We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Stellenbosch hotels

Devon Valley Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Devon Valley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Devon Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
irenemaclean Cape Town
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    98
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
37
180
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot understand why the restaurant is not buzzing with people... The food is fantastic - the dining room beautiful and the staff most attentive..... As a local, the saying 'local is lekker' comes to mind. I highly recommend this restaurant...

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights in this lovely hotel set within a vineyard close to Stellenbosch. Our room was upgraded to a suite, so we were very comfortable. Having enjoyed a rather substantial lunch before arriving, we found that a selection from the starter buffet was just what we needed as an evening meal. Breakfast was excellent, with extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear themoustache Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We do agree about the pool views! Perhaps you should visit South Africa again soon! Andrew General Manager More 

Zurich
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After staying in another Estate in Stellenbosch for 2 nights, the first impression, was so so. The room, vineyard double room, was nice but nothing special. Still clean, comfortable and sliding doors to open up the bathroom to the bedroom. The diner with matching wine was great but you also need to love pork belly as the menu is fixed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tinyhunter Thank you for your review. I am glad you did enjoy the Rose! Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of many returns. Previously, I stayed in the main house. This time, I was given a Vineyard Room and I was so impressed… room tip: ask for a vineyard room. Spacious, beautiful finishes, large bathroom, great pillows on the bed, soft towels – and everything in the room was in working order. Nice selection of teas in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ADavies1977 Thank you for your review and we were delighted to welcome you back "home". We do hope you visit again soon Andrew General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We only spent one night there with my wife. The hotel is old charm if that's what you are after Check in was problematic because I was under the impression my card was debited when I made the booking but that was not the case and the desk lady irritated me. The rooms are small but beautiful and ours had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cmct72 Many thanks for your review. I am sad that we did not deliver “handmade hospitality” to you during your stay. With regard to the towels. We have signage in the rooms mentioning, if you want your towels changed to leave them in the bath. We used to change any wet towel but received negative feedback form our guests... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We had an excellent dinner here - really really good! We came here on our honeymoon and they scattered rose petals on the floor, bath and bed along with a bottle of champagne and a desert plate We loved our stay here, it was relaxing, had beautiful surroundings and awesome food

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbenzc Many thanks for your amazing review. Kind regards Andrew More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We booked our dinner reservation at Devon Valley hotel and I must say it was worth it. You had the option of ordering from the menu or join the crowd lol with enjoying the buffet. A nice variety of homely foods and delicious desserts. The place itself is beautiful as well and has a nice romantic feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Delmaine L Many thanks or your review Andrew More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The views from this hotel are beautiful, vineyards and mountains. Our room was comfortable, very clean, only quibble was the shower, which had a tendency to flood the rest of the bathroom - no wonder two bath mats were provided. The roll top bath looked impressive but didn't quite tally with the exhortation to save water. Restaurant food and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thetwojs Many thanks for the time taken to do your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate honest feedback to ensure we can always improve our offering. The insects you make mention of occur on a hot day with no wind just before sunset until the sun has disappeared. They are not around every day. For our future guests we... More 

Houten, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We visited this hotel on spring: October 2014. It was not yet full season, and we felt like privileged guests. The rooms are very well situated, with a wonderful view over the surrounding mountains and the vineyards. All rooms have free WiFi, the bathroom facilities are very good and the beds are very comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bosmana Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Hand Made Hospitality. Andrew General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and can honestly say this is one of the best hotels for a romantic couples getaway. The rooms are beautiful with spectacular views and sounds of the Devon Valley area and the staff go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was a feast every morning and the dining area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 653gerhardb Many thanks for your amazing review. My Team always strives to deliver "HANDMADE HOSPITALITY". We do hope to welcome you back soon. Andrew General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay