We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    216
    78
    10
    13
See reviews for
102
203
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
Moulsford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed here a couple of times and enjoyed it both times. Being so close to shops and restaurants is a big plus point. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Does get used for school tour groups during July and August.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as part of a garden route trip. The location overlooking the quay is fantastic, unfortunately our room did not overlook this but you cannot have everything! The room was a bit bland, but perfectly satisfactory. The staff were friendly, and the buffet breakfast is nice, however coffee and tea service was slow. No lunch or evening meal available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Simon K, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on Garden Route tour having stayed at 4/5 star hotels on the way and we were disappointed in comparison. Basic hotel; rooms clean, noisy air-con unit, wifi in lobby only, noisy corridors but great views of lagoon and good breakfast! Not much to do in Knysna at end of summer season, especially in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Sarah G, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay in April. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We apologise if we could not meet all of your expectations, however we appreciate the positive comments given.... More 

Worcester, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. Even though it is my favourite place to stay whenever we pass here - it was the first time that we had beautiful weather. The rooms are comfortable and we had a beautiful view overlooking the quays. Great breakfast in the hotel and lots of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Veronica M, Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST comment card and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we... More 

London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a big tour with lots of boutique hotels of no more than eight rooms, all giving top class food, service, balconies (see later) and five star care. This is a big hotel which has lots of coach parties, half of the room look onto the lagoon (our's did) and the others onto the car park. All of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Mike G, Thank you very much for your comments of our property after your recent group stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location on the waterfront in Knysna. Its a good quality hotel with nice staff and its own pool. Its unusual in not having a dining room for lunch/dinner but it has a very clever arrangement with 4 really good restaurants in the Quays which allows you to dine in these and charge the bill to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thank you very much for your comments of our property after your recent stay with us in March 2015. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please... More 

England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here ahead of our wedding at Knysna elephant park. The staff were very attentive and they all knew that my husband and I were soon to be married- nice touch. What was lovely was that the day after our wedding when we checked back in, the staff had decorated our room with petals and gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetosmile, Thank you very much for taking the valuable time to review our property after you and your family's stay here with us. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of them are highly valued and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at Protea Knysna quays on our way to Port Elizabeth and one night on our way back to Cape Town. The atmosphere at the hotel is lively and all staff members are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent with quite a variety to choose from. Beds are extremely comfortable, rooms are thoroughly cleaned by staff. Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent return stay. We cannot describe how happy we are, knowing that you enjoy staying at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, therefore being your home away from home. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had Avery good room in this hotel with good views of the harbour and lagoon. A very comfortable room, very clean but the air con was a bit noisy. A good breakfast, and handy for shops, restaurants and boat trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Pam D, Thank you for your words of appreciation on the online review that you completed after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly hope that we will have the privilege of accommodating you again. Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us and your comment... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avoid this hotel if you need good access to the internet. Staff blamed poor access in Knysna generally for the poor access to the internet which is rubbish. Neighbouring restaurants and cafes had far better and more consistent access to the internet. Hotel needs to upgrade its facilities

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear mikut276, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. What our STAFF failed to communicate with you,is that we and are awaiting feedback from the relevant company assisting us with the problem.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question