We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Knysna hotels

The Rex Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
The Rex Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
garyrichards2015 Bloemfontein, South Africa
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
52
94
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited the Rex on a 4 day trip to Knysna.Having stayed here 3 years ago on our honeymoon we were looking forward to revisiting. Booked a luxury suite which consisted of a living area..small kitchenette and bedroom with shower and bath. Check in went smoothly and receptionist was all smiles. Room was actually lovely...nice and spacious for family. Then we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon's Bay
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is great, we stayed on the second floor and had plenty of space. Large bedroom, great shower and a very nice bath. It also had a kitchenette with all the amenities, and is centrally located with lots of parking space. However the breakfast is of very poor quality. For 3 days we had the very same things to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KazHans, Thank you for your review as we value all comments received. My sincere apologies for the service you had experienced in our restaurant. I can assure you that this is not the standard or quality that we offer our guests. I will most certainly address your issues immediately as this is totally unacceptable. While it is difficult to... More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great rooms , friendly staff and what a scene looking out your window! Room is spacious and has everything for a short stay as well as a good long holiday. The central position to nearby restaurants makes this an absolute gem and well done the owners!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear garyrichards2015, Many thanks for completing a review. The positive feedback motivates us to do our utmost best in achieving guest satisfaction at all times. I will most certainly pass your comments onto the owners. We look forward to welcoming you back to “The Gem” in Knysna. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiance and i were at room 211 of the Rex hotel. The room was perfect. The evening staff were helpful. Diana and the manger - the next day - could have been more helpful and urgent with arranging and confirming my airport transfer. They lacked attention to detail, i constantly had to follow up and manager told me they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Olie K, Thank you for completing a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However with regards to the transfer, as explained on departure - we unfortunately could not get hold of Jonas as his cell phone was off and the rest of the other companies was not available. We eventually did... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel in Knysna, well-located, within a walking distance to the waterfront and the main street. Our room was more like an apartment than a hotel room - very large, with living / dining room, kitchen and bedroom / bathroom. My only complaint: the strong odor from the toilet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fernando H, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the odour, I am happy to advise that this has been resolved. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel in the not too distant future. Yours Sincerely,... More 

Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

There are 2 types of rooms. One is huge with a living room, dining table, 2 or 3 bathrooms and 2 or 3 rooms. The other one is tiny, has 1 bed and the "bathroom" has absolutely NO PRIVACY. The WC only has a window door, while the tub is just in front of the bed. Besides, THERE IS NO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Karinawf, My sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. The room you had booked, paid for and stayed in was a standard room. Unfortunately the two bedroom apartment was the only other room type available and that was at an extra cost. I am happy to advise that we have improved our breakfast offering. Your... More 

Veghel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Stayed here as part of a trip through South-Africa. The rooms/apartments are large (2-3 times as big as your average hotel-room) and have luxurious furnishings.. In the apartment I stayed in the living room was furnished with a couch, a large 6-seating dining table, flat-screen tv, international power outlets and a kitchenette with everything you need for a simple meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Leon B, Many thanks for writing a review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The positive feedback is greatly appreciated as we strive at all times to maintain our standards. Guest service is of utmost importance to us. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Goiania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The room is big and clean as well. But I really don´t know they a 4 stars hotel. I´ve traveled a lot. Just in this trip at South Africa I´ve been at 07 different hotels, while safari and driving by garden route. And the breakfast is the worst that I´ve already seen in my all life. Looks like a HOSTEL´s... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TeoBrandao, Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we value all comments received. I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with our breakfast but can assure you that I will re-look at it. Unfortunately I am unable to change the bathroom as it was designed that way. We do hope that you will... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The 1 bedroom suite was luxurious and spacious. The Staff were always friendly and willing to assist. The Rex hotel is located walking distance from the waterfront. The only thing that was a hit and miss for us was the breakfast. On two occasions the buffet had run out of items, and the turn around time to refill the items... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darryl W, Many thanks for your kind words as we as your comments. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. My sincere apologies for the service you have received in the restaurant – I can assure you that this matter is not the norm and will be dealt with in a very serious... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Lovely apartment with large sunny balcony and classy furnishings. Very helpful staff who organised a whale watching trip and take out breakfast for us. Good location for restaurants and within walking distance of the waterfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise B, Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the service has met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay