We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip De Jager off-ramp Exit 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
7
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
White House, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Staff were excellant, shout out to Phillip, our server, front desk, Stacey, Joslyn, Wesley, Managers , Cheri and Claudine, can go on and on. Great experience, Good Food and very clean rooms , Great view thank you for a wonderful time. From. Nashville Tennessee USA

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Rosalind V Thank you so much for the positive feedback and taking the time to note the staff members’ names. I will definitely share your feedback with the team. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Cape Town. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Economical and beautifully located.... But the view was awesome.... The rooms were beautifully located.... Absolutely value for money.... Going to Cape Town, this is the hotel to go to, for the view, alone....

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear kalpeshcynic Thank you for your review of our property and the amazing view from the hotel. You can never get enough of the mountain, sea, Robben Island and the Valley of lights… We hope to see you again when you visit Cape Town. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

durban
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Great place for the business person. Food is good. Great view of the city and the bay. You just need ensure that you ask for the outer rooms. Only set back is that it is located next to one of the busiest highways in Cape Town, the N1. It could be quite noisy if you are looking for that few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear chrishelle Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel and thank you for the positive comments. We are in the process of installing double glased windows in the rooms closest to the highway and it has proven to reduce the noise drastically. Next time you stay, you will be able to enjoy the few... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I am a frequent guest at the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley. The deluxe rooms is very modern and exceptionally clean and tidy. The food is of a high standard and the staff at the hotel is always pleasant and helpful. The breathtaking view from the restaurant patio definitely make this an award winning hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear L Chetty Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future again. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We have had the pleasure of spending multiple stays of between 10 days and 28 days at this well managed Hotel every year for the past 17 yrs. Our recent stay of a total of 23 days was in November 2014.For a three star hotel it has the infrastructure and the service level of at least a four star. Security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Robin M Thank you for reviewing the hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you in November 2014. It is an incredible honour to have our GUESTS returning for the last 17 years and I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you and your wife again this year. (Our team is already looking forward to your next visit)... More 

Terre Rouge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We stayed at the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley for 2 days and our stay was excellent. Accommodation was par excellence and the room was clean, neat and tidy with excellent facilities. Scenic view over Cape Town and an excellent restaurant made it a great place to stay at in Cape Town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Karlwalker Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and thank you for the compliments! Our team was delighted with the feedback. I hope we will see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The hotel is a cluster of buildings located on the hill above the N1. The room that I had near reception was comfortable and quiet, away from the freeway. The view from the breakfast room is impressive and you can contemplate Table Mountain in the distance, or watch the heavy morning traffic and be glad that your business is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear ZA_reisiger Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and the beautiful view of the Mother City. Whether it is breakfast in the Point of View restaurant or a cocktail on the deck, the view of Table Mountain, Lion’s Head, Signal Hill and in... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The hotel is old and is in serious need of a make over, although it is very clean and well maintained, it is just very tired. The price is reasonable for Cape Town but don't eat at the restaurant as that is extremely over priced for a below average meal. Absolutely fine if you doing business in the Northern suburbs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Poranic Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. The majority of our bedrooms have been refurbished over the last couple of years and we hope to complete the refurbishment of the last standard rooms in 2015. All our Deluxe rooms have been refurbished, so to ensure you stay in one of our “new”... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

First and foremost, the location of this hotel is a bit confusing compared to its name. It seems as if is at Tygervalley, but when you ask around it appears that it's at Plattekloof. The view and the layout from outside the hotel is good, but the rooms are too small. I had that they have two beds per room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I sorry to hear about the confusion regarding our address. We are in fact in Uys Krige Drive in Welgemoed. We are close to Plattekloof Road and a mere 7km from Tygervalley shopping centre. Protea Hotel Tyger Valley has 41 twin rooms and 59 king... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed in the Protea Hotel Tygervalley for a conference. Check was impersonal with "Yes?" as only welcome. But at least went quickly. Rooms are smallish but functional. Air-conditioner was so noisy that I had to put it off but then struggled with the highway noise - had a terrible night. Rooms have basic free internet but was oh so slow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear ChriswM2 Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to discuss your experience at the hotel telephonically. Thank you also for the suggestions you have made to reduce the noise you experienced. I would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had at our hotel and as discussed, want to ensure you that we are looking into... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question