We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cellars-Hohenort

5.0 of 5 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Cellars-Hohenort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
86
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the loveliest and most elegant hotels I have stayed in. Cape Dutch architecture in a beautiful setting surrounded by a huge imaginative and varied garden including its own vineyard. Good food and great care taken. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you so enjoyed our unique property, especially our lovely gardens. Looking forward to your return visit when you are next in Cape Town. More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nestling behind Table Mountain, this is the most stunning hotel. Wonderful staff, tranquil and stunning gardens. I would highly recommend this hotel as it very peaceful but you can be in Camps Bay in 15 minutes. Will certainly be going here privately for the weekend soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for highlighting our wonderful location and staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a special weekend away. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff truly made the weekend special for our 22nd wedding anniversary. Great, friendly people that accomodated our dietary requirements by adapting the menus. The experience made for a wonderful weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

We are so pleased you celebrated your special anniversary weekend with us. Many congratulations! Looking forward to welcoming you back on your 23rd, if not before... Best wishes Jo More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

A colleague and I had a tremendous stay at the Cellars last week, and I would certainly count it as one of the best hotels I have stayed in. You really get the sense that Liz Mcgrath has involved herself in it personally. We didn't have time to try the Greenhouse, but the food in the Conservatory was very good,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Ian Many thanks for this wonderful review. It is such a pleasure to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially the garden setting and Liz McGrath's personal touches to her beautiful property. Thank you for bringing the Negroni cocktail to our attention - we are working to perfect it. Hope you will visit us again on your... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

On a recent visit to Cape Town, I stayed for four nights at The Cellars-Hohenhort Hotel, returning, in high spirits, to an establishment I and my wife have visited in the past on more than half a dozen occasions over the decades. I had rented a car from Avis and, on the morning of the 1st October, was informed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I stayed at the Cellars-Hohenort on a conference visit. The experience was wonderful. A cottage atmosphere. Perfect to unwind after a stressful workload. Loads of greenery in the gargens to give you a true country touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am very pleased to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful gardens and friendly staff. Warm regards Jo More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I was very disappointed at the High Tea. Firstly we were forgotten outside when we asked to order tea. When the food arrived we said we booked for 5 people not 6, we were told you can only order tea for 2 so you have to pay an extra R143 if you're an odd number which isn't right. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are truly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I would like to assure you, however, that your concerns have been addressed. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in September, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A luxury room was well-appointed, comfortable bed and functional bathroom. I would have preferred to have a desk in the room rather than a dressing table. Food in the Conservatory was excellent - I had dinner three nights in a row, and it was consistently good. The grounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments and feedback regarding our Reservations Service. I would like to reassure you that this matter has been forwarded on the team concerned. We are, however, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I have eaten at the Conservatory restaurant at the Cellars Hohenort on a number of times and this time I was really disappointed. This hotel and its restaurants has always been renown for its food. My guest was looking to the hotel for a conference in 2015 and based on his lunch experience, he has decided to go elsewhere. During... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Best regards Jo More 

manchester
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We enjoyed a scrumptious meal in the conservatory. The service was excellent and we retired to the sumptuous lounge and enjoyed after dinner drinks by the log fire with Socks, one of the resident cats. Loved all the furnishings and stunning gigantic floral displays. A great memory!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

It is very good to hear you so enjoyed your evening with us in The Conservatory Restaurant, especially after-dinner drinks with Socks infront of the fire. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay