We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Mesa hotels

Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com BookIt.com
and 8 more sites!
51%
Ranked #24 of 55 hotels in Mesa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
gailmariehs Salamanca, New York
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    43
    28
    45
See reviews for
69
57
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2nd Stay... we booked this hotel solely based on price. We got a great rate that we couldn't find anywhere else. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and settle for less. It's not a two star hotel. But definitely not more than 3. The free breakfast could really up the reviews if they hired someone who didn't overcook... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose the Dobson Ranch Inn because approximately twenty years ago I lived in the Dobson Ranch area and was familiar with the property. Back in those days, the Dobson Ranch Inn was the closest thing you could get to a resort in Mesa, AZ, before the building boom of the mid to late 1990's. So, I had a picture... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Daimondtrim O.C. Thank you for your review. It is clear you understand both the history and possibility for this one time Mesa Resort. We are celebrating her 35th year and it seems you remember her grander days. Today we are slowly returning her to glory and hope you will return again to enjoy your stay at Dobson Ranch Inn... More

Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dobson rooms are hit and miss. Some are quite nice, some are less than good. My first room overlooked a parking lot. The furniture was dingy the halls were dirty. They gladly moved me to another room that was quite nice and was in the court yard. Unfortunately, two doors down was a trashy family who pulled the desk chairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Msvmaier, Thank you for taking time to review Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites. Sorry you had a disruptive smoking family near by. We cannot discriminate nor do we know what kind of people our guests are often times before it's too late. You are right, all rooms are not equal even though we try, some rooms do have newer... More

Albuquerque
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, I'd like to thank the hotel for letting me cancel my reservation through Hotels.com after the first night. That was appreciated. But the reasons why I wanted to leave after the first night are not complimentary. I would just say the pictures on the Website do not paint an accurate picture of the property. Room condition was really sad.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Douglas 96, Thank you for your review. I am glad the staff treated you well and that we could reimburse your unused nights. I will share your experience of the "oldness" of the room with our Corporate Office in the hope of speeding-up their transformation. Karl Le Claire General Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked 4 nights, but left after 1! Disgusting! Stinky Room was dark and dingy with mismatched dented broken down furniture. Nightstand was sticky with rings from glasses of who knows what. Carpets were dirty and had not been vacuumed. Medication and food on carpet. Lampshades were dusty and yellow with age. No one has cleaned mop boards and along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the unclean room and agree there is no excuse for it. If you had alerted us immediately, rather than the next day, we would have been happy to move you into a room which would have more than satisfied your stay. We will be happy to reimburse your stay for the inconvenience... More

Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This use to be a nice resort. Very run down now. The sheets were paper thin and would not stay on the bed. Room is dark like a cave---a creepy cave. The restaurant had broken windows and ripped booth seats. Just creepy all over. Only one person working the counter and any time you asked for anything you were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The new owners and management recognizes the reality of this 35 years old resort and are making strides to refresh and uplift her to her former glory - just like 1937 Olds. Karl Le Claire More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and it was decent for the money so tried it again. The place has gone extremely downhill. The rooms are dirty, we had only boiling hot water and couldn't get any staff to help. The pool never had towels, the first day we had to ask and in 15 minutes they brought them, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wkaplan, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It seems we had Pool towel issue day or two. Due to the fullness of the resort, guests using several towels at once, guests taking towels to rooms, and rain that soaked the towels therefore we could not keep up with the demand. We also had a major pipe burst which caused the hot water... More

Mesa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Employees are marvelous and extremely helpful. Accomodations were sub par. Mold in showers, Poor vacuuming and free breakfast had us going elsewhere. Web site offered free airport shuttle, which was non-existent

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nampa, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed here before in Dec 2004 and we fully enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and our clean and comfortable room. Our last stay in December 2013 was a little disappointing. The restaurant breakfast was now a buffet style. Our room was a little tired looking and smelled like stale cigarette smoke. The plumbing has not changed we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wkaplan599, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Partsgerald, Thank you for your review. I hope your next visit won't take ten years. This year marks our 35 anniversary and the property has a marvelous history. Part of that history was a cooked to order breakfast and the famous Dale Anderson's "The Other Place" Restaurant. Today the Cactus Clubhouse has just re-opened for dinner with a whole... More

Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed there for two nights. Our room was nicely appointed, and very clean. The breakfast buffet saved us a few dollars too! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The primary tip I would give to others is to request a room as far away from the freeway as you can get - and if you happen to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wkaplan599, General Manager at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Aznance, Thank you for your review. I am glad we surprised you and that our team was helpful and friendly. Please come again and ask for an interior room facing the pool or courtyard or facing the fountains. Karl Le Claire General Manager More

Been to Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western
Address: 1666 South Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202-5699
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the vibrant Southwestern landscape and genuine hospitality at Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, a Mesa, Arizona hotel in the scenic Valley of the Sun. Our Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites in Mesa, Arizona has everything you need for work and play, with a great location just minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. Guests will also enjoy many local attractions conveniently located near the hotel in Mesa, Arizona, with plenty of gorgeous weather perfect for exploring the area.Our accommodations in Mesa, AZ are spread across 10 acres of lush, landscaped courtyards that are perfect for Mesa Weddings. Guests can choose from comfortable oversize standard rooms with premium cable TV or spacious suites offering a sofa bed, wet bar, microwave and refrigerator. We also feature a VIP Suite with a private Jacuzzi tub.Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, Dobson Ranch Inn has your comfort in mind! Enjoy a hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Internet access, a heated outdoor pool and two hot tubs - all complimentary for guests. We also host business and group events at the hotel in Mesa, Arizona, with 6,300 square feet of flexible space that includes a large ballroom and several smaller meeting rooms. Our professional planners and custom catering services let you relax and leave the details to us. For an all-inclusive vacation, book one of our customized hotel packages and save on accommodations in Mesa, AZ. We offer discount rates for golfing, massage, water parks, and Chicago Cubs Spring Training! Discover why Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites is the preferred destination for Mesa, Arizona travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.