We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Vibe Knysna

Certificate of Excellence
67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vibe Knysna
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Island Vibe Knysna
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
19
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Island Vibe Knysna for two nights during my trip with the Bazbus from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. I had a fantastic stay I won't forget anytime soon. The staff, especially Bev and Moses, are amazing. I immediately felt welcome, comfortable, and looked after (just enough). Between the daily braai, the tour through Knysna, and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I only stayed one night but we had such a lovely time!! It's low season but they still had the daily braai. Pool wasn't open but it's too cold anyway, so who cares! Staff is super friendly and Jesus Moses is the best thing to happen to tour guides since... Tour guides. Really great township tour with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the good review. We do pride ourselves in the tours that we offer. Moses is very knowledgeable about the area and loves to share his knowledge with our guests. We hope to see you again one day. Regards Dallas More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this backpackers for 3 nights with a friend, we are two 19 year old girls and we experienced seriously unprofessional behaviour from the staff. One of them repeatedly harassed us, flirting and getting offended when we rejected him. This is unacceptable. A warning to any young girls travelling on their own. Although there is a nice family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Izzie It is with disappointment that I have to reply to your complaint in this platform as and when you indicated to me that you had a complaint,we agreed you would put it in writing and after reading it I requested that you put your email address on the paper the reason for that was to have that as... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

My girlfriend and i had a great time. Beverly and Moses are the Heart of this place! Everything was clean. The new braii (bbq) Arena is beautifull. Everything is in walking distance and there is a Little mall right around the corner. All in all it was a great stay in a great hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Hi Florian, We are glad that you and your girlfriend had such a great time. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards Dallas More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The hostel looks cool, the staff is very funny, sweet and helpful. This creates a good atmosphere in the hostel. Also because they put on the Braai every evening! Fine for couples and single travellers! Safe area around. Only thing: Double rooms a bit too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Hi Merel, Thanks for the review. The Braai at night is popular and definitely helps bring all the guests/travelers together. Kind regards Dallas More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We spent two nights at Island Vibes in Knysna. the friendly staff and the nice athmosphere made our stay really enjoyable. the rooms were clean and the beds confortable. definitely a place to recommend. -Simon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Our team work hard to create a friendly atmosphere as well as a clean establishment. Please do tell your friends about us. Kind Regards Dallas More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Went with my university and we had a smash. It was cheap drinks all through, funny and caring people at bar/reception. Rooms were decent and good location. With sweet god damn artwork by a good man called isreal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Hi there, Good to see that you appreciate good art work. You should stop in at Jbay and Knysna, there is more art work for you to see. Hope to see you again someday. Kind Regards Dallas More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Really enjoying my stay at island vibe in knysna, funny reception girls and the tour with "Orin" the guy who's doing the township and knysna tour is to be reommented! You go in an area where you can learn a lot about Culture & Livingstones conditions in the townships! We fehlt absolutely safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Hi Antuan, We glad to see you enjoyed your stay and the township tour that we offer in Knysna. We hope you will visit us again sometime. Kind Regards Dallas More 

Borne, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Island Vibe had a top location in Knysna. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and lagoon. You are really close to shops en bars. The backpackers itself is also great. It was clean, they had friendly staff and a kitchen with every thing you can possibly need. I can recommend to do the Townshiptour they offer. Orin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Marijke, Thank you for your positive review. We like it when our guests give other travelers tips. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that Orin could take you on the Township tour. Our backpackers is ideally situated for easy access to the shops and the waterfront. We hope to see you again if you travel through... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

My friends and I slept in Island Vibe Knysna just 1 night. The overall experience was positive, the food, the car park and the staff were great. We stayed in a private room, the room was big enough for the 4 of us, en-suited and clean. We arrived during the load shedding hours, so there was no electricity anywhere, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thanks for your great review. Loadshedding definitely has its challenges but we seem to be managing. Luckily it does not happen that often. We are looking into signage for the pool area. Kind Regards Dallas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities