We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

#12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Daphne A London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    83
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
147
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely place , we had a large family room with extra bed on mezzanine. Our friends room was tucked around the back and they had problems with the electrics in their room. Good value for money in a lovely area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean and beautiful views! Great place for a holiday even though it was a business trip. The surrounding area is breath-taking and allows you to relax while working. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Tersia D, Thank you very much for writing a lovely review for The Lofts. It is great hearing that you were happy with your stay with us and that you found our team helpful and friendly. We do look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Carla More 

Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we had an amazing stay at the Lofts whilst on honeymoon. The staff are so considerate and helpful. They had treats ready in the lobby for us when returning from dinner, they organized a canoe for us to go for a paddle, they put roses in our room as an extra gift and so much more. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Graeme T, Thank you for writing such a lovely review for The Lofts. It was really wonderful having you and your new wife stay with us on your honeymoon. We do try to make each guests visit unique and special with small touches. We hope to welcome you back every year for your anniversary. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique... More 

Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Nice location and well restored. The hotel's inside loods like a ship with gangways two the lofts. Everything is decorated in navy style. The room was fairly small, but the balcony was quite large with sunbeds. But still, the view over the rooftops , did not bring the feeling of the day at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Dick V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Each of our rooms have their own unique style and is decorated differently. It is unfortunate that the rectangular building has its short side facing the lagoon as I would love for all the rooms to have the beautiful lagoon views. However on your... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was reminiscing about our Garden Route holiday last year and realized that I never took the time to review this hotel. We stayed in a self catering unit, 2A Silver Lining, with our sons and it was perfect. The unit was comfortable and had everything we needed including great toiletries in the bathroom (Oh, the simple things which make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Sam P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our self-catering unit is great for a family. We try to have the basics available for our guests in the units so that they can prepare meals. Each person is used to all their creature comforts at home which we can unfortunately not put... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed the stay.There were 2 things that bugged me.During the weekend your prices dropped down to 900 per room,but we paid more or less 2000 a night and the mattress was really uncomfortable.Its old and needs to be replaced.Other then that,thank you very much !!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Francois B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. I believe you might have gotten confused with how we charge our guests at the hotel. The rate is based on a per person per night rate and therefore if you chose a self-catering unit you would have paid R 900.00 per person which... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location and venue - central to everything and staff efficient and friendly. Pity Il De Pain only opens at 08h00 and 09h00 (Sunday) for those who need to get going earlier! We stayed in Loft A1 which doesn't have much of a sea view and has a ladder to get up to the second room - this room is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Vanessa G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. It is good to know that our guests are happy with the service we do strive to be friendly and efficient in all aspects. Due to all our rooms being different and as we have 3 different room types we are able to cater... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our welcome was met by a lady so friendly..we were taken to this awesome room..a fridge stocked with drinks for your account and convenience,a balcony to relax on. lounges to chill..the rooms comfort and luxury made us feel we were on honeymoon and somewhere in Paris......romantic and yet subtle...I'll go back anytime or even right now if I could..a place... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Zanie D, Wow, you wrote such an amazing review and it is really appreciated. We would love to have you and your husband back for a visit soon! Have a wonderful evening, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team More 

george
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our weekend at The Lofts exceeded all expectations. The rooms was neat,clean and tidy. What impressed us most was how considerate and accommodating the staff was. My husband did a muddy mountain bike race and they did not stop him at the door to "hose off" first. The made him breakfast pack for his race and even asked his input... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear DianeJonker, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for The Lofts. We love adding special touches for our guests where we are able to and it is wonderful to know that you appreciated it so much. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband to The Lofts again soon. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Lofts Boutique hotel during our trip around the Garden route. The hotel is hoisted on stilts overlooking the lagoon that forms part of the Indian ocean on Thesens Island.The staff were professional and very helpful with tips about where to eat. The pool area is so serene and we spent time reading books and napping while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Muleya, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for The Lofts. It is always great to hear that guests made use of all the facilities available to them from the Honesty Bar to the swimming pool (which, as you mentioned, is perfect to laze around reading a book). We hope to welcome you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

178 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question