We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Stellenbosch hotels

Spier Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Spier Hotel to your Saves list
Spier Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Peter L Norwich, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (479)
  • Photos (264)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (109)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    182
    59
    20
    8
See reviews for
107
221
8
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a great hotel We arrived to check in at the reception and while we waited were served a glass of wine and then another! My best check in ever! The rooms were good and the gas fire added a cosiness to the room . A nice touch. The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Spier for 4 nights in July, and found the hotel to be exceptional in every way. Staff were all friendly, helpful and courteous, and we felt well looked after. The room exceeded expectations even though it wasn't one of the newly refurbished ones, with a big gas fire to heat the place up, comfortable bed, and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entrance and service at reception was excellent however the rooms were a bit of a disappointment. Very bare and chairs were uncomfortable. One good touch was the live fire which improved the ambience. We were quite a big party of six couples and ate together in the restaurant. Food was very disappointing as was service. It appeared that the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and really wish we could have stayed longer. Sadly we arrived quite late, in the middle of a thunderstorm, however we were greeted with a glass of delicious chilled wine whilst we were checking in (very pleasant, every check-in should be like this!), and taken to our "room" by golf buggy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

It is such a pleasure to read your most positive and comprehensive feedback on your short stay with us, indeed we would have liked to have you stay with us longer. The team responsible for your enjoyment is very proud to know that you have appreciated their efforts, thank you. We look forward to have you return to us at... More

Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent several nights at the Spier for a conference. Old world hospitality, beautiful rooms with charming fireplaces. The staff was completely committed to making my stay perfect, from help with the luggage to special requests in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was so remarkable that I am still thinking about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your most positive feedback, we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back soon with us here at Spier. Kind regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Spier was very pleasant and the service from the staff was exceptional. The friendly greeting and wine set the tone. The room was river facing and the view onto the mountains very special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

The team is very happy to hear your very positive feedback on your stay at Spier, it is very rewarding for them to know that you had a good time with us. We look forward to have you back with us in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a conference and it was very enjoyable. The presence of Moyo is missing and the site where the restaurant was isn't a pretty one, it looks like a building site but I'm sure this is to be expected given the restaurant's closure. Rooms are beautiful and big. There is a fireplace and an aircon which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your most positive feedback on your recent stay at Spier, the team, including Jessie the cat, is proud to know you have appreciated their efforts. I am happy to inform you that we are indeed working hard at restoring De Werf site to its original state, I apologise for the inconvenience caused during this process. I can assure... More

Toulon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Spier for only one night which is a real shame. I would of loved to of stayed longer and spent time on the grounds, but I already had plans in Stellenbosch. The room was very comfortable, I especially liked the fire. I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast the next morning had everything you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review on your stay at Spier, it was a delight to have you here. Indeed the fireplaces are a great source of comfort in all our rooms. We would very much like to have you back in summer, when you can enjoy the gardens and outdoor swimming pools more, please do let me... More

Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is spacious, with enormous suites, with a huge bed and a gas fire [needed in May - SA's winter], TV, and a great bath & shower room. Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful, polite and attentive. The whole setting is huge, with walks around the winery, and a very nice pool and surrounds. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciated reading your most positive feedback on your recent stay. Indeed our fireplaces in each room are a huge drawcard in the winter and create the ambience you have so enjoyed. We would very much like to welcome you back for a longer stay upon your return to Stellenbosch. Please do let me know if there is anything... More

Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in Room 315 of the Spier Hotel for two nights. The hotel is comprised of a number of separate buildings with two rooms at ground level and two on the upper level. My room was at ground level. The room was huge with a king-sized bed, gas fireplace, nightstands, desk, flat screen TV, a small table and two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your most positive feedback on your stay at Spier. The chef's team is very proud to hear that you have appreciated their culinary efforts. I am glad to inform you that with the room upgrade project for this winter we will be addressing your point raised. All rooms will be fitted out with curtains in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Spier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (238)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch #2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch #3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch #4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch #4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
155

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;