We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

#12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
rweisfe Toledo, OH
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    84
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
151
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Toledo, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Lofts is a renovated building where boats were built. The hotel shares space with shops on the lower level. The superior rooms feature the old beams, a large bathroom, and a spacious outside balcony. Despite it being a busy weekend, the rooms were quiet and comfortable. Be aware that this is a rather minimum service property with no staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear rweisfe, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear that you found that there was minimum service during your stay. Our reception is open from the morning at 7:00 until 21:00 and the team is always more than happy to assist our guests with everything. I do remember members of your group... More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Loft Suite, very friendly staff. Honesty bar was a bit limited and felt that it was a bit pricey. The price quoted the night we arrived and price charged next morning on check out was also different and more. But in general very pleasant stay stay in a luxury clean room. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Wilnaventer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear that you found the staff friendly and the rooms clean. This is very important for us. I am not sure why the price quoted is different from what was paid, we have a standard pricing structure and the entire team uses this and... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an enjoyable stay at at a well kept Boutique Hotel on the Lagoon water's edge, within walking distance of the Knysna waterfront. We enjoyed being able to choose where we had our breakfast and recommend Ile de pain and the Island Cafe at the Turbine Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear OliverMarnitz, Thanks for writing your review for The Lofts. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the Easter weekend. I hope you took advantage of the Easter Egg tree? We hope to welcome you back again soon. Have a great evening, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lagoon suites offer wonderful view onto the lagoon, especially for sunset (well worth the extra money),not all of them have balconies but big windows to the front that can be opened so not too much of a problem nice breakfast arrangement with ile de pain which is in the same street and offers great breakfast (and lunches) under trees

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Michaela H, Thanks for writing a review for The Lofts. Staying in one of the lagoon suites is amazing. Waking up when it's high tide feeling like your on your own island is a unique feeling. The lagoon suites offer you a great escape and there's nothing better than watching the sunset from your room or even from your... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place , we had a large family room with extra bed on mezzanine. Our friends room was tucked around the back and they had problems with the electrics in their room. Good value for money in a lovely area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Daphne A, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. It is always great to hear when guests enjoy their stay and that you feel you got value for your money. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Have a wonderful afternoon, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean and beautiful views! Great place for a holiday even though it was a business trip. The surrounding area is breath-taking and allows you to relax while working. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Tersia D, Thank you very much for writing a lovely review for The Lofts. It is great hearing that you were happy with your stay with us and that you found our team helpful and friendly. We do look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Carla More 

Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had an amazing stay at the Lofts whilst on honeymoon. The staff are so considerate and helpful. They had treats ready in the lobby for us when returning from dinner, they organized a canoe for us to go for a paddle, they put roses in our room as an extra gift and so much more. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Graeme T, Thank you for writing such a lovely review for The Lofts. It was really wonderful having you and your new wife stay with us on your honeymoon. We do try to make each guests visit unique and special with small touches. We hope to welcome you back every year for your anniversary. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique... More 

Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Nice location and well restored. The hotel's inside loods like a ship with gangways two the lofts. Everything is decorated in navy style. The room was fairly small, but the balcony was quite large with sunbeds. But still, the view over the rooftops , did not bring the feeling of the day at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Dick V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Each of our rooms have their own unique style and is decorated differently. It is unfortunate that the rectangular building has its short side facing the lagoon as I would love for all the rooms to have the beautiful lagoon views. However on your... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was reminiscing about our Garden Route holiday last year and realized that I never took the time to review this hotel. We stayed in a self catering unit, 2A Silver Lining, with our sons and it was perfect. The unit was comfortable and had everything we needed including great toiletries in the bathroom (Oh, the simple things which make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Sam P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our self-catering unit is great for a family. We try to have the basics available for our guests in the units so that they can prepare meals. Each person is used to all their creature comforts at home which we can unfortunately not put... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed the stay.There were 2 things that bugged me.During the weekend your prices dropped down to 900 per room,but we paid more or less 2000 a night and the mattress was really uncomfortable.Its old and needs to be replaced.Other then that,thank you very much !!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Francois B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. I believe you might have gotten confused with how we charge our guests at the hotel. The rate is based on a per person per night rate and therefore if you chose a self-catering unit you would have paid R 900.00 per person which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

178 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question