We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor's Rest

90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor's Rest
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Anchor's Rest
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We spent 3 nights at Anchor's Rest and will happily return in the future. The cottage we had was spacious, clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Attention to detail was noticeable and our rooms were tastefully decorated. It was big enough for a family of 3 or 4 with 1-2 kids using the sofa-bed in the lounge. Great water pressure in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Very nice, well equipped rooms. Guy was a perfect, helpful host who made us very welcome. House is in quiet residential area of Hermanus close to the coastal path and town centre with numerous bars and restaurants. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your accommodation and had a pleasant time in Hermanus , enjoying in particular the wonderrful cliff paths. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Our second stay at Anchors Rest so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed on our return. Lovely rooms and ideal location, just out of the town centre but adjacent to the coastal path. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post the complimentary review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves again. It really is a lovely time to visit our little town. Hopefully we will see you again on another trip! More 

London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We spent 2 nights in the Seagulls room which was very beautifully decorated and a spacious top floor apartment overlooking the swimming pool. We were a little disappointed initially that there was no sea view (we had thought there was from the website) but the quality of the room made up for it. Well kitted out kitchen and clean bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on our establishment. We value both positive and negative reviews as we are then able to maintain a good service and rectify any problem areas. Thank you for the compliments regarding your room and facilities However we are sorry that you were disappointed about no sea view. On checking this,... More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Great value for money - thought I had paid for one person per night and it was for 3! Very hospitable, spacious, clean and comfortable. Definitely a place to recommend. Short drive from the village and a hop skip and away from the cliff walk. Very safe, secure and quiet. A real treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay.We had the family room large room with tv settee kitchenette very comfy bed with quality bedding there was also a twin room and large bathroom lovely decor. Guy the owner is lovely he gave us some excellent restaurant tips and made breakfast for us as his wife was away, it was like a banquet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous review. I am sorry I was not able to meet you myself but very pleased that Guy made you comfortable and took good care of you! More 

Virginia beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed in the starfish cottage and had a wonderful few days. The owners name is Guy, and he's so sweet he even drove along behind us on our first night to be sure we found the restaurant that we were trying to find. The rooms are decorated in soft seaside colors and have everything you need. Wonderful place and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hilary C, Manager at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We really do appreciate feed back and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed in the Seagull room which was both spacious and well equipped. Furthermore the bed was of excellent quality. The owner was also informative and breakfast ( only R17! ) was perfect. This B&B should be an example for other lesser B&B's that offer lesser accommodation for higher rates. This was the best B&B we stayed in during our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so good to hear that our guests are happy. We are glad you were able to visit our great little town and enjoyed yourselves at our establishment. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for such a great room at Anchors Rest. We took the family suite as it was the only room left, but we were so surprised at how massive it was. Beautiful decor, a massive bathroom, great shower, and an extra twin bedroom. I would have liked to have stayed a lot longer. Really recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our guest house. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found so much to your liking and that you wanted to share that with others. Best wishes. More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

As I have to visit Hermanus rather frequently, I've tried various places to stay. On my last two trips, I read the positive comments about Anchor's Rest and stayed here both times. On my first trip I stayed in a smaller room with shower, but prefer a bath tub in winter, and therefore opted for a bigger room that cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review - we do so appreciate feed back. We have been away ourselves - hence the tardiness in a reply .We are pleased that you have found somewhere easy for the hospital but hope that you will not be needing us for that any time soon! It's good to hear that your sister was out... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay