We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Knorhoek to your Saves list
Knorhoek
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
85%
Ranked #43 of 101 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
ClairePrice Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled to Stellenbosch for a friends wedding, staying in room 6 of Knorhoek for 3 nights; the 7th, 8th and 9th of March. The room definitely exceed our expectations - it was a lovely big size and really comfortable - with all the comforts you could need. The bathroom was lovely and the highlight was the lovely balcony which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear C Thank you for all the lovely compliments about the room, your stay with us and the general friendliness of the staff. I have had a chat to my weekend assistant and even though she is not a bubbly personality, I feel you, as a guest should be made to feel at ease and welcome. Thank you for staying... More

Dorking
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We flew half way round the world for a wedding of a couple who live 45 minutes away from our home in UK! What a brilliant excuse to visit not only South Africa but also this fantastic wine estate close to Stellenbosch. We booked into Rose Cottage which was perfect, a lovely big comfortable bed and all the home comforts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear M How can i thank you for your fantastic review? I loved the part about flying halfway around the world. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Rose cottage (we think it is rather "nice") and my staff is beaming that they produced the goods that visitors enjoy. Thank you so much and we wish you a beautiful summer... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

As returning visitors we hoped that that our time at Knorhoek would live up to our stay in 2012. And we were not disappointed. Once again we stayed in the family room, which has fantastic views. This time we were able to spend more time around the farm which was great. Although the room has kitchen facilities we chose to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Sally The greatest compliment of all is that guests return for a second (and third ) visit and are more than pleased with their stay and of course, the meals and wine. When you travel with children, the best is when they can run around, swim and make a noise!! I have conveyed your compliiments to the staff and... More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I would thoroughly recomment this venue for a wedding as it was a lovely experience from the moment we arrived to the morning we left. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the food and wine was excellent. We were also very lucky with the weather - it had rained that week right up to the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Angie Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that everything went off so well. It is always a bonus if the weather plays along, but nothing actually could put a damper on a special day for a beautiful couple (it actually rained a lot the next day) I shall convery your... More

Johannesburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a hectic day, this was a wonderful, peaceful sanctuary, enhanced with some very tasty Pinotage from their honesty bar. My room was spacious, and instructions had been left for my late check-in. Dinner was left in my room - a delicious vegetarian meal. The victorian bath, complete with legs, provided great relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Eish It is a beautiful morning after all the rain and snow on the mountains and your review added "sunshine". We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Knorhoek and of course, our wonderful wines as well. Thank you for mentioning the features in the room and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Victorian bath - nothing like soaking in... More

Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really loved it here! The rooms are very authentic with tiled floors and old elements. Felt like going back in time. We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine! Great rooms, nice breakfast, nothing to complain. The only downside is that it is a little out of Stellenbosch so you will need your own wheels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Clients Thank you somuch for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoy meeting people from all over the world and try to give them a feeling of being at home; relaxed and comfortable. We are still having the most glorious warm sunny weather - not the true... More

Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
83 hotel reviews
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights at Knorhoek as it was close to some family friends that we wanted to visit while we were in South Africa. Booked through their website and all went smoothly. There was also no problem in arriving early so that we could settle in before meeting friends for Sunday lunch at another nearby vineyard. Guesthouse was easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Marley from Boulder (and don't I now know that location!!) Thank you so much for your beautiful and honest review - you have no idea how helpful it is in trying to make improvements and inspiring our staff that they continue doing what is expected of them. Yes, your room is the smallest in the guesthouse - must have... More

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've stayed here with family first time back in 2002 and again in 2006. We loved the atmosphere, the surroundings and most of all the service. Next time we're in Stellenbosch, we'll certainly visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Dirk M Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is the greatest compliment when guests return and find us equally enjoyable as the first time. We love what we do and it means a lot if this is projected on to our visitors. You are most welcome to visit us again. Regards Carol More

Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Enjoyed our 1 night here It was ideally suited to our family needs ,lovely setting Had walks amongst the vineyards and the potiger ,fascinating ..Did self catering so no meals here Would recommend and shall be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our farm, and the peaceful, rustic atmosphere that we enjoy sharing with visitors. We always advise our guests to visit the wine tasting faclity by 4pm in order to do the full, unhurried tasting, with the character and complexities of each wine being... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much with three adults and 2 children. Very picturesque farm setting - large rooms with great shower facilities. The staff was also very accommodating and even fixed us some appetizers to tie us over on the afternoon of our flight. Clean and cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this review

Dear Abcast I'm so pleased you all enyoyed your stay at Knorhoek. I always convey these messages to the staff as well so that they know they are doing the right things! Wishing you a good summer in Europe (if it ever comes!) and thank you again. Sincerely Carol More

Been to Knorhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knorhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.