We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baleia de Hermanus

4.0 of 5 57 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baleia de Hermanus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and they are located around a patio / pool, which is quite nice. Moreover the rooms are clean. However, this does not reflect a what can be called a 4 star B&B : no continuous hot water for the shower (and when we reported this to the tenants, they simply answered that we took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Firstly it seems that there were many communication failures - Hot water pressure was reduced due to excessive simultaneous draw off as house was full and many Guests using showers/baths. Problem subsequently resolved with Municipality. WI-Fi Signal Strength is dependent on band width available - Owner has no control over this and no other complaints about this were received. As... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The location was easy to find and quite central. The breakfast was really nice and service very good. It would benefit greatly from modernizing as I'm not sure if this is really 4 star standard as it was a bit old and motel like in the room we stayed in. Good enough for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. The room you occupied is the last on our list for upgrading. Regretfully we had to accommodate you there since all the other rooms were already fully booked and we did not want to deny you the opportunity of staying with us. We hope to have the room fully upgraded very soon and then all... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Price was good. The location is great, you can easily reach the old and new harbour on foot also the center and the waterfront, unless you want to drive. Parking space is also available. Rooms nice and big and of course clean. Breakfast was good and the owners are just great, very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return visit. Many thanks! More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we arrived we where met by Chris and you just got this nice welcome feeling (an away from home type). The breakfast was excellent and we got superb service even when my mom was not feeling well they went out of their usual routine to assist her with her meal and that was very much appreciated. The location was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return visit. Many thanks! More

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were greeted so warmly by Chris and made to feel at home. The room was super with good linen and spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast . Would definitely go back when we return to Hermanus. Will have to book early for the whale season

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind words. We will certainly aim to maintain our standards for your next trip! Regards Chris More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights. The rooms are spacious with on suite full bathroom. The owners were very friendly and full of advice. The pool in the centre of the guest rooms was divine, small enough to heat up quickly and space to lounge around. Lovely basic cooked breakfast. Honesty bar availiable. Only concerns were that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we certainly appreciate your help in us keeping up good standards required to meet our Unforgettable, Uncomplicated Hospitality aims and ambitions. Regards Chris More

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast. The location is outstanding, close to sea for whalewatching, citycenter and restautants. This is a guesthouse we really can recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our best qas it's wonderful to see our efforts are appreciated. Thank you, Regards Chris. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Chris and Janka run this 1st class guest house and they do it so well. We loved everything about Baleia and Hermanus. We stayed here at the start of our 3wks travelling in SA and Chris and Janka set the standard that we expected throughout our journey. Great price,great food,great rooms and most important great hosts. Thank you Chris and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the second time my friends and I have stayed at this unique quaint lodge, that is clean and welcoming,providing a meeting place for old friends and the making of new ones. A big bonus is a kettle, a tray with coffee, tea sugar and milk in every bedroom. Chris and Janka, the hospitable caring owners, know how to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed one night and occupied 2 rooms. Nice place, clean, well located But I would not recommend it for families. Having spent 3 weeks traveling around SA with our 4 kids and staying in 9 different B&B this was the only place we didn't feel 'welcome' with them! The owners were constantly around, checked and even told off one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Baleia de Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleia de Hermanus

Address: 57 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baleia de Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baleia de Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

3 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay