We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Harbour House Hotel
Add Photo

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    298
    166
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
82
315
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (513)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location, overlooking the ocean and Old Harbour. Our room was clean and comfortable with a useful 'kitchenette ' area. The restaurant area for breakfast was quite small but in fine weather there is plenty of room on the terrace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've just spent a very pleasant 2 nights here. The room was great, and as it was our anniversary, they had added extra romantic touches like scattering rose petals on the bed and in the bath. The personalised Welcome note was also appreciated, albeit with our name spelt wrong. Booking was a bit confusing. I contacted the hotel directly, before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cape Town Gordon, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Harbour House hotel. We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you were subjected... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked online in what we assumed to be the main hotel, but ended up in the annex above restaurants - noisy and the room smelt damp. We were advised of the option to move and packed up our bags based on the promise of a new Premium room by 12pm. After lunch we returned to the hotel at 2pm where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Wooley Thank you for taking the time for your feedback. I do apologize that you feel I was not attentive and sympathetic enough with your requests. There is a misunderstanding as it was meant for you to take the Classic in the interim while we finish preparing your premium room. I do apologise if this was not communicated... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our third visit. Stayed for 2 days in the honeymoon suite (no 6 in the main house) Delighted to have been upgraded. A lovely room with large balcony overlooking the garden, the pool and of course one of the best views in town looking out to sea. We were lucky enough to see masses of dolphin on both days. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roknotthingham, The Harbour House team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff contributed in making your 3rd visit to Hermanus a memorable one. We look forward welcoming you back next year. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This has to be the best service I have ever had in a hotel nothing was too small and gave lots of advise on where to go to see and eat very helpful. Reserved parking was a bonus as the hotel was right on the sea front and right by the shops

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adbell70, Many thanks for your wonderful review of your experience at Harbour House, which have proudly shared with our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The hotel is right on the sea front with a lovely harbour walk. Room was excellent and well equipped. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and good quality.. Surrounded by local eateries and bars which were well used.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scooby Cambridge, On behalf of the Harbour House Hotel team we would like to thank you for your review. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and visit to Hermanus. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Stayed in suite connected to breakfast area, great view of the coast and mountains. Lots of windows, seemed to be close to several places to eat and have a couple of drinks. Favorite place to eat, short drive was B's Steakhouse by far. On honeymoon my new wife and I loved the breakfast and room, but service was below par.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lovdov 11, Thank you for posting your comments in respect of your recent stay at Harbour House. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards and for this we offer our sincerest apologies. We hope that despite this we shall again welcome you as our guests in the future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Great venue just the service could be improved and certain bar spirits range widened. Perhaps also a better variety of music seeing as we heard the same song repeat for 4 hours. Other than that the venue is very comfortable and will be back again. Only hope that the above has been sorted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lori G, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but disappointed to note that your expectations was not fully met in other areas.Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Where to start . Our room was called Romantic in the Manor House section of the hotel . The room was on the ground floor next to the pool . So in summer there would be noise and no privacy = no romance. Our room had no safe , no carpet, no air con, and no wardrobe . So it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amber, Thank you for your constructive and honest feedback . Although negative it is only with honest feedback from valued quests like you that we can better our service delivery. The room type that you reserved the romantic unfortunately as you stated does not have certain items in the room , however we do have several categories of rooms... More 

White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

This hotel is in the heart of Hermanus. Walking distance to all restaurants and shops. Parking is easy off the road or secure parking behind the hotel. Top floor ocean view rooms have great small balconys to watch the spectacular view but are noisier than the rooms that face the back of the hotel with a small partial ocean view.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave K, The Harbour House Team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (197)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay