We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Town Palms

3.0 of 5 16 Elgin Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Town Palms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cape Town Palms
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Gauteng
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

3 star is definitely an exaggeration for this place, it is more relevant to rate it below a 1 star! The house was extremely filthy, kitchens cupboard doors falling off its hinges, the beds grimey, the carpets piled on with dirt and dust - it seems that the house is possibly only cleaned once a month. The room we stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I start, I have worked in hotel management for many years, and I am quite aware of the grading standards for various establishments, – so upon writing this review, I am in full knowledge of what is expected of a 3 star graded establishment. BOOKING I booked my accommodation via bookings.com as I always do... but bookings.com as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this B&B, that was during the peak days of Cape town Jazz festival. I booked for 5 nights, I did not mind the filthyness around the house outside my room atlist i had a comfortable clean room to come back to after partying. But after two days I received a call from home that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

we spent five days at this accommodation. the kitchen cupboards were filthy with pots dripping with blood stains. the toilets were horribly smelly. the pool was also dirty and the dogs were lingering around our kids all the time. we had no privacy as Brian and his friend were there every single day when we woke up in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is located at a very convenient location. The owner is hospitable and friendly. Unfortunately, the room's floor was a bit dirty. The scrambled eggs was great with a wide variety of fruit, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. Our apologies that our carpets, which happen to be wall to wall, were a bit dirty during your stay. We had a problem with the carpet cleaning company contracted to us due to the general bus strike in Cape Town. The carpets are now spotlessly clean again. More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was looking for reasonably priced accommodation close to where I had to be and in that sense it was good. To help to improve the experience for others these are my criticisms. The bathroom needs attention. Basins cracked, bath needed cleaning, 1 big bar of soap for shower basins and bath, no courtesy shampoo or conditioner, no air freshener,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have gone over all the points you mentioned and made changes as necessary to ensure future guests will not have similar complaints. Please feel free to visit us again safe in the knowledge that we will look after you in comfort. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My company recently had to make use of this Guesthouse for our JHB employees stay in Cape Town. Due to the season other accommodations were already fully booked and we had to settle for this one regardless of our urgency to obtain accommodation we were not expecting something as horrible as this place. Firstly on the virtual tour they show... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 60
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

It is strange that a person who, self-admittedly, did not stay here can make such a review. As far as food-stuff is concerned, yoghurt, cheese etc... The quality of our food products are always highest quality as well as fresh; quite rightly the expiry date is left open visually. We do not service the rooms unless the rooms have been... More

Italy
1 review
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to see Cape Town with some friends living in South Africa; it was my first time I visited South Africa; what beautiful country. Everything went well until the last days we booked Cape Town Palms via internet. My host was really embarrassed when we got there; I had not seen such a dirty accommodation in my life. Worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 59
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Please note that this is just another comment from the smear campaign last year! At least he admits that it was from that same time period! More

Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice owner and staff but the condition of the place are quite bad. The kitchen didn´t have full equipment for 6 persons not even beds for everyond. The garden and pool where not fully cleaned. Noicy place when other people stayed there and noone looked after the place so they had a party every night. The glas at our car... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Bath
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't believe some of the things people have said about this place. I stayed there in January 2013 and the stay was most enjoyable. I got the room I asked for, which was probably the best room in the place. As for someone saying there was a rat, I find that highly improbable. The owner has two dogs which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your review. We are striving to remove the stigma from some of these reviews we have received and have done our utmost to correct areas where we may have been lacking. It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cape Town Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Palms

Address: 16 Elgin Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Town Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Town Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Palms Milnerton

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay