We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwaters River Lodge

4.0 of 5 Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackwaters River Lodge
Professional photos View all
Blackwaters River Lodge
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Place in a good location. Staff very friendly and facility is very neat. Will recommend to friends and family. Liked the golf course and river. Also liked the children's playing area. The place is very practical.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Blackwaters for 2 nights but did not want to leave, I felt incredibly at home. Everything was clean, neat and just overall great Service! The restaurant was incredible, food tasty and more than enough. Wish I stayed closer to enjoy the food on a more regular basis. Will definitely recommend Blackwaters River Lodge

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were excellent and the hotel quiet and peaceful. The food was also well received. We were competing in Knysna and it was a short trip in, but with the benefit of being secluded and quiet. Would have liked to have been able to spend more time there and less being busy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would like to compliment the Management for excellent service, accommodation and food. The staff gave us a warm welcome and were very friendly. We would recommend anybody to stay at the Lodge. Dual Liza

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Blackwaters River Lodge is by Far my Favorite one-stop Eat, Sleep, Relax and feel treated Lodge, from the Minute we arrived until our reluctant departure each component of our stay was Amazing, our Beautiful Room gave us the relaxation feeling we were after. Our Breakfast the Next morning was top notch - we felt at Home and we were only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

If peace and tranquility is what you are after, you have to visit Blackwaters River Lodge near Knysna. The 4 stars are well earned with the lovely spacious rooms, beautiful views and first rate treatment we received. It offers a homely restaurant with staff that make every meal a pleasure, a mashie golf course and loads of entertainment for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived until our reluctant departure, each component of our stay was top notch. Our luxurious room had a view of the Blackwaters, and lush green lawns. We had mentioned that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and were blown away to find a bottle of chilled sparkling wine waiting for us in our suite. After checking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Just spent the weekend at Blackwaters Lodge. What a fantastic getaway. We were a large group (occupying most of the lodge) and they managed to take very good care of all us; from the food at the restaurant to the charming rooms overlooking the river, we were spoilt. My only regret is not having time for a round of golf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Blackwaters River Lodge during our 3-day visit to Knysna and Plett during August 2014. Our second time at the lodge. The owners and staff were very friendly and the whole group was upgraded due to a broken window in one of the rooms we initially booked. The rooms are very well decorated and well equipped. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us at Blackwaters River Lodge and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The good thing its just view on river and forest. ((but)) No privacy, no bathroom door, constantly interrupted electricity, Internet weak also doesn't work some days. The hassle of the bar next door to my room. The staff does not replacing towels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
paul T, General Manager at Blackwaters River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Unfortunately your booking was a problem from the onset. The credit card details provide to secure your booking came up as fraudulent and your booking was therefore never confirmed in spite of us having contacted your booking service to address this problem. When you did arrive, the lodge was unfortunately full... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blackwaters River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwaters River Lodge

Address: Just off N2, Opposite Buffels Bay turn-off | Goukamma Valley, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwaters River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwaters River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Blackwaters River Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby