We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Schotsche Kloof)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rose Lodge to your Saves list
Rose Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
92%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Helen S London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    66
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
114
63
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is perfect for exploring Cape Town, and the colourful streets around Bo Kaap are incredibly photographic - our room was in one of them. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helen, It's great that you enjoyed the accommodation so much. Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Amanda, Daniel, Edward, & Bruce More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

About 22 on Rose, Room 3 - small means: tiny - made for hobits! No joke! - breakfast means: preapared by yourself - lack of cleaness: bloodprints at the wall if you are on holiday, you deserve more comfort!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you would have told us when you checked in that the accommodation was not to your liking. Yes, our rooms are small as advertised on our website. These are old Cape Malay family homes and they... More

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If one is just in need of a clean and comfortable place to sleep for the night then Rose Lodge is value for money. Close to the city centre and in a quiet neighbourhood. The Bo-Kaap neighbourhood gives one a window into a part of the Cape culture.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our establishment. Kind regards, Rose Lodge More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rose Lodge is a very bijou and comfortable lodge. It is situated in Bo Kaap, the picturesque & colourful Malay area, which is in handy walking distance for getting into town. The building is well kept, clean with modern interior. Bruce & his staff are very friendly and helpful and he has two lovely dogs - Teddy & Coco. We... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Chris for taking the time to review our guesthouse. Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, coco, Teddy, &Bruce More

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We found the Rose Lodge well located and value for money.The room was clean and well maintained and staff very helpful and pleasant. secure parking in the street outside the lodge was available and safe (security guard stationed during the night). Close to amenities that we required.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse. Kind regards, Rose Lodge More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a delayed review! My friend and I stayed at Rose Lodge in May 2013. Excellent service and location. We loved colorful Bo-Kaap, and we found it to be safe and close to many landmarks. Bruce was very helpful and easy to communicate with, even before arriving in Cape Town. Thank you, Bruce, for providing a pleasant stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

It's so nice of you to write a message so long after you stayed with us. We are happy we left you with such fond memories ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rose Lodge is in a very nice location in the middle of Bo-Kaap but also very close to the Green Market and town centre. The accomodation is average, but for the price OK. The rooms are very different!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, General Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse. Kind regards, Rose Lodge More

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location is fine and the price is low.. However, no air-con at the rooms, noisy, the bed was dirty (did not change the sheets as they were full of hair before we used them...), breakfast is self-service and very simple. Hotel manager woke us up very early one day and started asking us a lot of questions.. after a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I shall speak to my manager about this. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you had spoken to me while you were here. More

Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

bruce, teddy and coco were the perfect hosts for our stay in capetown. don't look any further for lodging--this property is perfect! very welcoming and accommodating and safe. in a heartbeat we would return!! thanks again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pam & Cheryl, Thank you so much ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce More

Oskarshamn, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at rose lodge for a week and it was wonderful! The rooms are light, clean and modern. The stuff was so kind and nice and realy helpful. The owner, Bruce, is the best. A great location, close to the waterfront and the pub street. Overall an excellent hotel and probably one of the most genuin and charming hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Best regards, Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce More

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa
Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, Orange on Rose, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-con or fan, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old “Malay” houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, fans or air-conditioning, and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.