We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hermanus

Certificate of Excellence
Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    280
    64
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
240
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (388)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and just left one in Cape Town. I'm appalled at the service we encountered when we arrived this afternoon. The hotel is lovely looking. The public spaces beautiful. Our room, which looked lovely, had a bad smell. When we questioned the housekeeping staff, the person who came to the room agreed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Marine Hermanus as part of our honeymoon. It is a beautiful hotel, with fantastic staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely beautiful with great views out to sea. The restaurant was also nice and they do fantastic breakfasts. Cannot recommend enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a delight, located across a public green from the cliff top walk and the sea. The food, breakfast, lunch and dinner were all excellent and while the cost of hotel rooms in South Africa is comparatively high, the price of meals is amazingly inexpensive to Brits. Every meal was Michelin star quality. The lack of much outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I always enjoy to write a nice review. However this time I am forced to point out that our stay was rather dissapointing. The first impression was the man at the security who unfortunately was not happy enough to give us a smile. The room at R3500 was rather boring - and since we are off season we asked if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. I would love to hear more about your restaurant experience so that I may be able to tackle any issue that came up immediately with our chef. We strive to offer service excellence and great food prepared with love and... More 

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

How lucky we were to stumble on this lovely hotel, the location is simply stunning overlooking Walker Bay, although June is early in the whale season we were lucky enough to see at least two whilst we were in the garden. The room we had was a luxury double overlooking the bay with a small separate sitting room and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

The ocean views in Hermanus are indeed unsurpassed and I am delighted that you managed to spot some whales. Thank you for the positive comments about your restaurant experience and your good stay overall. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in December. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We were a bunch of middle aged ladies, coming together for a special reunion weekend, from all over the world. The hotel was practically empty, so I know we booked standard rooms, but we asked for twin beds and did not even get these, why not upgrade us to a sea view room if you are giving us the incorrect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry you feel so strongly about your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to a misunderstanding with bookings.com, your booking was put in place for 2 single rooms and not 2 double rooms. We most sincerely apologise for this mistake. I have of course addressed the kitchen on your comments over your meal with us and am sorry... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I recently visited The Marine Hotel, on my Garden Route adventure! The hotel has the best location in Hermanus, on a cliff overlooking Walker Bay on the Indian Ocean. It is a member of the Relais & Chateau Group of South Africa and is also one of three hotels of 'The Collection by Liz McGrath'. I had the pleasure of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive words. Indeed our Seafood restaurant offers many mouth watering dishes and I cant wait to present the new menu in August. Hermanus is indeed well known for it`s famous land based whale watching sites and I hope to see you back with us again in the season. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Vereeniging, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We stayed from 14th May 2015 until 17th May 2015. The Seafood Restaurant - the first evening the food was very good but on our 2nd last evening we tried the vegetable soup and it wasn't as we have imagined. More like sweet corn soup which was absolutely terrible. The Pasta dish was a bit drab and needed a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I must apologise for your poor experience with us, especially in our restaurant. The Marine is known for its impeccable service and delectable food offerings and I am not sure how th5is went wrong during your stay. I am confused however that you feel that you were ousted from a Sea facing room due to a group we had in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We arrived early afternoon at the Marine Hotel, perched on the cliffs. Our itinerary stated a luxury room with roll in shower confirmed but although we were taken to a lovely room with sea view, the toilet and shower were not accessible. The manageress immediately offered us an alternative: a suite with a 4 poster bed, large sitting area with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

It was great to have you with us at The Marine and by the sounds of it, you had an amazing stay. hank you for all the positive comments. I must however apologise for not having the room you requested. There was clearly a miscommunication between your agent and our reservations department but this link has been rectified. I look... More 

Peterborough
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We have recently returned to the UK from a stay at the Marine and would love to come back. We were given the Suite with a balcony over the front door, unfortunately the weather wasn't quite good enough for us to sit out on the balcony very often. The food and service here were brilliant. I booked myself in for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive and positive comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House & Villa
Birkenhead House & Villa
#1 of 10 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
9.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel and Spa
Arabella Hotel and Spa
#8 of 10 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#9 of 10 in Hermanus
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay