that area is safe because mesa pd always respond very quickly and efficiently. More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have no idea where to start. The Box Springs were totally filthy. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. The towels were paper thin also and were like sandpaper to use. Stayed two nights (which if I hadn't booked online and been penalized financially I would NOT have done). First night, had to go back to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

We do apologize for the inconvience if your stay wasn't pleasant More 

Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a horrible stay. If I could have slept standing up I would have. Needs to have retraining in maid service. They should have paid me to stay there. Expressed my feelings about the hotel to the girl at the desk and she just had a deer in the headlights look on her face. You wouldn't even want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize if you didn't like the room you could of ask us we can switch you to another room again I do apologize. More 

Grafton, North Dakota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at many Howard Johnson's and they have been good. This one is the worst one we have ever stayed in. Bad maid service. no towels, bath mat, the bed wasn't made 3 mornings, One day the maid hadn't even entered out room. Sorry!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvience but the maids do go in the rooms to clean. More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The cleanliness of the rooms was not acceptable. The sheets and towels were stained and were not changed every day. Housekeeping did not clean room one day. Rooms smelled like cigarette smoke. While taking a shower, the water did not drain properly, so tub started to fill with water. My family and I were very disappointed with the appearance of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize if the housekeepers didnt clean your room Ill make sure they do and I apologize for the towels,sheets and drain go hojo. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question