We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Knysna hotels

Knysna Hollow

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Knysna Hollow to your Saves list
Knysna Hollow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
81%
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Knysna
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ivone P Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (251)
  • Photos (135)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    117
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely property. I love the way the rooms are situated around the pools. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the bed was super comfy. Breakfast and dinner were also very nice. Definitely a place I'd go back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all tremendously happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa. With very warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in July 2014.The staff were friendly and helpful. The little pavillion we stayed in was very quaint and picturesque but needed heating in the bathroom. Security were on hand to watch the car park overnight which was comforting. Located near plenty of activities provided you had a car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay with us and we are all very happy to hear that your enjoyed your time at Knysna Hollow. Hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon! With warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow team. More

Montréal, Québec
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

we stayed at this resort one night last May; we really enjoyed our stay; we were lodged in a small pavillion near the pool; very large room and bathroom, very comfortable; we also enjoyed our supper at the restaurant (excellent springbok feuilleté); everything was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. It's always a pleasure for us to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. With warm regards from Clive and all at Knysna Hollow. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel. Hotel was nice with pretty garden and pool. OK location, provided you have a car, since it is at the outskirts of Knysna. Room was OK but a bit old, however clean. We were amazed about the double shower (see photo) encompassing two persons with each their shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. With warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More

Jeffrey's Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thank you for your friendly staff and efficient service, Rooms are confortable and have all you need for a nice stay. I would just suggest to have an extra blanket on cold weather. Thank you , we had a nice family stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for letting us know about your recent stay with us over the Knysna Oyster Festival and we are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us over this festive period. Hope to see you all again next year! Warm regards from Clive and the Knysna Holllow Team. More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the midrange rooms, the heaters were on but didn't heat the room and the smell of damp was awful, hit you as soon as you opened the door. Walls also seem to be paper thin, at midnight you can still hear others talking, laughing and watching tv from your bed! Oddly there also seem to be two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are obviously disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We would have loved to offer you the option of another room type or category and to try and rectify any issues you had with your room... More

South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed over just for a night, on the trip back from CPT to JHB. I tried getting accomodation in a few places but was not successful as most of them wanted a min of 2 nights stay. The reception at Knysna Hollow was so efficient, they assisted me within minutes. When we arrived, we were surprised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your overnight stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all very happy to hear that we could accommodate you on your trip and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. With best regards from... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room is spacious but the setting is average. The TV is old and only a few English channels available. The bathroom is quite dated. There is a pool just outside of our villas but I didn't see anyone usingit. The restaurant serves fine food in a very classy and warm surroundings. The food is yummy and the price is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We're sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations but are very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us in our restaurant. Thank you again for the proactive feedback and all the best from Clive and all... More

Billericay
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here as part of a Riviera Tour for 2 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was similar to other Hollow Hotel we stayed at in Hazy View. It was rustic cane furniture but very clean and comfortable. The meals and breakfast we had were excellent. They have a strange numbering system for the rooms and our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at Knysna Hollow - we are all glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and trust that you had a safe trip back home. Thanks once again and best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More

Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were booked into this property by our travel agent and since we were travelling by hire car we did not mind that it was well outside Knysna township. It looked to be a nicely kept establishment, with pleasant internal views, however it did not match up to the description provided by our agent. Points in favour were the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff and are obviously disappointed about the disturbances you experienced from guests, staff and traffic noise during your stay. We do our best to try and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Knysna Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Knysna Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knysna Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Knysna with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just outside the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Hollow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer