We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bamboo the Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    65
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
78
169
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a lovely place, so well looked after and the staff were great - very friendly and helpful! The food was good and the room were extremely clean. The shower was life changing and the bed was super comfortable. We will definitely be back !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for that wonderful review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your saty with us and we are happy to help wherever we can. We do hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, the Bamboo Family More

Neerpelt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by agreeing with other reviewers that the grounds are beautiful and the staff very helpful, athough in the case of Granny, also difficult to get rid of. Quirkiness though, does not a great stay make... Let's start with the beginning: Parking is awkward, the paths to the rooms / cottages area difficult to manage whith luggage, although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night of our honeymoon & were very well looked after by the friendly team. All of the lodges are located off of decked walks and surrounded by little gardens and water features. Our lodge even had it's very own private pool! There was a power cut in Knysna on the night we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thanks for that wonderful review, the only nice thing about our load shedding is that it brings everyone together in bar, we are glad you were here to enjoy it. Granny says thank you and sends all her love. We do hope to see you soon. Warmest regards, the Bamboo Family More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A comfortable and out of the ordinary B&B. Our room was clean and comfortable, while the whole property is a little like walking into the Jungle Book. Wonderful tropical plants, birds, streams and ponds with a boardwalk meandering through it all. Our hostess was friendly and served a tasty breakfast. We'd stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day our Friendly Canadians. Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are here to make sure you enjoy every aspect of your stay. Warmest regards the Bamboo Family Cally More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a beautiful room (the Loft Suite) which felt a bit like a treehut in the middle of a lush jungle, but then a bit more luxurious. The room was huge, we were missing a shower curtain though, but for us that was no problem (we didn't report it to management). Breakfast was good. The staff is very friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Laurens Many thanks for that wonderful review, we are so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and promise to look into the shower curtain. Granny is our rock here and she sends her love. We do hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, from the Bamboo Family More

santa monica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gorgeous place. Fantastic artwork and beautifully decorated rooms. Terrifically friendly owners. Made special vegan meal for me which was sumptuous. This definitely is the highlight of my trip and worth the travel from Los Angeles. Hope to come back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thanks for that wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and it was a great pleasure serving you, your vegan meal. We do aim to please. Hope to see you again one day soon. Warmest regards the Bamboo Family More

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very special B&B. The garden is a mini rain forest but gives the impression of negligence. Furniture at the swimming pool was in very bad shape and the standard room & bathroom in particular are very basic, difficult to find a place to put your luggage. A very good breakfast and a very kind lady owner of the B&B... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely words regarding your enjoyment of our Guesthouse and staff, at the end of the day this is what we strive to accomplish. Our jungle of a garden is tendered daily by 2 designated staff who endeavor to maintain without sacrifice our tropical jungle - we do not claim to have a stylized or English country... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We had a great time at Bamboo. The owners were very welcoming and had lots of advice and recommendations. The room was quiant and cosy, and cleaned regularly. They have fun loving animals around the property and the breakfast was always delicious and plenty for seconds. You definitely need a car to get around. We used it as our base... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for great review - we love positive feedback. All at Bamboo would like to wish you both a magical Festive Season and prosperous 2015 - maybe we get to welcome you back here! More

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

There was a warm welcome. Directly after we arrived the staff offered us an upgrade for the room. We ended up in the honeymoon suite!! Unfortunately the weather didn't turn out to be good so we could'nt make use of our private swimming pool ;). Every morning during breakfast the owner gave some tailored recommendations for activities in and around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We love positive feedback - all feedback is good! We are also very happy to have been able to offer you a free upgrade, however the weather as much as we would like to be able to manage does sometimes steal away an even better experience for our guests! Best wishes from the Bamboo... More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

If you want a place that's all chinz and polish then don't come here. However if you like quirky it might be the perfect place for you. The rooms are little cottages, spread through the jungle-like garden. Sitting on our terrace drinking coffee while looking at the garden was a joy. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Wow thank you, you completely got our jibe and style at Bamboo! We love all feedback and yours was one of our best! The Bamboo Family would like to wish you and yours a magical Festive Season and a prosperous happy 2015. We hope to welcome you back More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay