We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose Lodge

28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    82
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
138
77
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are really disappointed with the customer service we received from every person we had contact with. My criticism is r that you phone manner and customer service all round is atrocious. I would advise that your staff are trained more thoroughly as to keep potential cliental correctly informed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

This lady did NOT stay at our guesthouse. She made a third party booking and then cancelled it. She claims she was not told on the telephone about our terms and conditions regarding third party credit card payment. This might be true if my staff were not made aware of this but it is on the booking form which she... More 

Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Rose Lodge was everything I bargained for. Clean, friendly, safe stay close to the city center. Everything worked like a charm. Starting with a last minute reservation the night before I left for SA and just 36h before my arrival. I got a personal confirmation from Bruce and the possibility to book a transfer from the airport. That was confirmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Daniel for your very positive review of our guesthouse. We are always happy when we live up to our guests expectations :) Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Perfect location to explore Die Bo-Kaap. Also not far from the main Cape Town tourist attractions e.g. V&A Waterfront, Greenmarket Square, Table Mountain and Cape Town City Centre. Biesmiellah Restaurant that serves traditional Malay food is walking distance and excellent. Halal food and drink menu. Our room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is mix of English and Continental... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Delightful bed and breakfast in a superb location, so many places to eat nearby and attractions to visit. Felt very safe in this location, even walking to the restaurants at night. Great value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anita & Christopher, Thank you for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Had a great time ,my problem was the breakfast , I expected some full English breakfast after a heavy night!all in all its a good place wouldn't mind going back ,checking in was a hustle too, the lady was rude

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Unfortunately we do not do a full English breakfast. It states quite clearly on all websites that we serve a continental breakfast. I am sorry if you feel you were treated rudely by my staff. I apologize. Kind regards, Bruce More 

Brattleboro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I stayed for a week at the Wale Lodge and really appreciated my stay! Bruce, Edward, Daniel and the rest of the staff were courteous, helpful and quick to respond to issues. Fantastic location and good amenities!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy we could make your week in Cape Town an enjoyable one ! Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, & Bruce More 

Swakopmund, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

i had a pleasant stay at Rose Lodge. The room is very comfortable, what i liked most was the spacious shower and nice bath tab with bubble bath provided. The customer service was really good, Rose Lodge crew are very friendly people. I felt very safe and slept very well. i can and will recommend it to other people.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back. Kind regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel & Bruce More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I stayed at Rose Lodge for two nights. I especially appreciated the short walking distance to the city centre. The rooms were clean, tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was also very nice and helpful. It was an alltogether pleasant experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Amelie for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel & Bruce More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

very comfortable accomodation, helpful staff in a vibrant histroic part of old Cape Town. This is an original house, nicely renovated on a busy street, with all the facilities and restaurants of the city in walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was kind of you to join me for lunch and to talk to a South African who moved to Toronto, Canada where I come from originally !!! Best wishes, Bruce More 

Maud Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Two short stays at this wonderful B&B - I think this was our eighth visit. What you get is stunning personal attention in a spotlessly clean room with a sumptuous breakfast and, hot, fresh coffee. Edward is the perfect host with Bruce's wise and gentle hand on the tiller in the background. Value for money is very good. Highly recommended.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Margaret & Oliver, It's very heartwarming to get reviews like yours - thank you so much. I have made a lot of nice friends running my B&B during the past 10 years. It's only a shame that you all live so far away ! I look forward to your return :) Best regards, Amanda, Edward, Daniel, Coco, Teddy &... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities