We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 George B&Bs / inns

Kwelanga Country Retreat

Save Saved
You added Kwelanga Country Retreat to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No 5 Beach Road | Hansmoeskraal, George 6530, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (31)
  • Photos (25)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Kwelanga Country Retreat
Ranked #8 of 48 George B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Oceans vista, wildebeests grazing, eagle cruising , bunny hopping happily around, piece and quiet, what a beautiful place ! We enjoined it so much, outdoors and in the lodge , very cosy by the fire. Best steaks ever ! Thank you Mark and Petra for your hospitality, we will bring the mountain bikes in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffreys Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Kwelanga 27-29 June 2014. It was a pleasant and comfortable weekend with plenty of natural beauty and attentive hosts, Petra & Mark. The chalet's are neat with quality beds and linen, and the food served by their restaurant staff is delicious. At night we could hear the calming sound of frogs in the distance, and by day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Addo, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived 22:00 in the evening and Mark still welcomed us with a smile. We went to our room and immediately knew that this is our kind of place. The room had an open lounge with a kitchen; two bed rooms and a bathroom with a nice shower. Everything was just beautiful and nicely decorated; slept like a baby on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you need some R & R away from the bustle of every day city life yet don't to stray too far from the garden path then Kwelanga Country Retreat is a must. Mark and Petra are amazingly attentive hosts and we truly couldn't have felt more welcome. The food was delicious and plentiful (their butternut soup must get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We decided to go to Kwelanga Country Retreat and it was indeed the best choice we could have made. The service we received was exceptional. I dealt mostly with Petra via emails and phone calls and she was quick to reply and help me. The hospitality is amazing! Mark and Petra are really the best hosts you will ever have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you need a break away from home, but you still want the comfort and the warmth of home, this is the place to be. WE had the most awesome reception from Mark & Petra - You guys are the best with their awesome daughter - Best hosts I have ever come across. The cleanliness & breath taking views is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Mark, the Manager is the rudest person and did not help at all with the booking request. TERRIBLE SERVICE. If this is how he treats potential customers, i am amazed that they even get customers... If there is special running, the person, especially the manager should know what the special is and not be unsure of the standard breakfast cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Kwelanga, Manager at Kwelanga Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Madam I feel so terribly sorry that you feel that way. I do however remember your call vividly and in fact is is you that was rude. I did after all, explain to you that I was in the middle of serving lunch to guests that were at Kwelanga at the time. I did however take the time to... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My Mother and I were travelling along the Garden Route over Christmas and arranged to stay at Kwelanga for two nights. Mark (and all the staff) were incredibly hospitable, guiding us on the phone when the GPS misdirected us, walking us around the site and helping to set up our camp. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed numerous G&T's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After visiting this place on our travels nearly 15 years ago, Kwelanga is as good as I remember - beautiful chalets with a perfect view of the wildlife and the sea from the little wooden deck. The Manager (Mark) and his wife are so welcoming, hospitable and helpful; they treated us to a wonderful South African Braai at the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a blunder made by a well known booking agency, Mark at Kwelanga corrected this graciously by offering us a two night stay at half the price. We made use of this the past weekend and adding to all of the accolades below, we enjoyed it thouroughly. Staff friendly and helpfull, accommodation comfortable and clean, beautiful views and total tranquility.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kwelanga Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kwelanga Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwelanga Country Retreat

Address: No 5 Beach Road | Hansmoeskraal, George 6530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwelanga Country Retreat 3*

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Near Kwelanga Country Retreat

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kwelanga Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer