We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hermanus

5.0 of 5 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Marine Hermanus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    62
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
64
224
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (358)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Temple Grafton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

Fantastic hotel, beautiful suite overlooking the ocean. Food was delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. Spa treatments were wonderful. Swimming pool was a bit tired but we did enjoy using it. Easy walking distance into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us however please could you get back to me on hamish@themarine.co.za concerning your comment on our swimming pool. I would like to hear your opinion on how it can improve so that I may put this plan in progress this year. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Stourbridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Marine Hotel over many years and have never been disappointed. The position overlooking the bay is superb and many of the rooms and suites are sea facing . The staff are excellent and very friendly and remember you from your previous visits even your likes and dislikes! The food is the best in town especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Always a pleasure having you stay with us and you are quite correct, we are planning to do some refurbishments in our bathrooms this coming year. Thank you for your positive feedback and we all look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a weekend at Marine Hermanus. It was a romantic get away. We also used the spa facilities. Spa was amazing, those girls really know what they doing. The hotel is beautifully decorated. A little pricey, and for some reason I didn't get that cozy and warm feeling. The staff is attentive and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion and I am sorry that you did not get that feeling of "Soul" that we are so proud of here at The Marine. It sounds however that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I do hope you you visit us at least one more time in the near future. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Marine. Fantastic location, very clean room, very pleasant and helpful staff with good food in the restaurant. The lounge is beautiful with a lovely ambience and good views of the ocean. Although our bathroom was clean it could have done with a little updating but we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Indeed The Marine is a special place to stay and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. You will be happy to note that we are planning on updating a number of our bathrooms in 2015 and we hope that you will return to critique the work done. Until then kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great, also the service, breakfast, room all good. BUT 375 Euro for one night is absolutely not worth it. The standard room is good. But not for this amount of money. They seem to forget that they are just a good( business ) Hotel. And that's it. Nothing special. The location is fabulous, but that is not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on our food, service and rooms. We constantly strive to be the best at what we do and when we fail, we learn from our mistakes and become stronger and better. I can only apologise that you feel the rates were too high. I trust though that the service you received warranted this. Kind... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you think of Relais & Chateaux, you think of luxury. While the location of the Marine is great, the guest room we had was dirty and shabby. There was paper and hair on the bathroom floor when we checked in, and the grout in the bathroom looked dirty. There were stains all over the carpet. Breakfast was included, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I must apologise for what was clearly a terrible experience for you. There is no excuse for finding your room anything but immaculately clean and tidy, something that were are renowned for along with attentive service and delicious food. Your e-mail never came to me unfortunately or I would have answered immediately. Please feel free to mail me on hamish@themarine.co.za... More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful stay at The Marine, the hotel public rooms have had a stylish update white retaining the elegance of its heritage. Our room although small, had an ocean view and a balcony so my wife was totally content. We felt our room could do with an update as the décor and the bathroom were showing signs of wear, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and your views of the bathroom have been noted. Indeed we are planning quite a substantial refurbishment of a number of our bathrooms. I do hope you return in the near future and will be able to experience some of these changes firsthand. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. You have the most magical ocean views. The room: We stayed in a Luxury room and had a balcony overlooking the poolarea, it was very quiet.The minibar wasn't complimentary but you recieved a complimentary bottle of red wine at arrival. The hotel: The hotel isn't very big, about 40 rooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

The Marine is indeed an ideal place for you to base yourself if you are looking at playing some of the areas challenging courses. Thank you for your positive feedback and I do hope you return in the near future for a second round. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed at The Marine a few times over a decade it continues to meet expectations. But as has been observed in other reviews, it needs a little bit of titivation - the bathrooms in particular are looking a bit jaded and the up stairs passage way carpets and furniture are very worn. Service was enthusiastic if not always totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion and you will be happy to note that we are planning a fairly extensive soft refurbishment in a number of our rooms over the Winter. I hope that you will make time to visit us again and experience these positive changes first hand. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night but the hotel is positioned in the prime spot in the town. The views are breath-taking. As we had previous arrangements in the evening we only ate breakfast at the hotel which offered a reasonable buffet and hot food cooked to order. The swimming pool was in a courtyard so didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. The Marine is indeed in an exceptionally good location and paired with great rooms and fantastic food, all you could ask for. I am glad that we managed to retrieve your Ipad. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay