We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

4.0 of 5 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Offers & Announcements
Sunbreaks Summer Campaign
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    354
    96
    32
    24
See reviews for
161
231
24
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (808)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (175)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (243)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (193)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are currently staying at the hotel. The breakfast is decent and rooms are clean. It annoys me though that everyday our room cards don't work so we have to constantly go to the reception to get our cards re-programmed. Gym has literally 6 equipment. . Taps don't work and one of the 6 equipment not working. Kids loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were there 3 nights as part of a tour. Excellent location, room and service. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Would stay there again. Close to the waterfront shopping with shuttle service every half hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here from 27 Nov to 4 Dec and are experienced travellers. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee in room but very little milk but a surplus of bathroom consumables. Breakfast was excellent. However, on one occasion due to illness we were advised to use room service. It was delivered late, the selection was incorrect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to the CTICC and about 10 mins walk from town. This is a busy hotel without much character. Breakfast a bit hectic. Pool area/patio quite small and in shade by mid afternoon. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms fine and clean. No complaints, but I wouldn't pick for holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, cr7London for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We a glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the hotel's proximity to the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Kind regards Devon Justus Assistant Front Office Manager More 

Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in was really busy at arrival and had to wait 10 minutes to get service. Check-out also took some time as the paper work seemed to be complicated. Staff seemed a bit slow when processing customers. The hotel is generally clean and the service was friendly especially in the lobby and restaurant areas. The room was compact and clean. Comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, Helsinkiglobus for taking the time to post your detailed review of the hotel. We apologise for the delay upon check-in and check-out, and we will definately review this gap in service. Your comments regarding the room have also been noted and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel. Kind regards Devon Justus Assistant... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very decent hotel in a good location. Very near the V&A waterfront with shuttles on the hour and half past the hour to V&A. Friendly staff and easy check in. Smoking rooms available. Some rooms have a good view of the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Djinn3, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your valuable feedback This greatly assists us in our quest - as we strive for service excellence Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

Maldon, Essex
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A continuous stream of coaches dropping off people for quick overnight stays. Breakfast was a chaotic, poor quality buffet. Our room was very small and smelt musty. We arrived late afternoon and immediately found a replacement hotel, but had to endure a night here. The sister hotel next door, the Southern Sun Cullinan was much,much better. Thank goodness we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Judy-from-Maldon, Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us We regret that you didn't enjoy our facilities , but we are pleased that you enjoyed our sister hotel next door. It is true that we do indeed have several tour groups that stay with us over this time of year , however, we certainly attempt to... More 

Pretoria
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel for a short stay in Cape Town, we have used it on a number of occasions. 15min walk to the V&A or Cape Town Centre, Longmarket St etc. The Staff are always friendly and helpful at check in/out and during your stay. You will not find a better selection for breakfast than here variety is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear KARRST, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services and we will certainly pass this information on to our team members for their information Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to visit Cape Town for four day and we were recommended Southern Sun Waterfront, very well located and with a complete offer of activities to be done in Cape town. We were attended with a lot of care and the hotel had a well set up and nice room, a terrace with a beautiful pool and a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Carlos G Thank you for your valuable feedback We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your experience at the Southern Sun Waterfront Your comments will be shared with all of our team members for their information and motivation Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

i stayed at the hotel with my husband and 15 months old son....we did our booking via booking.com that made us liase directly with the hotel reservation for payment and all other necessary....we landed in cape town on 20 nov and when we finally met the driver who picked us up he told us the hotel told him that only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Queenpriyam, Thank you so much for your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. At the outset, I would like to apologize most profusely to you and your family for the litany of lapses in the service delivery you experienced Please rest assured that I will personally investigate all the issues that you have highlighted so as to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay