We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7848, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    32
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
101
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Most enjoyable long lunch with excellent food and service in superb surroundings. Very reasonable prices.No rush..could take your time. Nice walk in the lovely gardens. All in all excellent experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franschhoek, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cellars never ceases to impress me. The spa is fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and serene....And the martini bar makes the best dirty martinis that I have ever had. I also highly recommend the Consrvtory for breakfast and dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful hotelin amazing, immaculate gardens, under Table Mountain and close to Kirstenbosch. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The only downside is that the Conservatory Restaurant menu never changes and is similar for lunch and dinner. As this is the only normal restaurant at the hotel, one has to seek alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. As we change our seasonal Conservatory menu to Autumn we will also be introducing more variety between lunch and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to a more varied menu .Warm regards Jo More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I went to The Cellars hotel for lunch in the Conservatory Restaurant and it was a pure delight. The hotel is an old Cape Dutch house decorated in a quiet and refined way that is as comfortable as it is elegant. It is set in nine acres of beautifully maintained gardens and has extensive views of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your lunch at the Conservatory restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review particularly about the food and our beautiful setting. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cellars-Hohenort Hotel. More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've visited The Cellars-Hohenort several times over the years with my friends for Breakfast, as Guests,( not Residents) and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, scenery, delicious food and bottomless Coffee Pots - served 'til almost Lunch-Time!!! The delightful Staff, stunning surroundings make an occassion for us all and a great start to the day. We will be back, David & Gilli... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very good to hear that you so enjoyed your breakfast with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Cape Town. Warm regards Jo More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently attempted to book a table for dinner at The Cellars, Hohenort They would only make a provisional reservation which had to be confirmed nearer the time. The hotel required a credit card number so that I would be charged (or 'fined' perhaps) if we didn't turn up. We found this policy completely unacceptable and cancelled our 'provisional' arrangement.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a testament to the memory of Liz Mcgrath who died earlier this year. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed, the grounds are quite magnificent the two pool areas are very inviting, and the staff are quite magnificent.. It is a wonderful hotel to use as a base for this stunning part of the world. whilst the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fine dining experience not to be missed. Relatively contained menu beautifully presented and wonderful taste. Good wine selection. All and all one of the best I have been to this year. Service excellent and attentive. Gardens are beautiful and worth visiting if you still have the energy after a scrumptious meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

I am so please to hear that you enjoyed your special evening in The Greenhouse Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Cape. Warm regards Jo More 

Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We've stayed at the Cellars a number of times now and it is a great place to come back to year after year. Everything is familiar, the setting is beautiful, our accommodation was really comfortable, the staff are friendly, and the food at The Greenhouse restaurant is special. In short, it is a great place to unwind after a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. I would like to reassure you that your comments have been addressed and we look forward to your return visit for another enjoyable stay with us. Warm regards Jo More 

Seefeld, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel very much. The hotel lies in a phantastic 9-acre garden, and its staff is highly motivated. The hotel also has a prime restaurant with the name "The Greenhouse". Unfortunately they have a policy ... not ... to accept children under eight years of age. We found this policy most unacceptable and appalling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is very good to hear you enjoyed the beautiful setting of our property. I am, however, sorry you were so disappointed about the policy regarding young children in our Greenhouse Restaurant. This policy is in line with many of our competitor fine dining restaurants in the city, but to cater for our younger... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question