We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dongola House

Travelers' Choice award winner
30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongola House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dongola House
Review This Hotel

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
120
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a regular traveller I get to see a lot of guest houses and without a doubt this is one of the best places I have stayed at for a very long time. The service and attention to detail was second to none, Sally and her team are extremely attentive and go way above and beyond what I would consider... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a place to spend the night or even a week, this is the prefect location! My wife and myself could not believe how friendly the staff and owners were and felt very welcome from the minute we set foot in dongola house. The rooms are very neat and look like a dream, and the rest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay at Dongola;our first being January/February 2014. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world but none of them have we enjoyed as much as this beautiful B&B. From the moment you walk through the door you are made to feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Mike and Sally,the owners,go... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola House, responded to this review

Hi guys, thank you for the great review. Sorry you will not be joining us at the pub quiz next year but I have confidence we will clean up in 2017. Warm regards, Mike sally and Natalie. More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything else was topquality but the bed for a person that suffers from low back pain was bad.otherwise nothing to complain. Helpfull couple who helped us to find good places to eat golf places to play on. Very recommendable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola House, responded to this review

Dear Eero, why oh why did you not let us know about your back problem. All of our mattresses are orthopedic but some are firmer than others plus we have a back board which can create and even firmer sleeping experience, even for one side of the bed. We are glad you had an otherwise lovely stay but we ares... More 

Budel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayded at Dongola House voor 8 nights. I can be short in my comments. this is the best B&B we ever stayed in. everything was perfect. Sally, Mike, shade& shadow, thanks for having us.... we will be back.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed in many fantastic accommodations in and around Cape Town, almost all of which we have left saying we'd happily return to; Dongola House is the only one we ever actually have. In fact, last year when they couldn't fit us in for the dates we needed we chose to visit another continent entirely, rather than compromise! Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola House, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for the review. You are a lovely family and we love having you here. Spoiling you little one with some braids and dippy egg art is our pleasure, whilst we are still able. Warm regards, Mike, sally and Natalie More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Due to the very personal engagement of Sally and Mike we could spent relaxing holidays at Dongola House. The property is ideal situated and well kept. Sally and Mike know their business and they gave us important tips about restaurants, hot spots and events and they did the bookings we requested. Thanks for everything. We would like to come again... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed here for four nights. Mike, Sally and Natalie looked after us so well. The breakfasts were delicious and we were made feel very welcome. Could easily have stayed longer. We were out and about every day and our room was always lit and waiting for our return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We were lucky we found Dongola House by personal recommendation, we were not disappointed its a gem! A perfect place to unwind and acclimatise after a long flight. Mike & Sally could not have done more to help us find our feet in South Africa, making reservations for restaurants, concerts etc for us in advance of our arrival. Only regret... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Both the owners Mike and Sally and all the staff are tremendously helpful. The views from all areas of Dongola are wonderful and it is extremely relaxing. Breakfast is good and plenty to do in the area if you have a car. Outstanding service from all and thoroughly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question