We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor's Rest

90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Spent two nights in a double self catering cottage. Lovey and quite, owner and daughter went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. Will definitely use them again on future trips to SA

Helpful?
Thank alexF9277JW
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward yo seeing you again if you return. More 

Up North
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

Arrived for 2 night stay. Greeted by Cindy and showed to our loft apartment, Seagull. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too grand during our visit, so the whole place didn't look as bright as it had on the website photos! I'm sure the pool is also lovely in the sun, but it really didn't look appealing in the blustery wind and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BahHumbug123
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Anchor's rest for two nights. It's a quiet little B&B, that served us well. Hillary was very helpful when she heard we had come specifically to watch whales and hadn't booked upon arrival. After all the hotels and breakfast-included-places it was nice to have our own kitchenette and be able to have a chill-out Sunday morning. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric v
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Spent two nights in the little self catering cottage. Very comfortable and secure. Wi-Fi had intermittent problems but other than that a very pleasant stay. Very close to the cliff path along which you can walk to town (turn left) or to the harbour (turn right). Good restaurant at the harbour serving excellent sushi.

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review - we really appreciate feedback. Thank you also for the feed back on the restauarnts - it is great to be able to recommend to other guests. More 

Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Like in most guesthouses in South Africa, it is selfcatering and the owners do not interfere to much, but if you have any questions they are helpfull and will try to meet any requests. Room is lovely with a big bathroom and little kitchen. During daytime you can safely walk the cliffpaths, which are located very near the guesthouse. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dutchkenny
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our guesthouse. It is really appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed some of the pleasures Hermanus has to offer. More 

leeds, uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

Well designed clean 'honeymoon loft' overlooking a lovely sunny pool area- also one of the cleanest pools we've seen in Africa! The apartment had a separate kitchenette downstairs, complete with portable electric stove and microwave, toaster, cafitierre. It would have been nice to have been given a few basic essentials such as salt and pepper etc. Really friendly service and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilovetravelin
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed our cliff paths and the sightings of the whales.We are also pleased that you \enjoyed the apartment and the pool. We have taken note of your suggestion for little extras such as condiments in the kitchen. The unreliability of the Wi Fi is unfortunately beyond our control and... More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the suite upstairs with mountain views. Very comfortable. Had a small kitchenette downstairs which was adequate for our needs. Owner very helpful and also did washing for us. Very quiet and peaceful. Close to town although quite a distance to walk. Did whale trip which was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Susan499616
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and I am so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful whales. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Approaching the long weekend in August 2015 (Wednesday before) it was very difficult to find good holiday accommodation and we were reliant upon the honest reviews of fellow tourists. However, everything written about Anchors Rest is true and we spent a very enjoyable and comfortable long weekend in style at Anchors Rest. We recommend it highly and will certainly return... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment supporting previous positive comments. Feed back is always appreciated. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We spent 3 nights at Anchor's Rest and will happily return in the future. The cottage we had was spacious, clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Attention to detail was noticeable and our rooms were tastefully decorated. It was big enough for a family of 3 or 4 with 1-2 kids using the sofa-bed in the lounge. Great water pressure in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank THC61
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Very nice, well equipped rooms. Guy was a perfect, helpful host who made us very welcome. House is in quiet residential area of Hermanus close to the coastal path and town centre with numerous bars and restaurants. Good value.

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your accommodation and had a pleasant time in Hermanus , enjoying in particular the wonderrful cliff paths. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#9 of 84 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#18 of 84 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#3 of 84 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#46 of 84 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
#7 of 42 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hermanus Beach House
Hermanus Beach House
#31 of 84 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay