We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Mesa hotels

Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert to your Saves list
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    4
    7
    19
See reviews for
9
9
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
ganado, az
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

room was clean, but it smelled like cigarets even tho it was a non smoking room. no toilet paper, only two towels, asked for more and was given two thin towels and about 4 was cloths.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoMesa1GMJohnny, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

Sorry for the incovience that the room smelled like cigarette next time as the front desk to be transfer to another room if that room smelled like smoke and will gladly move you & for the towels we apology if they where thin sorry for the incovience. More

Rapid City
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not feel comfortable at this motel.The staff did not seem to care.The breakfast was one cupcake size muffin and coffee, The temperature of the room was not comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience if you weren't happy with the room please let us know and will check and gladly switch you to another room again I do apologize. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

dont come and visit this hotel, everything is worst, I really want my money back, cause this hotel like a dirty bathroom,Their service is worst, and their room look like never clean it and couple time I saw a condom under bed.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience if you weren't happy with the room please let us know and will check and gladly switch you to another room again I do apologize. More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I stayed here one night while visiting Phoenix for a few days. The carpet had not been vacuumed because I kept getting stuff stuck to my feet. There was a tag removed from mens jeans on the floor that I have no idea how a cleaning crew could miss it. There was also a corner in the bathroom where there... More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience if you weren't happy with the room please let us know and will check and gladly switch you to another room again I do apologize. More

Thorsby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

what can I say.had to sleep on top of the bedding with a garbage bag on the pillow because there was hair and food left on the sheets.some kind of fibre wall was peeling of the wall and huge stains on the ceiling.in the bathroom there were long black hairs(3 of them)stuck to the shower walls.the lobby was nothing like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

I do apologize for the inconvience if you weren't happy with the room you should oflet us know and will gladly switch you to another room sorry for the inconvience I do apologize. More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After coming back late and finding that the gate code where I was staying did not work and my host apparently turned off their phone I needed to find a place to sleep for the night. Howard Johnson was near by so I went there. The motel is old and the room was pretty shabby but it was clean, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

Thank You for the review are rooms are clean and up to date should try out our weeklys specials thank you. More

Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is STILL advertising a continental breakfast, when they only offer coffee, orange juice and tiny muffins. Upon entering my room, I saw a pretty sizable hole in the back wall. There was no TV remote, ice bucket or coffee pot, although there WAS a coffee maker! When I asked for a remote, I was told there wasn't any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnie g, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert, responded to this review

Hello maam I do apologize for the incovience I make sure our rooms are clean and well maintain again I do apologize. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Address: 1625 E. Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mesa/Gilbert Hotel Mesa
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay