We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Town Palms

16 Elgin Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Town Palms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    11
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Booked in after looking at pics on the Web, the pics don't look half bad. However, I have never in my stayed in such a dory place. I don't have the patience to retype what everyone here has commented, but I will say that as of the end of June, nothing has changed. Shocking would sum it up well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gauteng
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

3 star is definitely an exaggeration for this place, it is more relevant to rate it below a 1 star! The house was extremely filthy, kitchens cupboard doors falling off its hinges, the beds grimey, the carpets piled on with dirt and dust - it seems that the house is possibly only cleaned once a month. The room we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers are raving about these Milnerton hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Before I start, I have worked in hotel management for many years, and I am quite aware of the grading standards for various establishments, – so upon writing this review, I am in full knowledge of what is expected of a 3 star graded establishment. BOOKING I booked my accommodation via bookings.com as I always do... but bookings.com as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this B&B, that was during the peak days of Cape town Jazz festival. I booked for 5 nights, I did not mind the filthyness around the house outside my room atlist i had a comfortable clean room to come back to after partying. But after two days I received a call from home that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

we spent five days at this accommodation. the kitchen cupboards were filthy with pots dripping with blood stains. the toilets were horribly smelly. the pool was also dirty and the dogs were lingering around our kids all the time. we had no privacy as Brian and his friend were there every single day when we woke up in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The lodge is located at a very convenient location. The owner is hospitable and friendly. Unfortunately, the room's floor was a bit dirty. The scrambled eggs was great with a wide variety of fruit, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. Our apologies that our carpets, which happen to be wall to wall, were a bit dirty during your stay. We had a problem with the carpet cleaning company contracted to us due to the general bus strike in Cape Town. The carpets are now spotlessly clean again. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was looking for reasonably priced accommodation close to where I had to be and in that sense it was good. To help to improve the experience for others these are my criticisms. The bathroom needs attention. Basins cracked, bath needed cleaning, 1 big bar of soap for shower basins and bath, no courtesy shampoo or conditioner, no air freshener,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have gone over all the points you mentioned and made changes as necessary to ensure future guests will not have similar complaints. Please feel free to visit us again safe in the knowledge that we will look after you in comfort. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My company recently had to make use of this Guesthouse for our JHB employees stay in Cape Town. Due to the season other accommodations were already fully booked and we had to settle for this one regardless of our urgency to obtain accommodation we were not expecting something as horrible as this place. Firstly on the virtual tour they show... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

It is strange that a person who, self-admittedly, did not stay here can make such a review. As far as food-stuff is concerned, yoghurt, cheese etc... The quality of our food products are always highest quality as well as fresh; quite rightly the expiry date is left open visually. We do not service the rooms unless the rooms have been... More 

Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to see Cape Town with some friends living in South Africa; it was my first time I visited South Africa; what beautiful country. Everything went well until the last days we booked Cape Town Palms via internet. My host was really embarrassed when we got there; I had not seen such a dirty accommodation in my life. Worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Please note that this is just another comment from the smear campaign last year! At least he admits that it was from that same time period! More 

Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice owner and staff but the condition of the place are quite bad. The kitchen didn´t have full equipment for 6 persons not even beds for everyond. The garden and pool where not fully cleaned. Noicy place when other people stayed there and noone looked after the place so they had a party every night. The glas at our car... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milnerton hotels
0.5 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Leisure Bay Luxury Suites
Leisure Bay Luxury Suites
#4 of 5 in Milnerton
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Roche Guest House
La Roche Guest House
#3 of 23 in Milnerton
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodbridge Lodge
Woodbridge Lodge
#8 of 23 in Milnerton
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cotswold Guest House
Cotswold Guest House
#1 of 23 in Milnerton
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay