We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Milnerton B&Bs / inns

Cape Town Palms

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Elgin Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cape Town Palms to your Saves list
Cape Town Palms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
8%
Ranked #15 of 18 Milnerton B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (12)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this B&B, that was during the peak days of Cape town Jazz festival. I booked for 5 nights, I did not mind the filthyness around the house outside my room atlist i had a comfortable clean room to come back to after partying. But after two days I received a call from home that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

we spent five days at this accommodation. the kitchen cupboards were filthy with pots dripping with blood stains. the toilets were horribly smelly. the pool was also dirty and the dogs were lingering around our kids all the time. we had no privacy as Brian and his friend were there every single day when we woke up in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is located at a very convenient location. The owner is hospitable and friendly. Unfortunately, the room's floor was a bit dirty. The scrambled eggs was great with a wide variety of fruit, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. Our apologies that our carpets, which happen to be wall to wall, were a bit dirty during your stay. We had a problem with the carpet cleaning company contracted to us due to the general bus strike in Cape Town. The carpets are now spotlessly clean again. More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was looking for reasonably priced accommodation close to where I had to be and in that sense it was good. To help to improve the experience for others these are my criticisms. The bathroom needs attention. Basins cracked, bath needed cleaning, 1 big bar of soap for shower basins and bath, no courtesy shampoo or conditioner, no air freshener,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have gone over all the points you mentioned and made changes as necessary to ensure future guests will not have similar complaints. Please feel free to visit us again safe in the knowledge that we will look after you in comfort. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My company recently had to make use of this Guesthouse for our JHB employees stay in Cape Town. Due to the season other accommodations were already fully booked and we had to settle for this one regardless of our urgency to obtain accommodation we were not expecting something as horrible as this place. Firstly on the virtual tour they show... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 56
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

It is strange that a person who, self-admittedly, did not stay here can make such a review. As far as food-stuff is concerned, yoghurt, cheese etc... The quality of our food products are always highest quality as well as fresh; quite rightly the expiry date is left open visually. We do not service the rooms unless the rooms have been... More

Italy
1 review
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to see Cape Town with some friends living in South Africa; it was my first time I visited South Africa; what beautiful country. Everything went well until the last days we booked Cape Town Palms via internet. My host was really embarrassed when we got there; I had not seen such a dirty accommodation in my life. Worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 55
capetownpalms, Owner at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Please note that this is just another comment from the smear campaign last year! At least he admits that it was from that same time period! More

Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice owner and staff but the condition of the place are quite bad. The kitchen didn´t have full equipment for 6 persons not even beds for everyond. The garden and pool where not fully cleaned. Noicy place when other people stayed there and noone looked after the place so they had a party every night. The glas at our car... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Bath
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't believe some of the things people have said about this place. I stayed there in January 2013 and the stay was most enjoyable. I got the room I asked for, which was probably the best room in the place. As for someone saying there was a rat, I find that highly improbable. The owner has two dogs which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
capetownpalms, Manager at Cape Town Palms, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your review. We are striving to remove the stigma from some of these reviews we have received and have done our utmost to correct areas where we may have been lacking. It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Unfortunately I am also one of the victims of this accomodation. My family and I went there early this year. I had never seen such a dirty place in my life (as an accomodation). We just went inside for a few minutes. While the owner was proudly showing us d appartment I saw a rat passing through the kitchen!!! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 98
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed with friends at the Palms in february 2011. I have to check may 2011 below because the site does not allow me to go that far back. However since i only recently became aware that the Palms is reviewable, i feel i owe it to fellow travellers to share our story. Management can check that we did stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 105
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cape Town Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cape Town Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Palms

Address: 16 Elgin Road, Milnerton 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Town Palms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cape Town Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Palms Milnerton

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
!!! Recently graded a 3-Star Bed and Breakfast Establishment by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA)Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, this luxury villa is fully-equipped to cater for all your needs. Conveniently situated, Cape Town Palms is just a five minute walk to the beach and is close to all major shopping centres and restaurants.7 Magnificent en-suite rooms make this villa ideal for families, business people, and groups. The whole house is available for hire or you can take individual rooms. This is your home from home, your sports self catering accommodation.Whether your stay is business or pleasure, our suites are equipped to cater for your needs. Breakfast, Dinner, Spit-Braais, and Braais (barbecues) can be arranged on request or by prior arrangement, please feel free to enjoy our African cuisine and Continental breakfasts.We furthermore provide service excellence and efficiency in a warm homely atmosphere that will contribute to a positive guest experience! A Family Suite with full en-suite bathroom. Executive Business Suite with kitchen and seperate entrance. Honeymoon Suite with full en-suite bathroom. 2 x Business Suites with full en-suite bathroom. 2 x Twin Suites, one with seperate full bathroom the other en-suite. Open Plan gourmet kitchen fitted with fridge & freezer, oven and hob, microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer