We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sante Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sante Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sante Hotel & Spa
Sante Hotel & Spa
Sante Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    24
    17
    16
See reviews for
11
56
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Paarl, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked 10 rooms for friends and family. At an average price of R2500 per room per night, you expect something reasonable. The place is run down. Garden at entrance to hotel has not been attended to for weeks if not months. In general the hotel is "dirty", spider webs are common. I tried to confirm that all my reservations were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this hotel with my husband for our baby moon. The most aggravating aspect was the awful gravel road which would be recommendable for SUVs and not third tri pregnant women, especially since many day trips are taken from the hotel to explore the wine route. The style of the hotel is Tuscan and it has a spa set in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Firstly, congratulations on the bundle of joy! Such wonderful news! Secondly, thank you for your kind words and compliments-we appreciate it! Also, we do apologise for the roads leading up to the property-certain aspects are completely out of our control. We do hope you will visit us again... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd visit. During our 1st visit my wife slipped on the floor of the indoor pool and ended up in hospital. The indoor pool floor is still as slippery as it was when the accident occurred. There was no porter on our arrival. The room was large and the bed comfortable. Although they say there is free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Sante Hotel and Spa. We would like to inform you that your complaint has been noted and that senior management will investigate the matter further. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We hope you can afford us the chance to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

I booked the manor suite with a double bed at R5500 for 2 nights. I didn't get what I paid for (2 single beds). Hotels very run down, food was disgusting and were out of most ingredients anyway. Horrible

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Sante Hotel and Spa. Please note that senior management has been informed about your complaint and we assure you that every measure will be undertaken to correct any inconsistencies found. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We hope you can... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I am sad to say that I was disappointed! I had such high expectations on my return to Sante (10 years ago I'd had a magical time at the facility). While there was nothing actually wrong with my/my group's stay so many areas fell short of our expectations of a luxury spa retreat. Firstly for the positives: The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Sante Hotel and Spa. We appreciate your compliments and please note that we also take the points you have raised very seriously. At Sante, we strive for excellence and when a guest feels otherwise, we immediately take action. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during... More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This should have been excellent as fantastic views, great location, smart hotel with friendly and helpful staff. However we experienced a number of issues; a) Our booking (made via Sante Head Office) did not get through to the Hotel and so we were not expected. Issue caused by intermittent internet (typical of SA) which a hotel of this class should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to rectify any issues you may have experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your kind words and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Sante Hotel and Spa More 

Cape Town, SA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and enjoyed the experience. As I don't live too far away when I had the opportunity to go to the day spa for the day with a friend, I was very much looking forward to the experience. Regretfully although the surroundings are beautiful both the maintenance of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate the fact that you are a returning guest which is why we take the points you have raised very seriously. All responsible parties will be taken to task and the issues highlighted in your review will be seen to. Thank you once more for... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

we had booked a 2 night stay mid October with family from Germany in the Pool Suites - Sante having been recommended by a friend as a super all around, including spa destination in Paarl/Franschhoek. we arrived and were really impressed about the setting , the surrounds , hotel ... all looks absolutely stunning. as we had booked spa treatments... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susanne Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Sante. We are glad that we were able to resolve any matters you had experienced and we assure you that the inconvenience you may have experienced is a learning curve for us. We will look into the points you have raised closely moving forward. We hope that you... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We got to the hotel at 14:50 but were advised that check in time was at 15:00. The receptionist asked that we sit on the couch for the next 8 minutes until 15:00. Luckily the manager on duty walked past at that time and told her that it was ridiculous as the room was ready etc. There was hardly anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We thank you for constructively reviewing the hotel and we assure you that we are looking into the matter promptly and that we take the points you highlighted very seriously. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to rectify these issues. Warm Regards Staff and Managment... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Really have a wonderfully relaxing time. Beautiful surroundings, lovely staff. I thought I'd lost my iPhone but an honest member of staff found it and handed it in, so that was really nice. It was our first couples massage, and it was really lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us. We are glad that you and your partner enjoyed our facilities and we are also glad that your phone was found! We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Sante Hotel Estate More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Winelands Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paarl

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay