We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rex Hotel

8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rex Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    114
    87
    18
    15
    8
See reviews for
64
124
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There is something very unique about this hotel1! The art and decor is beautiful! Unfortunately I think we were in the tiniest room they had :( The staff was very nice and the rooms was lovely but as I mentioned- it was very very tight! Beds comfy and breakfast was delicious! Great location for exploring the dock!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ScubaSweeney, Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at The Rex for 2 nights in August 2015. The room fullfilled all our expectations, it had a big kitchen where we could cook our own meals, a living room with a comfy sofa and a big bed. The hotel is just a few metres from the Knysna waterfront and it's only a little walk from the shops... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beth761, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Rex Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, in the not too distant future. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely peaceful place, world class, very professional, manager Masuda Muhammed went an extra mile to assist me, excellent service from both management and staff, lovely views from the balcony, great entertainment, and well kept, will book in again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kesh J, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was only my pleasure to have been able to assist you and I am happy that the staff also contributed in making your stay enjoyable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only had time to stay one night but after a long drive, the stay at the Rex was very much appreciated. The added touch of bubbles for our honeymoon was a thoughtful touch. The suite was huge with a separate lounge/ diner from the bedroom. The TV had lots of choice and the beds were comfy. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JDeGregorio, Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our spacious rooms allow our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is nicely situated between the Knysna Waterfront and the main street and both are within walking distance. The rooms are very nice and luxurious. Breakfast is good but be warned they don't serve lunch nor dinner. This is not problem because the Waterfront has very nice resturants. I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mstt659, Many thanks for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Breakfast, we are open for lunch but not for dinner. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had walked into the hotel with no prior booking and the staff was friendly and helpful he showed us the suites they have available. We were booked in and settled within no time. It was a very pleasant and I would definitely recommend it. The rooms were neat and clean,no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Na-ila A, Many thanks for sharing your experience at The Rex Hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at The Rex except that the room had no shower. We were then told that all Standard rooms don't have showers and immediately requested a room with a shower, which was only available on the second night. Other than that, we enjoyed the stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan P, Many thanks for writing a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
246 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located close to waterfront, Outstanding room really enjoyed our two nights stay. Breakfast was decent. The bathroom was also of good size and overhead shower was wonderful. Beds were nice and comfortable. The view was also nice from the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nareshm, Many thanks for your feedback. We value all comments received. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rex Hotel. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second visit to the Rex Hotel. This hotel will always be part of my favourite picks for Knysna, due to the proximity to the waterfront. It is within walking distance of the waterfront. I booked a suite, The room is very well equipped, with an experience of comfort exceeding my expectation. The check in and check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darryl W, Many thanks for sharing your experience at The Rex Hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we strive for guest satisfaction at all times, I am happy to hear that we have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our “home away from... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Near waterfront of knysana nice suite but i don't like wifi it is limited for 200 MB per should be unlimited wifi but staff it's friendly & helpful It will be best if offer unlimited wifi Reception it small weather is cold Need jacket .. It average hotel for need

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emtinan A, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Rex Hotel. I will forward your comments to the owners for consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Garden Route. Yours Sincerely, Masuda Mohamed More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
136.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna
Premier Hotel Knysna
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.1 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#15 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay