We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gumtree Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    72
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
179
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the cottage, which was great value,sleeping four of us in adjoining rooms with separate bathrooms. i was really impressed with the attention to detail in explaining everything about the room and breakfast. Linda went out of her way to fetch her cats for the children to pet and made us feel welcome. I loved the use of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gumtree Guest House is situated in the center of Outdshoorn, just a few steps away from Restaurants and Shops. The nice and clean rooms are situated in a beautiful garden with pool. Our host was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed in the evening a (complementary) glass of good wine . All in all a great place to stay for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portugal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

and it had everything we could have wished for - lovely room and bathroom, nice toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar. Lovely outside space to sit and relax, overlooking the gardens. Welcome drink on our first night in the bar (although we didn't avail as it was a sweet wine which we didn't fancy before dinner). Unfortunately Phil... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kaybee, Thank you for your positive review and comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants and Meerkats etc. We were sad to have missed you but we did enjoy our short break away after a very busy Summer season. Our practice is to provide guests with a delayed breakfast upon their return from visiting the... More 

Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately we could only stay one night as it is one of the nicest places we have stayed. Our room was quiet and very elegantly furnished. We received a welcoming drink, lots of travel advice and the breakfast was superb. A warm and very professional approach is taken by Linda and Phil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LONDON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Gumtree Guest House for one night during our garden route tour. The guest house is very cosy and close to restaurants. Phil and Linda were great hosts and were very helpful. Rooms were very spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was also delicious. There is a good Italian restaurant nearby which Phil recommended to us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The. hosts are certainly the best you will ever find. from the moment we entered the property we were made to feel welcome and at home. We received excellent advice on scenic routes and attractions in and around Oudtshoorn. At the end of a busy day drinks on the deck whilst watching the sunset is just perfect. Will definitely return.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked online after reading a few reviews, and thought this would be a good place to stay. We requested two rooms close by, and were very happy with the rooms we got, as they had a connecting door. We arrived in the late afternoon, but still in time to have a swim in the pool. The rooms were very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for two nights. The rooms seems not to be very old and are quite modern compared to what we have seen sofar after our 25 days in Afrika. The accomodations offers more then you can expect from a B&B guest house. A nice terrace, a swimming pool, a bar, free wifi a parking place, accessible via a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Gumtree Guesthouse for the last two nights of our three week trip to South Africa. The accommodation was superb but what made it really special was the friendliness of the owners - Phil and Linda. From the first phone call to book they provided helpful advice and while we were there they really helped us make the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
587 helpful votes 587 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We visited with friends and we stayed in two separate rooms. The rooms are very comfortable, neat, and spacious. We had everything we needed. The B&B location is fantastic, as it's only a couple of blocks from restaurants, shops and other interesting sights. Phil and Linda and lovely hosts and they made great recommendations regarding local restaurants, and also made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities