We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hermanus

Certificate of Excellence
Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
Add Your Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    62
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
230
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our biggest regret was only being here for one night and not having the opportunity to dine here( due to other arrangements) Our sea view room was wonderful. the Staff were excellent and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the best breakfast of our 2 weeks in South Africa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

unfortunately we spent only one night at this hotel, should have stayed longer. room was great, overlooking the water and mountains. food was good and whale watching addictive. we were late arriving and the hotel called us to find out if we were OK. staff was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lunched at the Marine recently. The food was very good and the table service just fine. However the hotel management allowed a number of workmen permission to change the door locks to the glass external doors close to our table during service, resulting in our lunch (from start to finish) being accompanied by loud drilling and hammering and the distraction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you had to experience our emergency repairs to one of our doors. It was unfortunately unavoidable but I am distressed that you think that no-one from Management came to you when I specifically sent my Restaurant Manager there to explain the situation. I do hope that you return to our excellent restaurant for a meal... More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bad wifi, tired and scruffy accommodation bathrooms completely out dated bad water pressure and water temperature in the shower .. Poor poolside service and menu.. Staff are friendly And food in the restaurants was great but I don't believe the prices charged for the accommodation are justified . There are better hotels in hermanus ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at The Marine. I have of course spoken to the departments in question in order to ascertain what could have gone wrong and rectify the situation. Perhaps we were not suited to your specific tastes but we hope you return to see that we indeed have... More 

United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my boyfriend for a couples massage for his birthday and it was absolutely incredible, really enjoyed all the treatments! Really relaxing and the girls serving were really brilliant made the whole experience just perfect! Thanks to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa experience. I will ensure that the ladies receive your glowing praises. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hermanus is a small seaside town about an hour and a half from Cape Town and a little less from the airport. It has expanded considerably in recent years, but retains its charm and has increased its facilities. For those in interested in wine, the Hemel en Aarde valley is 15 minutes drive and there are now 16 wineries making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was great to have you back with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed we have many staff members that have been with us over 15 years and retain that charm ensures your return. We loved hosting you and cannot wait for your return next year. Kind regards Hamish... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Happy to rate this hotel excellent even though there were a few hiccups. Reception was very smooth with the excellent car park man/porter. Shown to our room by the duty manager, Patrick I think, then we had problems. The hotel were advised in advance my wife had walking difficulties and we knew there was no lift but they allocated us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your constructive comments and I am delighted that our staff managed to take each scenario and handle it with aplomb. I am terribly sorry that your wife had a fall here, especially coinciding with our Generator coming on due to a power cut in the town. I trust her wound has healed well. Wishing you... More 

Vilanculos, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The attention to detail as we entered this superb establishment is exceptional. Friendly staff, great setting and tasty, well prepared food - a hallmark of excellence. Perched in the beautiful boutique town, it is simply superb in many aspects. The high tea was, unfortunately, served on a coffee table that was too small and uncomfortable but otherwise everything else made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Indeed Hermanus is a special town along our coastline yet keeps a village feel for those that spend time here. Our High Tea is indeed an occasion but I apologise that you felt a little cramped on the tables in our Sunlounge. Perhaps on your next visit we can situate you in an area... More 

Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel to stay in, all the trappings of a traditional hotel without the stuffiness. Two good restaurants, though we found the fish restaurant more to our liking. Great service and food, though it did not have the views that the main restaurant had. The Hotel is situated over looking the bay which is world famous for its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Indeed a perfect location to view the ocean and the whales if you are here at a certain time of year. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Temple Grafton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel, beautiful suite overlooking the ocean. Food was delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. Spa treatments were wonderful. Swimming pool was a bit tired but we did enjoy using it. Easy walking distance into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us however please could you get back to me on hamish@themarine.co.za concerning your comment on our swimming pool. I would like to hear your opinion on how it can improve so that I may put this plan in progress this year. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question