We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Stellenbosch hotels

Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate to your Saves list
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
83%
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Wiggins834 Umea, Sweden
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
24
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Devonvale Golf & Wine hotel is a very good hotel, especially for those who play golf but also for others (beginner lessons are available from the club golf pro). The rooms are good, there is a nice pool, the staff is friendly, and there is a good selection of different options in the restaurant. The exercise room is very minimal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tremelo, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

friendly people a the hoteldesk.They gave plenty information about the surroundings.We booked only a room,but we received an upgrade and had a nice studio with a small garden and a terrace.It was very cosy. We also liked the golffacilities . The restaurant terrace overlooking the golf is very nice. There was only one small problem:when we went to have dinner... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were all pleasantly surprised with the size of accommodation, especially the living area, which allowed us to gather and entertain a few friends. It helped as it rained most of our stay. We had dinner both nights at the restaurant where both the service and food were good. My son and I played golf on the second day and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We're not golfers but still enjoyed our stay at the Devonvale, that said, the hotel could maybe heat the pool and put some exercise equipment in its little gym for golfers and non golfers alike. Keep the non golfing partners happy and you might generate more business. Very impressed with their 2008 Shiraz. A nice restaurant with a very able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent an absolutely wonderful weekend at Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate, the facilities and service was of top quality and really made our weekend extra special. On Friday we were greeted and checked in by very friendly staff at reception, our room was so stylish, it looked like something out of a magazine. On Saturday morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capt Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

RECEPTION: I had booked room 21 and 26. Which was confirmed. Luckily a few days before my stay I checked on my bookings with hotel. I was then told that Im booked in at room 27 (which was not as stated on my original booking). This was put right and was assured that I am in room 26. On arrival... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

need two sleep pillows per person - did not clean room early per request on door knob (but did wait outside room when reminded and did apologize) - breakfast was excellent - location convenient and very good value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I haven't reviewed for ages, because I travel a lot and have very little time, but have come out of "retirement" because this place really deserves a great review. I had real misgivings about this place before even arriving, because it was second choice - our first sold-out while booking it - and I normally stay in higher category hotels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cold, clinical and unfriendly. I stayed for 3 days (wedding at neighbouring venue) - the cleaning staff - who do not wash dishes apparently - only "service" the room at 2pm. Service means make bed, change towels - no real cleaning. Room service only until 20:30 ... No eggs one morning at breakfast ...R100 to replace a damaged key card...Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Guilherme We were all very surprised when we received your revue, as all your family members enjoyed their stay with us and want to come back again. What you describe as cold and clinical is for other people a very stylish and modern design. It is true that we don't clean the dishes in the rooms as families... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our sons family wedding , meant that numerous family and guest stayed overnight at Devonvale. Your staff were both friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. All Loved the stay. Thank You for a professional , and friendly stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. I would like to give back a compliment as you were great guests and it was a pleasure arranging all requests around your stay. We wish you, the young couple and your family all the best for the future and I am sure... More

Been to Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.