We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    32
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
101
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A beautiful hotelin amazing, immaculate gardens, under Table Mountain and close to Kirstenbosch. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The only downside is that the Conservatory Restaurant menu never changes and is similar for lunch and dinner. As this is the only normal restaurant at the hotel, one has to seek alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to The Cellars hotel for lunch in the Conservatory Restaurant and it was a pure delight. The hotel is an old Cape Dutch house decorated in a quiet and refined way that is as comfortable as it is elegant. It is set in nine acres of beautifully maintained gardens and has extensive views of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've visited The Cellars-Hohenort several times over the years with my friends for Breakfast, as Guests,( not Residents) and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, scenery, delicious food and bottomless Coffee Pots - served 'til almost Lunch-Time!!! The delightful Staff, stunning surroundings make an occassion for us all and a great start to the day. We will be back, David & Gilli... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently attempted to book a table for dinner at The Cellars, Hohenort They would only make a provisional reservation which had to be confirmed nearer the time. The hotel required a credit card number so that I would be charged (or 'fined' perhaps) if we didn't turn up. We found this policy completely unacceptable and cancelled our 'provisional' arrangement.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a testament to the memory of Liz Mcgrath who died earlier this year. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed, the grounds are quite magnificent the two pool areas are very inviting, and the staff are quite magnificent.. It is a wonderful hotel to use as a base for this stunning part of the world. whilst the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fine dining experience not to be missed. Relatively contained menu beautifully presented and wonderful taste. Good wine selection. All and all one of the best I have been to this year. Service excellent and attentive. Gardens are beautiful and worth visiting if you still have the energy after a scrumptious meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed at the Cellars a number of times now and it is a great place to come back to year after year. Everything is familiar, the setting is beautiful, our accommodation was really comfortable, the staff are friendly, and the food at The Greenhouse restaurant is special. In short, it is a great place to unwind after a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seefeld, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel very much. The hotel lies in a phantastic 9-acre garden, and its staff is highly motivated. The hotel also has a prime restaurant with the name "The Greenhouse". Unfortunately they have a policy ... not ... to accept children under eight years of age. We found this policy most unacceptable and appalling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is very good to hear you enjoyed the beautiful setting of our property. I am, however, sorry you were so disappointed about the policy regarding young children in our Greenhouse Restaurant. This policy is in line with many of our competitor fine dining restaurants in the city, but to cater for our younger... More 

Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined with friends in the conservatory, having first seen around a most fascinating and interesting establishment. A wonderful menu and a great wine list. The team were excellent and knowledgeable both about the food and the wine. It was difficult to choose from such an excellent menu. With my wife's food allergies, the waiter knew what the kitchen could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you so enjoyed your evening with us in The Conservatory Restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to send us this wonderful feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Cape. Warm regards Jo More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I've rated this hotel average because elements of it were very good and others less so. I had really mixed feelings about the Cellars. The positives are obvious- the hotel is set in wonderful, beautifully maintained grounds with lots of lovely little nooks and crannies and quiet spots to explore. It's peaceful and quiet. The bar was lovely and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review. I am so pleased there were aspects of your stay with us which you very much enjoyed. I am, however, sorry to hear about the negative points you experienced. I would like to assure you that they will all be addressed and I hope that you will consider returning... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question