We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Constantia hotels

The Cellars-Hohenort

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
The Cellars-Hohenort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cellars-Hohenort to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
sanjaymrb Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    27
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
86
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff truly made the weekend special for our 22nd wedding anniversary. Great, friendly people that accomodated our dietary requirements by adapting the menus. The experience made for a wonderful weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A colleague and I had a tremendous stay at the Cellars last week, and I would certainly count it as one of the best hotels I have stayed in. You really get the sense that Liz Mcgrath has involved herself in it personally. We didn't have time to try the Greenhouse, but the food in the Conservatory was very good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent visit to Cape Town, I stayed for four nights at The Cellars-Hohenhort Hotel, returning, in high spirits, to an establishment I and my wife have visited in the past on more than half a dozen occasions over the decades. I had rented a car from Avis and, on the morning of the 1st October, was informed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Cellars-Hohenort on a conference visit. The experience was wonderful. A cottage atmosphere. Perfect to unwind after a stressful workload. Loads of greenery in the gargens to give you a true country touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am very pleased to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful gardens and friendly staff. Warm regards Jo More

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very disappointed at the High Tea. Firstly we were forgotten outside when we asked to order tea. When the food arrived we said we booked for 5 people not 6, we were told you can only order tea for 2 so you have to pay an extra R143 if you're an odd number which isn't right. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are truly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I would like to assure you, however, that your concerns have been addressed. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for 3 nights in September, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A luxury room was well-appointed, comfortable bed and functional bathroom. I would have preferred to have a desk in the room rather than a dressing table. Food in the Conservatory was excellent - I had dinner three nights in a row, and it was consistently good. The grounds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback regarding our Reservations Service. I would like to reassure you that this matter has been forwarded on the team concerned. We are, however, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have eaten at the Conservatory restaurant at the Cellars Hohenort on a number of times and this time I was really disappointed. This hotel and its restaurants has always been renown for its food. My guest was looking to the hotel for a conference in 2015 and based on his lunch experience, he has decided to go elsewhere. During... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Best regards Jo More

manchester
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We enjoyed a scrumptious meal in the conservatory. The service was excellent and we retired to the sumptuous lounge and enjoyed after dinner drinks by the log fire with Socks, one of the resident cats. Loved all the furnishings and stunning gigantic floral displays. A great memory!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

It is very good to hear you so enjoyed your evening with us in The Conservatory Restaurant, especially after-dinner drinks with Socks infront of the fire. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend recently at the Cellars as a mini-break - it was wonderful! Our room was large, airy and very comfortable. Dinner at The Conservatory was delicious, and fairly reasonable by Cape Town standards...plus the bar did some pretty killer margaritas. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this wonderful review, which highlighted our friendly staff and your dinner in The Conservatory. We hope that you will return in the not too distant future. More

England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We have holidayed in SA for 8 years now . The food is always memorable but afternoon tea at the Cellars was the best we have ever had...including the Savoy in London. Our suite for a family of 4 was also excellent and everyone was helpful and happy. Our only regret was we only stayed one night whilst transiting to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your return trip to South Africa, especially your afternoon tea at The Cellars-Hohenort. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay on your next visit. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay