We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Vibe Knysna

Certificate of Excellence
67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Island Vibe Knysna
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the double rooms for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it! The staff is friendly and make sure there's a perfect relaxed vibe. There's a daily Braai and they offer a great township tour. Location is also very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne V
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had a lovely stay at the island, great staff well mannered and always at your service and always willing to help where they can. Clean and neat room, very welcoming backpackers which is very safe and central. I definitely recommend it and will most definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank nzwakie2016
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Nzwakie Thank you for choosing Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. It is great to hear after a week long stay over new year's you guys had a wonderful time as we had a lot of fun too. We are happy to hear you'll be coming back and it will be interesting to see if Siya can... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here just one night in a downstairs dorm that smelled a bit like petrol and was a bit grungy. The bathroom and hall light were broken. And there were only two showers/toilets--one en suite in the 10-bed dorm and one in the common area. Not recommended unless you can check out your room first.

Helpful?
Thank Ditha311
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Meredith Thank you for choosing to stay Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. I would like to apologize for your bad experience the smell was in fact not petrol rather the wood the beds are made off (sleeper wood) very few people are sensitive to the wood. After the Light bulb fused the night before, we did... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay, neat and clean room. Quiet atmosphere and very friendly staff. Excellent service provided. Very convenient and makes easy to go around. Will use it again in future. Value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank siliziwes
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Siliziwe Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your valued feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and we're looking forward to your next visit. We do value your feedback! Kind regards Ntsiko and the Island Vibe Knysna Team More 

Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Th backpackers is in a good position, in a walkimg distance from the waterfront where all shops and restaurant are. Nice common area, cool people working there, average dorms for a bavkpackers. Raccomanded.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pierpaoloc751
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Pier Paolo Thank you for choosing our establishment, and for your valued feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially seeing that it was your birthday, we hope it was a memorable one. Thank you for a lovely review and enjoy the rest of your travels in South Africa. Kind regards Ntsiko and... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thank-you Island Vibe Knysna: Had a great stay here in Dec 2015, Megan at reception was a pleasure to deal with, made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Thank you for all your help and tips, plus the xmas hats haha :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for choosing Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay with us over the Christmas period and we are particularly pleased with your specific mention of Megan as she is a very pleasant person who goes out of her way to make our guests feel... More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

When we checked in, we were asked to wait to be taken to our room, after waiting about 30 minutes, Moses arrived, he admitted that he was hung-over. He took us to the "villa", which was in fact a private house down the street. The house smells like cigarettes, the sitting room was very untidy and the furniture very old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elanie B
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Elanie Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your valued feedback. I am sorry you had such a bad experience. By the time you booked we were fully booked and only had the double en suite room hence you and Megan had an arrangement of an extra mattresses in the room which you agreed to however... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Island Vibe had such a welcoming staff with a good atmosphere and it was incredibly clean. There is always something for you to do or someone to talk to. The facilities were great and I'd definitely go back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 463valentinec
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Valentine Dear Alex Thank you for choosing to stay at Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our staff's friendliness, the vibe and an incredibly clean room. Thank you for a lovely review and we're looking forward to having you again. Regards Ntsiko and the Island Vibe Knysna team More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time in island vibe. We stayed nearby in a private house without Internet but the room was great. We strongly recommend the township tour with Moses. You can cook barbecue easy and the people are very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank gerardoa309
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Gerardo Thank you for choosing our establishment and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the villa,we are working on re-installing the internet back at the house as we had it before. Our township tour with Moses is going great, people love them and we re glad you guys enjoyed it too. Do call again. Regards Ntsiko and the... More 

Flam, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

Knysna was a bit quiet at the time, but the backpackers was great. Rooms were clean and quite big and it felt very safe being there. Take the tour with Moses to see the Township, Rastafari village and you'll hear all about the Xhosa culture. Thanks Moses!

Helpful?
Thank AlexBaier
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Alex Thank you for choosing to stay at Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your room and felt safe through out your stay, we also appreciate the specific mention of our township tour as we boast about it's uniqueness and popularity not to mention the ever so enthusiastic Moses.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
0.5 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#12 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#21 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
0.4 mi away
HomeBase Knysna
HomeBase Knysna
#18 of 91 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay