We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devon Valley Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Devon Valley Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
whitepointer Melbourne, Australia
Rate this Hotel

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    111
    30
    17
    3
See reviews for
42
197
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
76 hotel reviews
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would certainly stay here again, rooms are quite large, beds are comfortable (just soft enough to support) and had a bath tub. Food was sensational and breakfast was something to look forward to every morning. Free wifi, parking along with beautiful views as you walk around the gardens. Away from the city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear whitepointer Many thanks for your wonderful review! We do hope you will return to South Africa again Kind regards Andrew and Devon Valley Team More 

Voorburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visit this hotel whilst travelling together with a group of travel professionals. First impression was the old colonial style which felt appealing to me. The gardens were well maintained and the swimming pool was delightful. I stayed in a spacious room (Vineyard Luxury Room), tasteful decorated as well was the luxury bath room. The view over the vineyards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill188 We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to grow our Dutch Market, so please help spread the word for us! Thank you Andrew and Devon Valley Team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a night on a business trip. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was great. The beauty of the valley is lovely to wake up to. Would love to return some time soon. Great place to be in the heart of he Stellenbosch winelands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GillianO Many thanks for your amazing review! Kind regards Andrew and Devon Valley Team More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great two night stay for my 50th Birthday. The owner/ manager was friendly and informative when doing the wine tasting - we reccommend the food and wine pairing. Excellent restaurant. The room in the seperate block was stunning - much more than we hoped for

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kingha Many thanks for celebrating your milestone with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards Andrew and Devon Valley Team More 

London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the one of the best hotels I have stayed at in South Africa, not the most luxurious, but the staff are so friendly and have a real warmth about them. We stayed four nights it was not enough. Lovely welcome and arrival drink. shown to our room, a luxury vineyard room on the first floor with a Juliette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LondonFrancesca Many thanks for you review on our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed out hospitality! We hope you manage to return to South Africa and Stellenbosch again soon Andrew & Devon Valley Team General Manager More 

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed four times at this marvellous, boutique-esque hotel, located a couple of miles outside Stellenbosch right amongst the vineayards and has stunning view of the mountains. As always, the staff are so helpful and friendly. Their basic rooms are ok, located in the main area, but the annex’s are much better, more modern and well apportioned. Unfortunately, water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon C Thank you so much for being kind in your review. Again our apologies for the mystery of the water in the Vineyard Rooms. As you state we had an army trying to resolve the problem. Since your visit I am delighted to report no further problems. We look forward to welcoming you back. Andrew and Team More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a special romantic day , I booked a special room at this hotel! I also booked for our evening meal as one would assume it would be special!Not to be selfish I invited friends to join us! They rode out from Durbanville. I promised it would be fab! We arrived and all was fine even though the bus that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarthaBo Many thanks for your review. I am very sad to read the review. Sadly I am unable to find your reservation as we don't have you name. You are welcome to email me personally on andrew@hsvhospitality.com I am not sure if you booked directly with the hotel or perhaps online. If you had called the hotel we would... More 

Guildford
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was by far the best we stayed in whilst on a 16 day tour of South Africa with Riviera - the room was comfortable the sleep quality was very good - the staff were really good - we reported a couple of small issue with the room when we went to dinner on the first night - all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kev1953 Many thanks for your amazing review! Andrew More 

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the 4th time we have visited DVH & always try to stay in a Vineyard Luxury room. It's great to sit on our own little terrace with the stunning views across the gardens & the valley beyond. We also enjoy the extra space in the room, the large bath & bathroom & the double sinks. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah C Many thanks for your review. My sincere apologies about the mystery water problem. But as you saw we had a whole team on it trying to resolve the mystery, which in the mean time seems repaired. We have had no further issues. Andrew More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel has amazing views and is central for lots of other sights and wine tasting. The food is fantastic and the staff are kind, friendly and helpful. It is very tranquil, relaxing and dreams are made there. Room 40 was spacious with views to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KathyM Many thanks for your amazing review on our hotel Andrew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question