We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 101 Stellenbosch B&Bs / inns

Middedorp Manor

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Middedorp Manor to your Saves list
Middedorp Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 3 more sites!
94%
Ranked #32 of 101 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
cruzkitten scotland
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    16
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
65
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights here, and it's very nice - as other reviewers have said it's a beautiful guesthouse and pretty close to the main shopping and restaurant area in Stellenbosch such Dorp and Church Streets. Would say a 5min walk along safe and quaint streets. The interiors are lovely, very classy decoration with high quality furniture and attention to style,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Middedorp is very well located and has been beautifully restored. The rooms are stylish and very well appointed. Isolde and Maxwell were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good but not to the standard we received elsewhere in other Cape guesthouses - for example we were disappointed that omelettes could not be prepared and there was limited choice of bread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Positives - the location. situated in a cosy neighbourhood very close to the botanical garden, the university and the city centre (true stellenbosch is quite small). - the service. we were received with a very warm welcome and treated very caringly throughout our stay. there didn't seem to be much staff as it's not a big guesthouse but the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'm a bit surprised by the last two reviews of the self catering unit as we spent three days there last week and were very happy with it, maybe in part due to the issues raised earlier? Anyway, as of last week I can confirm there is a fan in the unit, hangers, safe, hairdryer etc. but contrary to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BCH_80, Owner at Middedorp Manor, responded to this review

Dear Roodeberglodge, Thank you for your review and the constructive criticism. I am glad to inform you that all your concerns have been addressed and improvements made to the hospitality offer overall. Please do visit us again on your next trip to Stellenbosch! Best regards, Ben-Carl Havemann Owner More

Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Where to start? My wife and 26-year old son and I booked two rooms for two nights at Middedorp. On arrival we were told that our rooms were not available, but they offered us the "owner's cottage" in the rear. The owner's cottage was perfectly horrible. There was no air conditioning which necessitated opening the windows, but there were no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BCH_80, Owner at Middedorp Manor, responded to this review

Dear WmCotter, I sincerely apologise for your room allocation on arrival. This is exactly the same problem we had with the previous review "So, so … but not again". It was caused by a technical system error which has now been resolved. The apartment is not sold at the same price point as the Deluxe Suites in the main house... More

Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The manager of Middedorp Manor had already messed up our reservation prior to our arrival. Fortunately, after several calls and with the help of our travel agent, we thought that the situation had been rectified. However, upon arrival we were told that we would stay in the "self-catering flat". A true disappointment, especially as we had booked a luxury room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BCH_80, Owner at Middedorp Manor, responded to this review

Dear JGMW, At Middedorp Manor, we always value constructive criticism. But your review is a misconstrued interpretation on events. Firstly: within 10 hours of your reservation request (overnight for us) you were informed of the situation with a double booking from Booking.com. The Booking.com guests had already paid and we offered to help you with alternative accommodation in Stellenbosch. You... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The accommodation here is very nice. Boutique in style, high quality and very relaxing. Isolde and Max were very welcoming on our arrival, and did everything to make us feel comfortable. The breakfast on the patio each morning was lovely, and is very well located to the centre of Stellenbosch. Only bit of feedback, is regarding the wi-fi. This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Surroundings: Great Value. Centrally located in Stellenbosch. Gorgeous old house beautifully converted into Boutique hotel. Beautiful large room with charming bathroom in the eaves with a large bath. Great Terrace. Enormous and comfortable bed. Lovely garden with pool. Service: Friendly welcome with a helpful explanation of the area and local restaurants. Special Touches: Bikkies on the bed for arrival and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bethesda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were at Middedorp for 3 nights in September and loved it. They arranged a driver to pick us up late in the evening at the Cape Town airport, waited for us to arrive and gave us superb care thereafter. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and the location was only a couple of blocks from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Received by Maxwell on our arrival, who assisted with our bags and was generally very pleasant and helpful. The room rate of R800 was good value compared with similar establishments. I will definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middedorp Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.