We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose Lodge

28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rose Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    205
    86
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
140
78
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Brest, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic place. Edward and Daniel are both helpful and so kind during all my stay in the lodge. Just a thing: it was smelling fresh painting in the lodge... But sure it'll be better in a few weeks :-) Thanks a lot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We met the Canadian owner of the Rose Lodge, Bruce, who also owns the "22 on Rose", "Wale Lodge" and "Orange on Rose", while we were walking through the beautiful area of Bo-Kaap in Cape Town and looking for a hotel/lodge to stay. He suggested one of his lodges, the Wale Lodge, which is located in Bo-Kaap on Wale Street.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antakya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay here; the value for money was great and the staff was very responsive and helpful. The conditions were good compared to the price, and I liked having communal kitchen area. While they had removed some of the food I had purchased and placed in the communal refrigerator, they brought it back so that I could... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mix-up with your food. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We have stayed four times at Rose Lodge. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, fresh, and quiet. The beds are very comfortable. The location is convienent for walking around the city. We have always felt relaxed and comfortable staying at Rose Lodge. We will be back to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are always especially happy when our guests come back again and again. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, the Rose Lodge team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

We are really disappointed with the customer service we received from every person we had contact with. My criticism is r that you phone manner and customer service all round is atrocious. I would advise that your staff are trained more thoroughly as to keep potential cliental correctly informed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

This lady did NOT stay at our guesthouse. She made a third party booking and then cancelled it. She claims she was not told on the telephone about our terms and conditions regarding third party credit card payment. This might be true if my staff were not made aware of this but it is on the booking form which she... More 

Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Rose Lodge was everything I bargained for. Clean, friendly, safe stay close to the city center. Everything worked like a charm. Starting with a last minute reservation the night before I left for SA and just 36h before my arrival. I got a personal confirmation from Bruce and the possibility to book a transfer from the airport. That was confirmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Daniel for your very positive review of our guesthouse. We are always happy when we live up to our guests expectations :) Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Perfect location to explore Die Bo-Kaap. Also not far from the main Cape Town tourist attractions e.g. V&A Waterfront, Greenmarket Square, Table Mountain and Cape Town City Centre. Biesmiellah Restaurant that serves traditional Malay food is walking distance and excellent. Halal food and drink menu. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is mix of English and Continental... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Delightful bed and breakfast in a superb location, so many places to eat nearby and attractions to visit. Felt very safe in this location, even walking to the restaurants at night. Great value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anita & Christopher, Thank you for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Had a great time ,my problem was the breakfast , I expected some full English breakfast after a heavy night!all in all its a good place wouldn't mind going back ,checking in was a hustle too, the lady was rude

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Unfortunately we do not do a full English breakfast. It states quite clearly on all websites that we serve a continental breakfast. I am sorry if you feel you were treated rudely by my staff. I apologize. Kind regards, Bruce More 

Brattleboro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I stayed for a week at the Wale Lodge and really appreciated my stay! Bruce, Edward, Daniel and the rest of the staff were courteous, helpful and quick to respond to issues. Fantastic location and good amenities!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy we could make your week in Cape Town an enjoyable one ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
22 On Rose
#120 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#16 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rouge on Rose
#9 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#25 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#40 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay