We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 Knysna B&Bs / inns

Overmeer Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Overmeer Guest House to your Saves list
Overmeer Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #56 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Wolfgang S Munich, Germany
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had now been twice to Overmeer, and it is still stunning. The view from the balcony, spacey clean rooms, an excellent breakfast and the friendly staff are always worth a visit. Car parked inside under shade...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magny-le-Hongre, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a clean spacious and quiet room with a small patio overlooking the lagoon and the ocean. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed a good varied breakfast. Weather was such that we could eat out on the balcony. You need to have a car to go into town but it is just a 5' drive down the hill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wirral, england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice clean room, spacious bed, pleasant pool area..no aircon, but room had a fan. Good reasonably priced minibar, and excellent clothes washing service...downside for us was that the search engine we used had it as a town centre property, however its a good long downhill walk, and even longer back up!!! they do have a transfer service (charged) and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a luxurious, comfortable and private stay. The staff were friendly, yet professional. The rooms have a breathtaking view over Knysna lagoon and the private patio was the perfect place for watching a beautiful sunset. They served a wide variety of food for breakfast, everything was delicious. The guest house is clean, neat and well equipped and situated in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Accommodation was booked on our behalf by a relative, for our return journey along the Garden Route. Having not even seen a picture in a guide book, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, to be told we had been upgraded to a luxury room at no extra cost. The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked at Overmeer Guest House as the accommodation is advertised as 4-star.When we were showed our room, to our horror, it was not nearly 4-star. Our room, the owner told us when we phoned to complain, is not 4-star - it is not rated at all! This means it doesn't even qualify for 3-star and it wouldn't even qualify... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ludwig F, Owner at Overmeer Guest House, responded to this review

Your report states: “When we were shown to our room, TO OUR HORROR”…………and then follows all the allegations you make about the room and the owner. For what possible reason did it take you 12 hours to lodge a complaint if you were so horrified by the condition of the room ?? During the first 8 hours of your stay... More

Herzele, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The classic rooms are old, not very clean and noisy. The rooms in the main building might be better, but we didn't see them. The staff (reception) is absolutely not friendly (we felt like tourist X). Breakfast was poor as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A bit out of town but a lovely place up in the hills above Knysna. We had a luxury room and it was perfect. Spacious, with water views, a spa bath and pretty decor. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spent three nights and enjoyed three excellent breakfasts. Spectacular view from the window and the balcony of the very spacious bedroom. Was out of season and quiet (as was the whole town) but service was very good and friendly. What was also remarkable was the cleanliness of the room and the public areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for four days recently and it was the best accommodation we stayed at in a two week trip. The views are amazing, with large glass doors so you can always take them in. The staff are super efficient and always happy to help. There are lovely little touches, that you wouldn't expect from a guest house, breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overmeer Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.