We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knysna Riverside Lodge

5 Phantom Pass Road, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knysna Riverside Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Knysna Riverside Lodge
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Knysna Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a very friendly place with an excellent restaurant and beautiful views. The owners are very helpful with recommendations of things to do. We really enjoyed a two night stay and would definitely go back. Good Value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a stay nowhere to go and arrived at this fantastic venue.The place was fully booked and still Daleen (owner) made a plan to accomodate us.The Gieter restuarant made unbelievible food and they made us felt like we have been friends since wat back then.If you don't stay here you making a big mistake it was "lekker". See you soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mumbai
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

spent 2 nights before travelling to Capetown, regret could have stayed for more nights and njoy the nearby hiking trails or walk/jog by the waterside. Its just a km or two from the town center. Though there are plenty option near the town center, this one and the Phantom Lodge are perfect to be yet away from the cars and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Phone booking on Saturday for 3 nights from Monday but on leaving they said I had booked for 5 nights, and if I had wanted fewer I had to give a month’s notice! The manager would not come and argue with me but sent a message via his parents that he would refund R600 (1 night) and that was all.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hannes B, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

HI I was very surprised to read this review, as you had in fact booked for five nights, as opposed to three. You signed a check-in form for the five nights and even paid in full for the five nights on check-in. Also, under our cancellation policy, we do not provide refunds for early departures (which is industry standard). However,... More

Holon, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I came here as part of my 3 weeks trip around SA with my girlfriend. the hospitality shown by the hosts was very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. the room we took was beautiful and comfy that gave us privacy and comfort as much as we needed. And of course, nice view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the most awsome ''mini-vacation" that I had ever been on. A good few months ago, I had purchased vouchers(Groupon) for friends of mine who were going up to Knysna for a motor rally. I was supposed to have joined them but some work-related obligation popped up so I had to give it a miss. He had however asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Secunda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent two nights at the Knysna Riverside Lodge mid-September (thanks to Groupon!). A lovely place, situated in quiet, beautiful surroundings where there were many birds. Close to Knysna and Sedgefield. The reception and general service was excellent, and the meals we enjoyed at their restaurant, Die Gieter, were out of this world. One small glitch - for some reason or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arived at the lodge on the 20th august 2012 and stayed over for three nights.As we arrived there i was greeted by madeline and daleen of the riverside lodge. After a stressful journey me and my girlfriend where given the key to our room by madeline and made me and my girlfriend feel very welcome.Our room was to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have spent a lovely one night in this lodge. The people are very friendly, the accomodation was perfect and reasonably priced. The food in the restaurant 'Die Gieter' was absolute delicious and the restaurant has a very interesting interior. The views on the lake are splendid from the lodge. We will definitely come back when we are in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stumbled upon Knysna Riverside Lodge but what a beautiful lodge and wonderful experience! The owners, Johann and Daleen, along with Johann's parents, Johann and Madeline, were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Knysna Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Riverside Lodge

Address: 5 Phantom Pass Road, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Knysna Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay