We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

4.0 of 5 Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    206
    68
    10
    12
See reviews for
93
187
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (421)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The best thing about this hotel is that it is situated right on the waterfront. In this respect it is perfect as you can wander around the quay or into Knysna if you want to. You can explore the wider area with ease and we went to Knysna Heads, Buffalo Bay and Plettenberg which are all within easy reach during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Set on the waterfront quays at Knysna, the location was great. However this was as as good as it got. The rooms had all the charm of a prefabricated motel. Clean and functional but not somewhere you would want to stay. The breakfast area was understaffed, dark and dingy and the service awful. We were on honeymoon, it was clear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Rodger W Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. As per our discussion at the hotel, we were never informed by the booking agent that you were travelling on honeymoon. This is a very unfortunate incident... More 

Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed at this hotel in the last week of December. Location is perfect - right on the Knysna waterfront, with direct access from the hotel. The rooms were comfortable, although a little tiny. There's great food options right at the waterfront. But make sure to book a table in advance as they were all full for dinner both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear iamruch, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and we wish to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary. As you stated in your review, we highly recommend making a reservation when you wish to have lunch/dinner... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period and were very impressed with it's position - right on the Knysna waterfront with direct access from the hotel. The modern architecture of the Reception and staircase was most unusual and the breakfasts were good. The staff were very helpful and the bedroom and en-suite were modern, clean and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear JatLP, Thank you for taking the valuable time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were helpful to you during your stay and that you were impressed with the room that you stayed in. We apologise for the congestion throughout the holidays, as this is our peak season and our restaurant can... More 

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is a must stay if you are at Knysna. Hotel is with so many activities around like restaurants, Pubs, Water sports & shopping. Person going to Knysna have to go to Waterfront and this is where the hotel is. Hotel just serve breakfast and rest can be arranged at your doorstep from food joints attached to it. Hotel also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay1905, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review, by stating your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were cooperative and helpful, as your commendations are truly highly valued. I will ensure that the STAFF will be congratulated on their... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel is nice situated on the waterfront staff are friendly. The only problem you will encounter is parking as hotel parking is not free and was full at time of stay. Rooms are nice and clean. Had a room harbour facing which was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Rehina R, Thank you very much for taking the valuable time to review our property. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should... More 

South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

️Soon arrival in my room I discovered that the bar fridge was leaking , the air conditioning made an extremely loud rattling noise and the finishes in the bathroom were old and quite dirty. We complained and were upgraded to the refurbished rooms which were almost identical to the rooms we had been in before. On our last day we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Louise T, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the discomfort that you experienced during your stay here with us. Upon your first complaint regarding the first room, we initially moved you to a much better room and was assured that you were satisfied, however we... More 

Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

on arrival, on finding that our room overlooked the car park and not the waterfront we "upgraded" paying 300 rand per night. Unfortunately we were not the only ones in the room! cockroaches were also occupying the bathroom. On reporting this the following morning we were given a can of Doom! We did not like Knysna at all, finding it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Dawn C Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I have also received your GUEST comment card that you completed during your stay with us. We are extremely saddened that our town did not meet your expectations. Knysna is known as one of South Africa’s favourite holiday destinations and a very popular choice amongst tourists. We sincerely apologise for... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is very nicely located, right at the waterfront, all the staff is really friendly and attentive, rooms and beds are comfortable, the breakfast has a wide range of choices. I wish the weather had been better, though, which made me lazy coupled with the comfortable bed and duvet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Vanderlei N Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. We sincerely hope that the weather treated you well on the rest of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Just arrived at 5 pm and no pillow cases as laundry hasn't been. Room on the back over noisy car park. Children's room has a really awful smell only here one night thankfully. Off to have moan and see if we can get new rooms on pillow cases. Not what you need really after an 8 hour drive. Moaned and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear MCRSW18 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us. I wish to confirm that I have personally followed up on your comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Knysna
#10 Family Hotel in Knysna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay