We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hermanus

Certificate of Excellence
Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    62
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
232
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After Morukuru Family, Madikwe, and Taj Hotel, Cape Town, I had invited my friends to spend Easter with me at The Marine, Hermanus. We had 1 suite and 2 rooms - different in colors and furniture. They were all special and had a lot of ambience, like the rest of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

And warm greetings to you all as well. It was a pleasure to have you all with us and I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were served the most delicious lunch by a very friendly team and had such a great afternoon at the Marine, which overlooks the beautiful Hermanus bay. Highly recommendable, pricey but great value for money. All aspects of the restaurant was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and I hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable meal. Perhaps this time and overnight stay as well? Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic food to be had in the seafood restuarant with great views decor, staff and cuisine. Book the round table and share the vibe with the chef and support team. Wine menu complimented the great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Seafood at The Marine is definitely one of the best restaurants in Hermanus and I am delighted you had an enjoyable evening with us. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got a great room at The Marine. Lot of place, very comfortable, great bathroom, lots of natural light and a nice balcony/garden. Best of all is the staff. WIFI was better than any other we try in ZA, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Hopefully your next stay with us will be even longer and more enjoyable. Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to The Marine n the near future. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

our family was celebrating a special occasion and decided to eat at the Seafood restaurant at the Marine Hotel in Hermanus. From the head barman, Andile to the Maitre De, Tom in the restaurant, the attention to detail was phenomenal. The Food from the standard menu was to die for and the flavours and combinations of taste used were mouth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that your special day was made even more special at The Marine. Hope to see you all again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Hermanus though we have been to S Africa many times and we thought the town with its shops, galleries and restaurants delightful. The Marine Hotel is superbly situated in close proximity to everything, and we found the staff and facilities of the highest standard. Our room on the ground floor with views over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Indeed, Hermanus is Jewel and we like to think of The Marine as being it`s inner glow. I must apologise about the lack of service at our poolside however. This has since been rectified. Looking forward to seeing you with us again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Our biggest regret was only being here for one night and not having the opportunity to dine here( due to other arrangements) Our sea view room was wonderful. the Staff were excellent and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the best breakfast of our 2 weeks in South Africa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

unfortunately we spent only one night at this hotel, should have stayed longer. room was great, overlooking the water and mountains. food was good and whale watching addictive. we were late arriving and the hotel called us to find out if we were OK. staff was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Lunched at the Marine recently. The food was very good and the table service just fine. However the hotel management allowed a number of workmen permission to change the door locks to the glass external doors close to our table during service, resulting in our lunch (from start to finish) being accompanied by loud drilling and hammering and the distraction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you had to experience our emergency repairs to one of our doors. It was unfortunately unavoidable but I am distressed that you think that no-one from Management came to you when I specifically sent my Restaurant Manager there to explain the situation. I do hope that you return to our excellent restaurant for a meal... More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Bad wifi, tired and scruffy accommodation bathrooms completely out dated bad water pressure and water temperature in the shower .. Poor poolside service and menu.. Staff are friendly And food in the restaurants was great but I don't believe the prices charged for the accommodation are justified . There are better hotels in hermanus ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at The Marine. I have of course spoken to the departments in question in order to ascertain what could have gone wrong and rectify the situation. Perhaps we were not suited to your specific tastes but we hope you return to see that we indeed have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question