We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leeuwenvoet House

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Leeuwenvoet House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    33
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
39
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for Leeuwenvoet House
See the most recent reviews
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Myself, husband and 2friends stayed here Feb 11th to Feb 17th 2012 . We had a fantastic time in Cape town, this guest house is truly home from home, we were delayed 24hrs on. Virgin flight from Heathrow which made us arrive at our guest house at about midnight. The staff stayed up and waited for us with a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My friend and I spent 6 nights at Leeuwenvoet House and we were very pleased that we found it. The staff were wonderful - helpful in making tour arrangements, transport to and from the guest house, and dinner suggestions. The place is very pretty and we felt right at home - and very safe and secure. Great dining options were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is greatly appreciated. It is guests like you that make our business a pleasure! Best wishes More 

La Possession, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

It says 4 stars guesthouse on their website...I agree for the location, breakfast (people were nice) and the quality of the beds but we probably had one of the worst room in the guesthouse. 2 windows in our room one with view on a wall at 50 cm away from the window and the other one had no natural light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review

We remember you and your lovely family and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town and South Africa. We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay but we thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, our breakfast and our beds. However, upon your departure you advised our manager that you... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a premier room, very spacious and clean. Minus: the look from our window view was a wall from the building next door. But we had no time looking through the window, Cape Town has so many attractions! Yvonne, our hostess in Leeuwenvoet House was very kind and helpful. In fact, everyone was friendly. Good breakfast, choice of eggs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

To all the staff at Leeuwenvoet - thank you SO much for making my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I now know that I have a family in Tamboerskloof. Leeuwenvoet is so conveniently located - central to the buzz that makes Cape Town the amazing city is is! Excellent world class restaurants within walking distance, Long Street -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Thanks to Rod and Helena for making our time in Cape Town enjoyable and relaxing as well as the always useful advise (and for organising our township tour). The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is wonderful and the staff always willing to help. Leeuwenvoet is a 10 minute drive to the V&A or to Table Bay depending on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely rooms, feeling of open space from the balcony overlooking a local school. Its a central location and close to Kloof St with its restaurants. The rooms were very clean, with antique but well kept furniture. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. As a family of four we had to have two separate rooms but everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HelenaMacPhail, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime! Kind regards Helena More 

Saint-Denis, La Réunion
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Me and my girlfirend stay at leeuwenvoet during the world cup We still thinking about how amazing was south Africa and about the Leeuwenvoet team who were so kind and helpful with us. The breakfast is amazing, the room very clean and the heater in the bathroom during winter is delighful =) Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Leeuwenvoet is off a busy street, but Kloofnek road itself is a well used side street with plenty of cars and pedestrians. plenty of restaurants (with free wi-fi) nearby, plus grocery stores - only 5 mins away. downtown is about half hour walk away, and V&V waterfront is another additional 15-20 mins walk from downtown. the front entrance of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were looking for somewhere in this part of town that was comfortable. All good, but not outstanding compared to some places we've stayed. I would recommend it, primarily for the location which is great for the airport, Mt Nelson hotel, getting over to Camps Bay, Table Mt etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#15 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#18 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg Guest House
Underberg Guest House
#2 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Welgelegen
#6 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#41 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay