We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House Hotel

5.0 of 5 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harbour House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Harbour House Hotel
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    145
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
278
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a girls' weekend away and had the most incredible time. Gift looked after us on the pool deck (the most beautifully designed pool) and made sure our glasses were always full. The breakfast spread is incredible - the granola deserves an honourable mention as do the cappuccinos. It really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We only had Breakfast at this location in Hermanus on a very sunny day near the pool area. We received Excellent service, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent view! Great food, we will definintly go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for your 1 year wedding anniversary and we were so impressed with the whole experience! From the moment we arrived we were treated like a king and queen. The location of hotel is great and the scenery is absolutely breath taking! The staff was so friendly and the attention to detail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DJL4, Many thanks for your wonderful remarks which have proudly shared with our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the future Kind Regards Mariane Maree. More 

worcester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel beginning of December 2014.The location of this hotel is central in Hermanus so much so that you can park your car and do not need it again.The hotel consists of 2 buildings joined together with rather akward stairs.The rooms are large but in need of refurbishment.Water pressure in the shower is very low and leads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We, a Swedish family with two teenage boys, stayed here for three nights during Christmas 2014. Despite the "only" OK rooms we had (no sea view and fairly old rooms that for sure need a makeover), we liked the place. Our goal was to do the great white shark experience from close to here but that was unfortunately cancelled due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PerN, Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed certain aspects of your stay and appreciate your constructive comments as it helps us improve. We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband and I stayed at Harbour House Hotel from the 27th - 30th December 2014. The photos are just as they appear and the pool area on a sunny day is fantastic (so much so that the public were often stopping to take photos of the infinity pool that meets the road!). We stayed in a Romantic Room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NatCracker, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel except for the noise levels experienced from your room. Please accept our sincere apologies. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Mariane Maree More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to the Harbour House after a two year gap, as we love the location. On our last visit, we gave the hotel an average review, due mainly to issues around house keeping and disappointing levels of service. This time we came for a slightly longer stay, and were not booked into the penthouse room. Unfortunately, we were off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments, Le Paradis 5, which looked great and the location was perfect, however a few comments: -the carpets were grimy. The soles of our feet were black after walking barefoot in the bedrooms -the rugs and the sofas had bed bugs. After sitting in them for a few minutes we were itchy and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the HH in September just in time to see the whales arriving in Hermanus. The hotel was fantastic. Try and go for a room upstairs in the original house. The room was fabulous, extremely large with a separate seating area. The added bonus was the large balcony overlooking the harbour from where we could see the whales... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz O, The Harbour House team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff contributed in making your visit to South Africa a memorable one. We look forward welcoming you back should you return to Hermanus one day. Kind Regards... More 

Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay in the Harbour House Hotel if not short. We were on honeymoon and had booked a night in Hermanus on our trip down the Garden Route. We where shown to room 3 which looked out on the Harbour. Unfortunately the weather was not good enough for pool use or for sitting outside. The hotel knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Business Hotel in Hermanus

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay