We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

#1 of 1 Hotels in Welgemoed
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip De Jager off-ramp Exit 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Professional photos
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    46 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      6
      11
      16
      7
      6
    See reviews for
    5
    7
    3
    26
    Rating summary
    • Location
      3 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • German first
    • Japanese first
    • Portuguese first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (46)
    • Mar-May only
      (15)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (5)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (16)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (10)
    All months
    Mumbai (Bombay), India
    Senior Contributor
    37 reviews 37 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

    Economical and beautifully located.... But the view was awesome.... The rooms were beautifully located.... Absolutely value for money.... Going to Cape Town, this is the hotel to go to, for the view, alone....

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear kalpeshcynic Thank you for your review of our property and the amazing view from the hotel. You can never get enough of the mountain, sea, Robben Island and the Valley of lights… We hope to see you again when you visit Cape Town. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

    durban
    Senior Reviewer
    10 reviews 10 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Great place for the business person. Food is good. Great view of the city and the bay. You just need ensure that you ask for the outer rooms. Only set back is that it is located next to one of the busiest highways in Cape Town, the N1. It could be quite noisy if you are looking for that few... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear chrishelle Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel and thank you for the positive comments. We are in the process of installing double glased windows in the rooms closest to the highway and it has proven to reduce the noise drastically. Next time you stay, you will be able to enjoy the few... More 

    Johannesburg, South Africa
    1 review
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

    I am a frequent guest at the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley. The deluxe rooms is very modern and exceptionally clean and tidy. The food is of a high standard and the staff at the hotel is always pleasant and helpful. The breathtaking view from the restaurant patio definitely make this an award winning hotel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear L Chetty Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future again. Regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

    1 review
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

    We have had the pleasure of spending multiple stays of between 10 days and 28 days at this well managed Hotel every year for the past 17 yrs. Our recent stay of a total of 23 days was in November 2014.For a three star hotel it has the infrastructure and the service level of at least a four star. Security... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear Robin M Thank you for reviewing the hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you in November 2014. It is an incredible honour to have our GUESTS returning for the last 17 years and I hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you and your wife again this year. (Our team is already looking forward to your next visit)... More 

    Terre Rouge
    Senior Contributor
    31 reviews 31 reviews
    19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

    We stayed at the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley for 2 days and our stay was excellent. Accommodation was par excellence and the room was clean, neat and tidy with excellent facilities. Scenic view over Cape Town and an excellent restaurant made it a great place to stay at in Cape Town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear Karlwalker Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and thank you for the compliments! Our team was delighted with the feedback. I hope we will see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Anso Venter General Manager More 

    Pretoria, South Africa
    Senior Reviewer
    7 reviews 7 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

    The hotel is a cluster of buildings located on the hill above the N1. The room that I had near reception was comfortable and quiet, away from the freeway. The view from the breakfast room is impressive and you can contemplate Table Mountain in the distance, or watch the heavy morning traffic and be glad that your business is not... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear ZA_reisiger Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and the beautiful view of the Mother City. Whether it is breakfast in the Point of View restaurant or a cocktail on the deck, the view of Table Mountain, Lion’s Head, Signal Hill and in... More 

    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Contributor
    17 reviews 17 reviews
    14 hotel reviews
    11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

    The hotel is old and is in serious need of a make over, although it is very clean and well maintained, it is just very tired. The price is reasonable for Cape Town but don't eat at the restaurant as that is extremely over priced for a below average meal. Absolutely fine if you doing business in the Northern suburbs... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear Poranic Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. The majority of our bedrooms have been refurbished over the last couple of years and we hope to complete the refurbishment of the last standard rooms in 2015. All our Deluxe rooms have been refurbished, so to ensure you stay in one of our “new”... More 

    Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
    Senior Contributor
    31 reviews 31 reviews
    12 hotel reviews
    20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

    First and foremost, the location of this hotel is a bit confusing compared to its name. It seems as if is at Tygervalley, but when you ask around it appears that it's at Plattekloof. The view and the layout from outside the hotel is good, but the rooms are too small. I had that they have two beds per room,... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I sorry to hear about the confusion regarding our address. We are in fact in Uys Krige Drive in Welgemoed. We are close to Plattekloof Road and a mere 7km from Tygervalley shopping centre. Protea Hotel Tyger Valley has 41 twin rooms and 59 king... More 

    Pretoria, South Africa
    Top Contributor
    106 reviews 106 reviews
    42 hotel reviews
    68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

