We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grande Roche Hotel

#4 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grande Roche Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an excellent stay at the Grande Roche Hotel. The staff were very helpful, the food was very good and we would definitely recommend it. Having dinner on the terrace in the evening was particularly good. It was a nice experience to stay among the vineyards and the well tended gardens, watch out for the peacocks!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ashworth2016
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ashworth2016 We were so delighted to read that you had a relaxing evening with us at Bosman's restaurant. We take pride in the food we serve and we are very fortunate to be able to enjoy the view and surroundings on a daily basis. May you return to us in the future and enjoy the full experience again. Kind... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, but more importantly It has a lovely warm atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent, and they had an extensive selection of local wines with a good sommelier team to tell us all about them. Only negatives... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lily F
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lily F Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We would like to apologize for the water issue during your stay, but we hope that you have more happy memories than negative ones. We are pleased that you would recommend Bosman's restaurant as well as the Grande Roche Hotel. We... More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay booked at the hotel at peak season. The premises are as wonderful as they have ever been - hotel bungalows in the old cape style in the middle of a wine yard. The inside of the rooms (we saw two) are decorated nicely but in need of maintenance. The food in Bosman's restaurant (both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hardy K
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hardy K We were so delighted to read that you had a lovely experience with us at Bosman's restaurant. We take pride in the food we serve and we are very fortunate to be able to enjoy the view and surroundings on a daily basis. We are most disappointed that we failed to impress you with our accommodation. Your... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

First class service with a local flair. Staff all well trained, concentrating on even small aspects of attention and details. The restuarant manager involves herself in every detail of the running. This lovely lady even remembers what what ordered at each meal! Her staff cannot but follow her efficient footsteps. The location is central to Paarl, in amongst vines, under... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine C Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We are very fortunate to be able to enjoy the view and surroundings on a daily basis. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to experience peaceful Paarl. It is our passion that... More 

Reading, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Absolutely loved the location, the food, the hotel, the friendly and helpful staff and our wonderful suite on the outskirts of Paarl. Only reservation was the repeated questioning as to whether we were going to dine in the restaurant, almost as if there was a prize for the staff member that booked us a table. Could have understood it if... More 

Helpful?
Thank SFED
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SFED Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to experience peaceful Paarl. Your constructive criticism is much appreciated and we will use it to implement the necessary policies. It is our passion that our guest... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

Fantastic location, very friendly people, excellent food at Bosman restaurant, rooms are fine but need some more lighter and friendly colours, minibar fridge was not working (in all rooms) which is unacceptable for a ***** star hotel despite the excuse which was given

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maldag_480152
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maldag_480152 We were so delighted to read that you had a lovely experience with us at Bosman's restaurant. We take pride in the food we serve and we are very fortunate to be able to enjoy the view and surroundings on a daily basis. We are most disappointed that we failed to impress you with our accommodation. Your constructive... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location central for touring. The hotel has some really good restaurants in walking distance.  Check in was great as we did the whole process while sitting on the patio, sipping bubbly, and admiring the views of vineyards in front. room was nice and spacious. It had a separate living room with a separate bedroom.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hemz_SA
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hemz_SA Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had a chance to experience peaceful Paarl. It is our passion that our guest leaves the Winelands with forever positive memories. Kind regards, The Grande Roche Team More 

Costa Teguise, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We stayed their for four nights in a suite with private terrace. We must tell you, it was great! Excellent food, courteous staff. A perfect place to recharge your battery. The food is so good,one is tempted to eat there every day, but for that the menue is somewhat limited.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corinna S
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corinna S We were so pleased upon receiving your review of the Grande Roche Hotel & bosman's restaurant. It seems that you had a chance to enjoy the full five star experience. We trust that you left the Winelands with happy memories. Kind regards The Grande Roche Hotel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We took advantage of the special summer offer - lunch, (with a glass of wine) dinner, B&B. The room was as our last visit, superb with much attention to detail. The buffet breakfast heaven but we were really disappointed in the lunch and dinner menus. You could hardly tell them apart and so to have the same choice for both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polly D
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly D Thank you again for your kind words and your feedback on The Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's restaurant. We are most disappointed that we failed to deliver on our promise to impress. Your constructive criticism is much appreciated and we will use it to implement the necessary policies and procedures. It is our passion that guests leave... More 

Hamburg/Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We had two nights in Grande Roche only, but it's worth to stay longer ! We got an upgrade in a biger room with stairway to the sleeping room and large living room downstairs. Everything perfekt in this former slavery house. The Restaurant ist excellent and well known for the quality and hospetality and so it is. Breakfast at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claus
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claus, We were so pleased upon receiving your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. It seems that you had a chance to enjoy the full five star experience. We trust that you left the Winelands with happy memories. Kind regards The Grande Roche Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#7 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
13.8 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#3 of 9 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay