We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Share an Experience

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    213
    74
    10
    13
See reviews for
100
198
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (445)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had Avery good room in this hotel with good views of the harbour and lagoon. A very comfortable room, very clean but the air con was a bit noisy. A good breakfast, and handy for shops, restaurants and boat trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Pam D, Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly hope that we will have the privilege of accommodating you again. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us and your comment... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid this hotel if you need good access to the internet. Staff blamed poor access in Knysna generally for the poor access to the internet which is rubbish. Neighbouring restaurants and cafes had far better and more consistent access to the internet. Hotel needs to upgrade its facilities

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear mikut276, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. What our STAFF failed to communicate with you,is that we and are awaiting feedback from the relevant company assisting us with the problem.... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Woke up on Sunday 15th March to find the hotel had no water . Not a municipality issue but an in house hotel issue . Tourists were wondering around full of soap in bathrobes and there was no communication from management , chaos prevailed . We booked out without being able to shower . This all on top of being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Superswede65 Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced. As per our telephone conversation, there was a problem with our water system. The problem was rectified within an hour and I can assure you that this was an isolated incident. Thank you for taking the... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first time here and I wasn't disappointed. One of the best locations for a hotel, it's a stone throw to the many good restaurants in the waterfront. The only negative report is, parking on the property. All the middle size tour vans park with their trailers and take up all the space, leaving the average guest to park on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Trenga-Steve, Thank you very much for taking the valuable time to review our property after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we certainly appreciate it. It is our service vision to not only meet, but exceed our GUESTS expectations with each arrival. I need to apologise for the parking of the relevant... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms was ok but no balcony to sit out on. For the price it was ok. Nice pool. No restaurant (except for breakfast) but several local to choose from less than a minute away. Mostly serving fried fish :( My preference was to eat in the nearby (15 min walk) Thesen Island restaurants which are a bit more up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Websteratwork, Thank you very much for reviewing Protea Hotel Knysna Quays after your recent stay with us. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Through no fault of this hotel we spent 3 nights here for our honeymoon (travel agent holds most responsibility!) Hotel was listed as 4 star but much closer to a 3. Not quite what we were expecting as a honeymoon couple our room was very average, we were sold on a lagoon view which sounds very romantic except we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear gilly1985oha, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your stay with us earlier this year. We apologise that we could not meet your expectations, however we rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely... More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This gorgeous ship themed hotel is in a perfect location next to Knysna waterfront where there are number of fabulous restaurants and shops. The rooms are comfortable and mine had a great lagoon view. Air conditioning was a little noisy but I found that my room stayed cool enough not to need it during the night. The lobby was furnished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Heather12345672, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job throughout your stay. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are... More 

England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night and paid for a lagoon view, which was a complete waste of money. We had a room located on the ground floor which looked out onto a tree and could barely see the harbour or lagoon. There were no balconies so even if you did have a view, you couldn't sit out and enjoy it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear BargainSpotter, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay with us. We apologise that we could not meet your expectations with regards to your room allocation. I would like to implement a full investigation on this matter, so would you be as kind, as to forward your complaint directly to... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very average hotel! Average rooms, average facilities, average, but not particularly friendly service. It is well located right on the Knysna Quays with easy access to all the quayside dining facilities, some of which are excellent (but most of which need to be booked in advance in season.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Keith L, Thank you for completing a online review after your recent stay with us. I do apologise that you did not experience the friendly service which we are known for, as this is not the normal high standard which we promise our GUESTS during every stay. However, thank you for your input, as we rely on GUEST feedback... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed for two nights in a lagoon view room. Hotel is very modern spotlessly clean and a very nice room. Easy stroll to the waterfront with numerous restaurants and shops. The hotel breakfast was very very good with plenty of selection including a pancake making machine. The staff were professional helpful and knowledgeable. Plenty of car parking in the shade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear viviencockburn, Thank you very much for reviewing our property after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient throughout your stay. Your commendations of our TEAM are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job! GUEST feedback is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question