We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acorn Guest House

4.0 of 5 4 Kerk Street | Bo dorp, George 6529, South Africa
#5 of 49 hotels in George
58 Reviews 4.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Acorn Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Acorn Guest House
  • Overview
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (49)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Acorn Guest House to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I arrived at the Acorn and was warmly welcomed by a very charming young lady. Unfortunately, I only spent one night there, but it was a very memorable night and experience. So well located. Keep it up

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just had a short overnight stay while driving thru the Garden Route, and I should say unfortunately! The room was perfect! Spacious, well furnished and the whirlpool bath was ideal especially after a long drive as we had. Theresa's assistance and support has been lovely both at evening (by waiting us) and in the morning. Definitely a good surprise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The atmosphere is great and the service always very professional yet you instantly feel at home and comfortable. It is like having a home away from home. i would recommend this to anyone who wishes to travel to george area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent venue which has all the essentials and DStv provided in all the rooms. Location is very good. Close to shop (Pick n Pay) and restaurants (Nandos). The staff were very helpful and were always available to assist.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ceres, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

IT was a pleasant stay at the Guest house which made our stay in George very nice. It's situated close to the business central and all the restuarants. Will definitely be back. Everything was nice including the breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MagicGeorge01, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful week. Kindest Regards Marika and the rest of the Acorn team More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would recommend this guest house for anyone wanting a convenient place to stay in George. Situated close to shops and restaurants this is perfect for someone staying on their own. I asked beforehand for certain amenities and they were great at providing these. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The best for me were the delicious breakfasts which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Brilliant, exceptional, superb hospitality and facilities! The owners and the staff were warm, friendly, attentive and more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay an immensely comfortable and pleasant experience! The location is central and convenient with easy access to highways, restaurants, shops and malls. The warm and personalized welcome immediately made us feel at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stay at Acorn Guest House at least 6 times / year on business and occasionally with my family on these trips. Fantastic staff, impeccable service and just that great feeling of being with "family" away from your own family. I will never stay anywhere else in George and can highly recommend this guest house for business stay-overs and for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

the suite i was booked in was great. the ladies who looked after me on my one niter were super helpful in ensuring my comfort. nothing was a problem. warm plates for my breakfast was a great change. one bad thing was the water in the JET bath was a real waste of time as it trickled out. it would... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Beverley , I want to thank you for all your positive feedback and comments it brings warmth to our hearts! Apologies about the Jet/spa bath, in order for it to work properly you have to give the water time to run through the pipes (as per the instructions in the room), next time you visit we will make sure... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed over on Saturday,8th June 2014 at the Acorn Guest House.We have a 15 month old Son,and the manageress went out of her way to sort out a cot.Lovely,clean,spacious room. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with both a buffet and a hot breakfast that was prepared to our liking. Very help manageress who guided us around George and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Sachin,Devashnee and Kevin Gramoney We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back. George is truly a wonderful place to travel from, in the center. We are all very passionate about the area and would gladly assist in any bookings, daily planning and recommendations. We value your feedback and hope to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Acorn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 4 Kerk Street | Bo dorp, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in George with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
True South African hospitality in the heart of George and the Garden Route! The Superior rooms offer king/Twin size beds, air-conditioners, some with spa-baths and showers or combination bath & showers, heated bathroom floors/ towel rails and private entrances overlooking the pool. Whether you are a golfer, business or holiday traveler, we will tempt you to return! Our rates include full Continental & English breakfast. Other services - laundry, transfers and we assist with golf bookings and other reservations. Free wireless internet. Credit cards. TGCSA 4-star. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer