We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

3.0 of 5 Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip De Jager off-ramp Exit 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
5
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a cluster of buildings located on the hill above the N1. The room that I had near reception was comfortable and quiet, away from the freeway. The view from the breakfast room is impressive and you can contemplate Table Mountain in the distance, or watch the heavy morning traffic and be glad that your business is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear ZA_reisiger Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and the beautiful view of the Mother City. Whether it is breakfast in the Point of View restaurant or a cocktail on the deck, the view of Table Mountain, Lion’s Head, Signal Hill and in... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is old and is in serious need of a make over, although it is very clean and well maintained, it is just very tired. The price is reasonable for Cape Town but don't eat at the restaurant as that is extremely over priced for a below average meal. Absolutely fine if you doing business in the Northern suburbs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Poranic Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. The majority of our bedrooms have been refurbished over the last couple of years and we hope to complete the refurbishment of the last standard rooms in 2015. All our Deluxe rooms have been refurbished, so to ensure you stay in one of our “new”... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

First and foremost, the location of this hotel is a bit confusing compared to its name. It seems as if is at Tygervalley, but when you ask around it appears that it's at Plattekloof. The view and the layout from outside the hotel is good, but the rooms are too small. I had that they have two beds per room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I sorry to hear about the confusion regarding our address. We are in fact in Uys Krige Drive in Welgemoed. We are close to Plattekloof Road and a mere 7km from Tygervalley shopping centre. Protea Hotel Tyger Valley has 41 twin rooms and 59 king... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed in the Protea Hotel Tygervalley for a conference. Check was impersonal with "Yes?" as only welcome. But at least went quickly. Rooms are smallish but functional. Air-conditioner was so noisy that I had to put it off but then struggled with the highway noise - had a terrible night. Rooms have basic free internet but was oh so slow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear ChriswM2 Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to discuss your experience at the hotel telephonically. Thank you also for the suggestions you have made to reduce the noise you experienced. I would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had at our hotel and as discussed, want to ensure you that we are looking into... More 

Sequim, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This hotel has wonderful views of the valley and Table Mountain. Unfortunately, it is located right next to the freeway (8 lanes) so it can get noisy. But, you get used to it and we slept well. Room was clean. Housekeeping great. Staff friendly. Pool was too cold in winter but I was able to lay out and get some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear SequimWATraveler Thank you for posting a review about your experience at our hotel. Cape Town is a beautiful city and Protea Hotel Tyger Valley does have some of the most amazing views of the city. I am happy to hear you enjoyed these as well as the August sunshine. Thank you for the kind words about our friendly STAFF... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My previous visit to this Hotel was not impressive but decided to give the a second change. What a mistake! I arrived just before 4pm and had to wait 30min before my room was ready. Later, the TV in the room was not working and it took them over an hour to find their fault. A room keeper is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Rudimental Thank you for taking the time to telephonically discuss your concerns regarding your stay. I would once again like to apologise for the disappointing service you have received. You have our commitment that we are addressing all these areas to ensure it does not reoccur. I trust that your third stay with us will be a pleasant one.... More 

Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good value for money at this 3 star rated establishment with neat rooms and good access from N1.If your need a comfortable stay at a reasonable price, this is where you can go. Close to Tyger Valley Mall as well as to the N1.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnsoV, General Manager at Protea Hotel Tyger Valley, responded to this review

Dear Jannie S Thank you very much for the positive feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and maximised our centralised location and easy access to the surrounding areas. We hope to welcome you back in the very near futures. Kind regards, Anso Venter General Manager Protea Hotel Tyger Valley More 

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is located very centrally. Did work at nearby hospital and was 5 minutes away. Service was slow and frontdesk was very incapable. Dont like the fact that the restaurant is not located in the same building as the room. Room is ok. Heater didn't work and I was very cold. Roomservice food really not up to standard

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times, but this time I was shocked at how sad service levels have dropped here. Had a bit of issues at book- in, but it was resolved within half and hour. However dining room and room service staff need to be re- trained. You walk into the dining room and no-one explained the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

If you are going to be so stupid as to build a hotel overlooking a major highway (N1) that never stops, I guess you will all not think of putting in sound proof or double glazed windows. Given the fact that the main reason for staying overnight in a hotel is to sleep, this is a complete waste of money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Tyger Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Tyger Valley

Address: Hendrik Verwoerd Drive | Jip De Jager off-ramp Exit 20, Welgemoed 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Welgemoed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Tyger Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Tyger Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyger Valley Hotel
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley Welgemoed, Cape Town

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay