We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 121 Mendoza accommodations

Itaka Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Aristides Villanueva 480, Mendoza, Argentina
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Itaka Hostel to your Saves list
Itaka Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity Hostelworld.com
and 2 more sites!
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013
merrydaily Buenos Aires, Argentina
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    8
    13
    11
See reviews for
4
22
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great café attached to hostel with great free breakfast. Pool and outdoor common area is nice! Ping pong table is fun. Nice upper balcony too. Great location. I do however wish that the receptionists were more helpful with reservations and plans, I didn't realize it at the time but I've been too many other hostels that were much more accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
valencia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm a trooper, so i can stay in filthy hostels and still have a good time. This hostel was a bit on the dirty side, our room was full of bugs and seemed that the cleaning lady hasn't been doing her job very well, but for the price was not a problem for me. I do have to complain about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Glad to know you had a good time and enjoy Gaston's company - he's indeed a great host. We'll take your review into consideration and try to improve so not only you but yor gf can hace a positive experience. Regards. More

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the city as well as the hostel very much. The rooms were clean and the hostel is located very close to the centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even after my stay, they took the trouble to send me my USB-stick I left at the hostel. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback! Don't hesitate to visit us again if your ever come back to Mendoza. XX More

Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked a night here over Easter weekend and arrived at 1am to be told I would need to check out at 10am the next day as they had no room the next night (fair enough, my bad), David on reception had no suggestions of any other hostels I could look at, so I spent a couple of tiring hours... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you had such a bad experience while staying at Itaka and that we didn't meet your expectations. Regarding not being treated as all our guests deserve to, let me tell you we've taken action and staff members that were rude to you (and unfortunately to other guests... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mendoza es linda! But this hostel is just OK. The staff was nice at first, but annoyed with any requests after check-in. They didn't tell us that there was a party of 30+ teenage Argentines staying with them when a friend and I checked into the last available beds, and that didn't make our first few nights very hospitable, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience here. We've made some changes in the hostel rules regarding "quite hours" policy but please, keep in mind we're located right in the heart of Mendoza's nightilfe so this hostel sometimes might turn into a "party hostel" specially in peek season.... More

Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I am currently traveling back home, thinking that the only thing that could have improved about my entire vacation in Mendoza, was the place where I stayed. The managers, cleaning staff, and breakfast workers were all very friendly, and we especially want to thank their waiters at their bar. However, three out of four receptionists were very rude, lazy, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear some of the recepcionists were not polite during your stay. As we're always trying to improve our quality service, we would like to tell you some important changes had been made and those workers who didn't meet the hostel requierements are longer part of the staff. Hopefully,... More

Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took a week to do remote working from Mendoza and the hostel was great for that, we booked a room for us with a shared bathroom that was allways clean and the internet connection was great, the common area is not the best for working but it was good enough (wifi didn't reach the backyard). Staff is nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por dejarnos tu opinión! Nos alegra saber que disfrutaste tu estadía en el hostel. Ojalá puedas volver pronto! Saludos,... More

Voorburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a nice stay at this fine hostel! especially the friendly and helpfull people of the hostel made the stay very enjoyable i had a great time thank you all!! I stayed for five days and i could easily stayed longer..

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope you can visit us again! Regards, Natalia. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Starting with the good. Clean. Staff are very friendly. Occasionally a little forgetful. Lovely cafe attached to hostel, good coffee. Nice warm reception. Decent common area. Apparently free wine, we weren't there for. Now for the let down. Our private room for the 1st night, the heating was out of order (no apology or even warning about this at check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
itakahostel, Booking Manager at Itaka Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm really sorry to hear you had a bad time in our hostel, but we appreciate your comments since we're always looking forward to improving. All our heaters are currently working and we keep hearing good things about our pizzas! Hope you can visit us some other time so you could... More

Been to Itaka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaka Hostel

Address: Aristides Villanueva 480, Mendoza, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 121 Specialty lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaka Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Itaka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Itaka Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.