    Stayed in the Protea Hotel Tygervalley for a conference. Check was impersonal with "Yes?" as only welcome. But at least went quickly. Rooms are smallish but functional. Air-conditioner was so noisy that I had to put it off but then struggled with the highway noise - had a terrible night. Rooms have basic free internet but was oh so slow.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear ChriswM2 Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to discuss your experience at the hotel telephonically. Thank you also for the suggestions you have made to reduce the noise you experienced. I would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had at our hotel and as discussed, want to ensure you that we are looking into... More 

    Sequim, WA
    Top Contributor
    129 reviews 129 reviews
    60 hotel reviews
    46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

    This hotel has wonderful views of the valley and Table Mountain. Unfortunately, it is located right next to the freeway (8 lanes) so it can get noisy. But, you get used to it and we slept well. Room was clean. Housekeeping great. Staff friendly. Pool was too cold in winter but I was able to lay out and get some... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

    Dear SequimWATraveler Thank you for posting a review about your experience at our hotel. Cape Town is a beautiful city and Protea Hotel Tyger Valley does have some of the most amazing views of the city. I am happy to hear you enjoyed these as well as the August sunshine. Thank you for the kind words about our friendly STAFF... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Protea Hotel Tyger Valley? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

    Address: Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip De Jager off-ramp Exit 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa
    Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Welgemoed
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
    Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Tyger Valley 3*
    Number of rooms: 100
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Tyger Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Tyger Valley Hotel
    Protea Hotel Tyger Valley Welgemoed, Cape Town

    37 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (6)
    Viewed
    View from room (3)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Dining (2)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (31)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (7)
    Viewed
    Dining (10)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (2)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (8)
    Viewed
    Business center/function rooms (3)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    About the property
    • Wheelchair access
    Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    Services
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Room Service
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Protea Hotel Tyger Valley is now a full service 3 star Cape Town hotel overlooking scenic views of Table Mountain and offers unrivalled convenience and value for money. As a budget hotel in Cape Town the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley is strategically located near the airport and CBD and is tailor-made for the executive traveller. All rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, 32" flat screen TV's with DVD players in all rooms and en-suite bathrooms. The hotel’s new a la carte restaurant, Point of View, caters for breakfast and dinner, whilst the exclusive residents' bar and lounge is ideal for informal meetings or sundowners. Secure, individual parking bays are strategically located outside each room. Off the restaurant, situated in the park-like surrounds, is the hotel's swimming pool and sundeck. Various other sporting activities are available nearby, including golf only a few minutes away. A cozy lounge facility off the reception area offers comfortable seating and a fireplace. For the Corporate traveller, the 3 star hotel in Cape Town offers a small business centre with internet and word processing facilities. Tyger Valley Shopping Centre and Willowbridge Mall is only 5km away from the Protea Hotel Tygervalley. Within a 5km radius, there are more than 30 restaurants to choose from. There is a Virgin Active Gym 5km away. Shuttle services can be arranged to all destinations at a cost to the GUEST. For the adventure seeker, the hotel is only 8km from Ratanga Junction. ... more   less 
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Tyger Valley staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Welgemoed

    Bayflowers Guest House
    Bayflowers Guest House 4.5 out of 5, 70 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Hilton Cape Town City Centre
    Hilton Cape Town City Centre 4.0 out of 5, 656 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
    African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 4.5 out of 5, 326 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 28, 2015
    Purple House Bed & Breakfast
    Purple House Bed & Breakfast 5.0 out of 5, 52 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 25, 2015
    The Big Blue Hostel 4.0 out of 5, 8 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 24, 2015
    Villa Hout Bay Heights
    Villa Hout Bay Heights 4.0 out of 5, 19 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015
    35 on Washington Guest House
    35 on Washington Guest House 4.5 out of 5, 25 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 22, 2015
    Bergzicht Guesthouse
    Bergzicht Guesthouse 4.5 out of 5, 54 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015
    At Wendy's Place
    At Wendy's Place 5.0 out of 5, 1 review
    Last reviewed Feb 9, 2015
    Cape Nelson Guest House
    Cape Nelson Guest House 4.0 out of 5, 25 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 3, 2015
    Villa Atlantica
    Villa Atlantica 4.5 out of 5, 78 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 26, 2015
    Greenways Hotel
    Greenways Hotel 4.5 out of 5, 76 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 13, 2015
    Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
    Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City 3.0 out of 5, 14 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 9, 2015
    Gilmourhill B&B
    Gilmourhill B&B 5.0 out of 5, 14 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 8, 2015
    Three Arches Guesthouse 3.0 out of 5, 1 review
    Last reviewed Dec 7, 2014