We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Knysna accommodations

Lake Pleasant Living

5.0 of 5 Villa   |   N2 between Knysna & Sedgefield, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lake Pleasant Living to your Saves list
Lake Pleasant Living
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014
margaret_mc15 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have never been so disappointed with a hotel as I was with Lake Pleasant Living. Firstly, this hotel is NOT in Knysna, so don't be fooled. Prior to arriving, I had booked various restaurants for lunch and dinner in the main town, only to discover that it would take 20- 25 minutes driving on the freeway to even reach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After very unfriendly and unwelcoming reception we were fortunate to be given the penthouse suite for our 2 week stay which exceeded our expectations. We were a little disappointed with lack of activities on site as we had been given the impression that walks, cycling, fishing, boating etc were available. The staff when we had any dealings with them were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a lovely surprise on our doorstep. Very well equipped suite. The staff really friendly and helpful. We had some awesome treatments at the Spa. As we were exhausted after very busy Holiday Season, it suited us perfectly to relax and recharge. Will explore the Lake and beach next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to "recharge" the batteries. We look forward to having you back so that you may enjoy the other facilities in and around our property. Until next time. More

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were given the penthouse which was enormous and beautifully equipped (there were 3 of us) and felt almost overwhelmed by our suite. Facilities everywhere were good but there were no or not many other guests. Lake Pleasant is way out of Knysna and we opted to eat at the hotel but there was no atmosphere and no people -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear DesH, Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the time guests take to do this, as we would like potential guests to have an all rounded view to base their pending decision upon. As a previous reviewed stated, we are very centrally situated to explore all there is to see along the Garden Route, which is what we... More

Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed here with my family in November 2013. The accommodation was enormous. We were two adults and three teenage kids and they required us to book two suites. We could have made do with one suite the space was so large. The setting on the lake was beautiful and relaxing. Just what you need after a days sightseeing. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the surrounding area to be equally enjoyable. We pride ourselves as being centrally situated along the Garden Route, which makes exploring that much more convenient. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip. Kind regards from the LPL... More

London UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If it were possible to give half stars I would say that this hotel merited just two and a half. To be fair from the outset, I have to say that we just didn't like this place. There was nothing fundamentally wrong with it, but the whole complex had a dark and dingy feel about it and we just felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

We thank the guest for his review, as we thanked him for his participation in our guest survey. We understand that guests view properties differently and that we will receive reviews below the bench mark we set ourselves. Some issues are avoidable and some, which are out of our control, are not. Fortunately the statistics speak for themselves. We regret... More

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The suites at this resort are huge. The bed was big enough to sleep 2 adults, 2 kids and the family dogs (not that we did this of course!). The grounds are lovely as is the setting next to the lake. It's only a kilometer or so from Sedgefield where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. This resort, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate the feedback and any constructive criticism. Your comments regarding the food was disappointing, as this is not normally the case, but it shall be looked into dealt with accordingly. As you mentioned, the pool around the Spa is not child friendly as we do not want... More

Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have visited this restaurant several times and always had a pleasant experience but this is the first time I am reviewing it. We have visited twice this week: the first occasion we had the full buffet at breakfast which offered excellent value for money. Today we returned for breakfast but as we arrived quite late we decided against the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear Coleen M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Bistro. We are so glad you have enjoyed your breakfasts with us and we trust that we will host you many more to come. Kind regards, the LPL Team More

Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently, food shockingly bad, dining area filthy, never cleaned during our stay. Tin roof over our so called veranda (hardly 5 star). Guests from a tour group totally took over the hotel, who were rude and loud in dining area and rooms. Best was trying to pay the bill and being told by the MANAGER he had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate the participation, so long as the criticism is constructive. It is with regret that your stay with us was marred by the quality of the food you experienced and the incident of the shortage of change. This is certainly not the norm, as other reviews will confirm. However, we have... More

Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at Lake Pleasant Living Hotel. Every time it is just wonderful! The accommodation is superb! The restaurant serves delicious food - at wonderful value for money! The hake & chips as always is a winner. The seafood platter is an absolute MUST for fish lovers - and is EXCELLENT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this review

Dear Marliese, Thank you kindly for taking the time to submit your review. It is always a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next trip. May you have a wonderful festive season and may 2014 bring you all you wish for. Have a safe passage wherever you may be travelling. More

Been to Lake Pleasant Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pleasant Living

Also Known As:
Lake Pleasant Living Hotel Knysna
Lake Pleasant Living Hotel
Address: N2 between Knysna & Sedgefield, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Specialty lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Pleasant Living 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Garden Route, a panoramic region idyllically placed between the Indian Ocean & the Outeniqua & Tsitsikamma mountains, is home to Lake Pleasant Living Exclusive Holiday Suites in the Knysna district. This charming property, built on the edge of one of the few natural freshwater lakes in the southern hemisphere, is a serene retreat set in the picturesque Goukamma Nature & Marine Reserve. Welcome to Lake Pleasant Living where the discerning traveller will find superb facilities in tranquil surrounds. Enjoy Lake Pleasant as a holiday destination to stay or a lifestyle investment to buy. More than a hotel room, our spacious suites & villas are equipped with all the modern conveniences. Experience ‘lifestyle living’ & not merely just a room to overnight." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lake Pleasant Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Pleasant Living, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.