We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor's Rest

90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor's Rest
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Anchor's Rest
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice, well equipped rooms. Guy was a perfect, helpful host who made us very welcome. House is in quiet residential area of Hermanus close to the coastal path and town centre with numerous bars and restaurants. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your accommodation and had a pleasant time in Hermanus , enjoying in particular the wonderrful cliff paths. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second stay at Anchors Rest so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed on our return. Lovely rooms and ideal location, just out of the town centre but adjacent to the coastal path. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post the complimentary review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves again. It really is a lovely time to visit our little town. Hopefully we will see you again on another trip! More 

London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights in the Seagulls room which was very beautifully decorated and a spacious top floor apartment overlooking the swimming pool. We were a little disappointed initially that there was no sea view (we had thought there was from the website) but the quality of the room made up for it. Well kitted out kitchen and clean bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on our establishment. We value both positive and negative reviews as we are then able to maintain a good service and rectify any problem areas. Thank you for the compliments regarding your room and facilities However we are sorry that you were disappointed about no sea view. On checking this,... More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Great value for money - thought I had paid for one person per night and it was for 3! Very hospitable, spacious, clean and comfortable. Definitely a place to recommend. Short drive from the village and a hop skip and away from the cliff walk. Very safe, secure and quiet. A real treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay.We had the family room large room with tv settee kitchenette very comfy bed with quality bedding there was also a twin room and large bathroom lovely decor. Guy the owner is lovely he gave us some excellent restaurant tips and made breakfast for us as his wife was away, it was like a banquet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous review. I am sorry I was not able to meet you myself but very pleased that Guy made you comfortable and took good care of you! More 

Virginia beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed in the starfish cottage and had a wonderful few days. The owners name is Guy, and he's so sweet he even drove along behind us on our first night to be sure we found the restaurant that we were trying to find. The rooms are decorated in soft seaside colors and have everything you need. Wonderful place and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Manager at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We really do appreciate feed back and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed in the Seagull room which was both spacious and well equipped. Furthermore the bed was of excellent quality. The owner was also informative and breakfast ( only R17! ) was perfect. This B&B should be an example for other lesser B&B's that offer lesser accommodation for higher rates. This was the best B&B we stayed in during our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so good to hear that our guests are happy. We are glad you were able to visit our great little town and enjoyed yourselves at our establishment. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for such a great room at Anchors Rest. We took the family suite as it was the only room left, but we were so surprised at how massive it was. Beautiful decor, a massive bathroom, great shower, and an extra twin bedroom. I would have liked to have stayed a lot longer. Really recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our guest house. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found so much to your liking and that you wanted to share that with others. Best wishes. More 

South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

As I have to visit Hermanus rather frequently, I've tried various places to stay. On my last two trips, I read the positive comments about Anchor's Rest and stayed here both times. On my first trip I stayed in a smaller room with shower, but prefer a bath tub in winter, and therefore opted for a bigger room that cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review - we do so appreciate feed back. We have been away ourselves - hence the tardiness in a reply .We are pleased that you have found somewhere easy for the hospital but hope that you will not be needing us for that any time soon! It's good to hear that your sister was out... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

By far the best place to stay in Hermanus, outstanding rooms and the most wonderful hosts, guy and Hillary. Have visited 3 times now and will only ever stay there whilst in Hermanus. Convenient location and spoilt for choice on what room to have as they are all superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question