We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

31 Bayview Drive | Villa Caroline Townhouse, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Townhouse Hotel \/ Hostel Manila
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff is trying to explain on tripadvisor and hostelworld that they got bad reviews before but now they renovated the place and all is fine - ITS NOT! We booked a 500PHP room, fan with shared bathroom. The room was big but simple with plenty of furniture: a table, 2 chairs, a sofa, ... Nothing to complain about here... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2travelworlds
Dillon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to the directions given by Bill and Lorna, we confidentiality navigated the short cab ride from the airport. Staff was polite and helpful. We met Bill who was busy with renovations but had time to give us plenty of ideas for the next leg of our journey! We will be staying here again for another night before our flight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for one night. If you need a place to stay close to airport it's cheap. Yellow metered taxi costs 140p from airport each way. They had WiFi only downstairs it broke up a little but when it worked it worked well. Nice little kitchen they had where they cooked breakfast (not included). However it was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank petejack84
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks so much "petejack84" for taking time to wite a review and give us advice from your experience Nov 2 only 4 days ago. Yes you are correct we have 5 person construction crew busy doing stage 4 of our renovation. Today we took out 21 of our jealousy windows where insects very common in tropical climates especially during rainy... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paranaque hotels

Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

basic rooms no frills you get what you pay for , great restaurant reasonable prices friendly staff , close to airport and transport links around manila the cook elena is very cheerful all the time :) simple hostel/hotel for transiting through manila for a few day .

Helpful?
Thank matt a
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks "matt a" for your short and well put review; maybe 80% of our guests since 1986 only stay 1 or 2 nights before taking off to explore the beaches in the south or mountains in the north of the Philippines islands and then come back once or twice before leaving the Philippines. We are presently in the middle of... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

I am malaysian..I stayed townhouse many times..i feel safe cos people i met here just like my family..staff are friendly..my room is fine..the food is good here..and cheap..i will always come bck here..esp..very close to airport.

Helpful?
Thank glema
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks "Malaysian" for your short and to the point review, the 3 rules of real estate,Our Townhosue Hotel / Hostel Manila's location location location is perfect for most budget travelers especially those who plan to travel 3 weeks to 6 weeks in the Philippines and need a safe, clean place to stay in Metro-Manila with 12+ million and growing population... More 

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Travelers can be cruel on the reviews and it can hurt a business. But as you know as well as I, some people you can not please. They want luxury and catering service at a hostel for free. I was there twice and was treated very nice. I am returning for a month's stay last of October. My rooms were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilsJourney
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks Philly for your detailed review. Our staff often do not close our rooms with problems as instructed so we suffer many hateful, negative reviews and shows the closest nearest rooms which should have been closed. Such is life of small business owners; we share ourselves, experiences, travel and lifestyle tips, positive energy and common sense wisdom with 3000 to... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Dirty place and we had booked two dorm beds but when we arrived the dorm was being renovated. This meant we got to share a private single bed.. Awful night. No discount or anything. There was even a playboy cover from 1998 hidden in the room. WHEN WAS THIS PLACE LAST CLEANED???? hahaha 😔 dos not enjoy. Also airport transfer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Benddc
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

We have started the 3rd stage of our renovation in our main building. Down the street in Unit 11 where the dorm is will be demolished next year and we should be able to finish a new 5 floor building with 2 new 4th floor well ventilated 8 bed dorm rooms with private bath with common kitchen and roof garden... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I stayed there for a period due to personal problem. Often loud music with Karaoke until late night ( 1 am). Noises of other customers and staff during the night and early in the am (5:30 am). Very dirty and old rooms, unprofessional staff. Full of old expats with young filipina girl. I runned away and I found a better... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank yomi K
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

All through the year we have parties and though my wife and I are not fans of Karaoke either we encourage the celebration of birthdays among our Filipino staff and guests. If you had requested our check-in counter staff to lower the volume making it easier for you to sleep and deal with your personal problems they would have lowered... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Bed bugs in room. No 24 hour reception. Walls with holes in, so very dirty, unhelpful staff, rip off airport service. Do not stay here! You get what you pay for!! I am backpacking around South East Asia and this is the worst place I've stayed in and from now on will be sacrificing some of my food budget and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris199519
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

I am guessing you stayed in our $4+ dormitory; we have 38 private rooms with 5 rates from $8+ to $22+ / night / 1 or 2 persons. We encourage our staff to close any room with problems. If you haven't experienced insects in tropical S.E. Asia you have been extremely lucky. Manila has among the worst air pollution in... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Stayed in dorm room on first night which was dark and dingy, couldnt sleep at all to eventually realise i was covered in bed bugs and bites. In the morning we found the bugs all in our bags and a cockroach fell out of my hanging towel... Moved to a new private room on request which was not much better... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jules P
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

We are nearly finished with our third phase of renovation and will have a lechon ( traditional Philippine roasted pig ) party for guests and staff to celebrate the opening of our new 4th floor roof garden with panoramic view of Manila Bay,, The City of Dreams Casino complex, the 15,000 sqm neighboring ancestral property with dozens of coconut palm... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paranaque
Stone House Hotel Pasay
#21 of 29 in Pasay
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Nichols Airport Hotel
#8 of 14 in Paranaque
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Isabelle Royale Paranaque
#10 of 14 in Paranaque
3.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
#11 of 29 in Pasay
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
#17 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay