We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leeuwenvoet House

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
No 8 Kloof Nek Road | 93 New Church Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Leeuwenvoet House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #74 of 164 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012
Caroline J La Possession, Reunion Island
Add Photo

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    33
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
38
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
There are newer reviews for Leeuwenvoet House
See the most recent reviews
La Possession, Reunion Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

It says 4 stars guesthouse on their website...I agree for the location, breakfast (people were nice) and the quality of the beds but we probably had one of the worst room in the guesthouse. 2 windows in our room one with view on a wall at 50 cm away from the window and the other one had no natural light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katvoet, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review

We remember you and your lovely family and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town and South Africa. We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay but we thank you for your kind compliments about our staff, our breakfast and our beds. However, upon your departure you advised our manager that you... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a premier room, very spacious and clean. Minus: the look from our window view was a wall from the building next door. But we had no time looking through the window, Cape Town has so many attractions! Yvonne, our hostess in Leeuwenvoet House was very kind and helpful. In fact, everyone was friendly. Good breakfast, choice of eggs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

To all the staff at Leeuwenvoet - thank you SO much for making my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I now know that I have a family in Tamboerskloof. Leeuwenvoet is so conveniently located - central to the buzz that makes Cape Town the amazing city is is! Excellent world class restaurants within walking distance, Long Street -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Thanks to Rod and Helena for making our time in Cape Town enjoyable and relaxing as well as the always useful advise (and for organising our township tour). The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is wonderful and the staff always willing to help. Leeuwenvoet is a 10 minute drive to the V&A or to Table Bay depending on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely rooms, feeling of open space from the balcony overlooking a local school. Its a central location and close to Kloof St with its restaurants. The rooms were very clean, with antique but well kept furniture. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. As a family of four we had to have two separate rooms but everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HelenaMacPhail, Owner at Leeuwenvoet House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime! Kind regards Helena More 

Saint-Denis, La Réunion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Me and my girlfirend stay at leeuwenvoet during the world cup We still thinking about how amazing was south Africa and about the Leeuwenvoet team who were so kind and helpful with us. The breakfast is amazing, the room very clean and the heater in the bathroom during winter is delighful =) Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Leeuwenvoet is off a busy street, but Kloofnek road itself is a well used side street with plenty of cars and pedestrians. plenty of restaurants (with free wi-fi) nearby, plus grocery stores - only 5 mins away. downtown is about half hour walk away, and V&V waterfront is another additional 15-20 mins walk from downtown. the front entrance of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were looking for somewhere in this part of town that was comfortable. All good, but not outstanding compared to some places we've stayed. I would recommend it, primarily for the location which is great for the airport, Mt Nelson hotel, getting over to Camps Bay, Table Mt etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Luxurious with sumptuous bathrooms, a plunge pool and helpful honest staff is ‘Leeuwenvoet House’ a B & B where ‘The Best Breakfast in Cape Town’ is no idle claim. Within walking distance of shops, museums, the not to be missed Greenmarket Street and Cape Town’s hop on, hop off tourist bus, we loved it there! What a service, what a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We recently spent a few days at the Leeuwenvoet House and we could recommend this guest house to any visitor to Cape Town. The staff is great and everyone went the extra mile to make us feel at home, especially when a few of us experienced some minor health problems. The guest house is close to the centre and easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay