We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Majeka House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stellenbosch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the most beautiful Hotels in Stellenbosch If we are travelling to South Africa again we will for sure stay at the Majeka House. Excellent Service, beautiful rooms and the shower in the bathroom is just the best we saw ever. Very very friendly and helpful staff and good Food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 540marliess
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear 540marliess, The entire Majeka House team joins me to thank you for sharing such a positive review on your experience in our establishment. We hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards Karine More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Majeka House is a hidden gem just outside of Stellenbosch (6 mins by car) which is a little oasis of super service, calm, delicious food & extremely comfy rooms. The staff couldn't be more helpful, rooms stylish & all very well thought out with nice touches of cookies, fresh flowers & interior design. Definitely worth a visit. We were here... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 204jot
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear 204jot, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Majeka House! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon on holiday this time!! Kind regards Karine More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Very comfortable hotel with lots of amenities. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. There is an honesty fridge bar and a great coffee machine with Lavazza coffee. The Makaron restaurant attached has good reviews but I was a little disappointed in my starter and the duck dish. The amuse bouche was awful and should have been left off,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, as well our winelist and bar service. Regarding your experience with the food, we have made the chef aware of your comments and is already looking into it, Kind regards Karine More 

Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is excellent. Just wish we had more than one night, although I would have lost pounds as the food not too my liking. It was like master chef food when all I wanted was.good food, a great steak or similar after a day sightseeing and travelling. Each course delivered to your table is described by the waitress when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Christine S, The entire Majeka team joins me in thanking you for sharing your experience and giving us such high marks! We are not at all trying to do master chef food - which is made by amateurs - as our chef, Lucas Carstens, is a qualify well respected chef in our country. A little surprised as well to... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderfull room with pool. Enjoy the food. Rooms was quiet. Service staff and hotel staff was well trained and extremly friendly and helpfull. We stayed for 5 nights and the rooms was big and spacious. The rooms service menu is limited, but the food was stunning. The hotel cater to all our needs. I will gladly stay there again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PlanetBoabab
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear PlanetBaobab, There is not a better reward for our team than to read such a wonderful review on your experience, so they all join me in thanking you for sharing it on this forum. We have just increased our choices on the room service menu as per your comment, thank you for making us aware of that. We look... More 

Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was really looking forward to staying at Majeka house based on reviews but it really disappointed us. Overall the service provided was just not the service and facilities you should expect based on prices and rating. The Wifi didn't really work outside the breakfast/dining area, it didn't even extend to the bar area and was virtually non existent in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walesw
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Walsw, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Majeka House, even though our entire team is very distressed that you did not enjoy your time with us. We pride ourselves in having an extremely efficient reception team, and I must apologize if you felt that you were not... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A well kept secret absolutely exquisite establishment with fantastic service and overall ambience. Great attention to detail at every level. A place I would certainly without hesitation visit again!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adamskijhb
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear adamskijhn, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Majeka House! Our team is delighted that you enjoyed our services and facilities and we hope to see you back soon in Stellenbosch! Kind regards Karine More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful hotel. My husband, myself and our two daughters had interconnecting rooms which were beautifully furnished. The staff could not do enough for you. We booked a table to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night and enjoyed it so much we wanted to book for the following night as well. We were really disappointed to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Jane C, Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review about your experience at Majeka House and Makaron! The reception, service and kitchen team are particularly delighted that you appreciated their hard work, there is no better reward for their dedication. We hope to welcome you back to Majeka in the near future! Kind regards Karine More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the hotel for New Years Eve and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was a pool villa and was very spacious as we also had our daughter with us. The pool area was also lovely. The hotel spa had excellent staff and our treatments were probably the best we have had in a long time.

Helpful?
Thank rosebudharts
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear rosebubudharts, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and more specifically you spa treatment. Thank you very much for this review sharing your experience with us. Kind regards More 

Newbury
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic rooms and service, Majeka House is a real gem and a place we look forward to staying at on our next visit to South Africa. The restaurant and spa are both top class with the views from the mountain view suites breathtaking. Roll on 2020 and our next trip!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seanbrookes
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Seanbrookes, Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review about your experience at Majeka House. It is really heart warming to have our entire team's hard work recognized! We will be ready for you in 2020! Kind regards Karine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#2 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#5 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay