We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweet Orange Guest House

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Sweet Orange Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #85 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013
Poul Erik C Copenhagen
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
50
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sweet Orange Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The warm and friendly atmosphere is the trademark of Sweetest guesthouses in Sea Point - the reason you feel like home there. Room are originally decorated. You are close to Main Road, the sea and Down town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Paul, It is always a pleasure to accomodate you and your individual groups. We thank you for your continues support and the entire team is more than happy that you feel at home at Sweetest Guesthouses. We hope to see you again in October 2014 and thank you for your review, it is very valuable to us. Kind regards... More 

Tulbagh, Western Cape
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to sweet orange for an relaxing weekend and that's what we got. Everything was perfect, the service, the food, the room everything. It was a bit cold so we stayed inside but we wanna go in summer time again to enjoy the pool and the outside. We really had an amazing time at sweet orange and guarantee that... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

We Thank Laurelle P for the effort to place the review, and we are happy that you had a relaxing weekend at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. Winter is indeed a bit chilly in Cape Town, when you will be visiting us in Summer you can make full usage of our garden with it’s cozy chill out areas and take a cooling... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a lovely little guest house. The breakfast was served in a communal kitchen around a huge wooden table. It consisted of fresh bread, cereals, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, smoothies, bacon and eggs etc. Amazing good quality and service. Excellent showers too! We loved it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Capsen, We Thank you for your time and effort to place this review as it is very valuable for us. The entire team of Sweet Orange is delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, that shows us that our staff shows their personal effort daily to satisfy our guest. Again we appreciate your comments and we hope to accommodate you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room was adequate and spacious but the whole reception as a guest was poor and uninviting. I was expecting a more personal feel from a B&B but felt more like a hotel. The "Double Bed" was actually 2 singles. There is NO allocated parking, you are lucky if you can park near the place at all. I don't think... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mark A We would like to thank you for your valuable Review. We do regret that you did not feel welcomed at the Guesthouse. We would have appreciated if you would have been a bit more precious that we could work on this. The parking situation is difficult and unfortunately the circumstance does not allow us to provide parking... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Over the weekend I was privelledged to spend a night at Sweet Orange Guesthouse and wow! Best nights sleep I've had in ages, the beds are nice and big and super comfortable. The shower was absolutely fantastic and the staff were unbelievable friendly and helpful. Yummiest breakfast ever! Definitely going back with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear YourMajesty007 We thank you for the time you took to write a review about Sweet Orange on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, here at sweet orange we delight our guest with a delicious breakfast that caters for all discernible taste and every morning has its own special. Thank you again for your comments they are very... More 

Hout Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the sweet orange. Amazing staff, great warm & cosy rooms with a delicious breakfast! We have a teething toddler, so this was a great break for us. thanks to you.....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear SASonja We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. we greatly appreciate the time you took to write the review and your nice comments about Sweet Orange. Hope to accommodate you again the next time you visit Cape Town. Kind Regards Evelyn and the entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good service, nice rooms, helpful staff and fantastic breakfast which is served at a large table with all travelers. Can be noisy at night when other travelers come back though. But in general, the area is a situated in a nice quiet residential neighborhood where restaurants and grocery shops are located nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Bee1007 we thank you for your review, here at Sweet Orange Guesthouse we are continuously striving to provide the best service. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, every morning we delight our guests with delicious breakfast that caters for all discernible tastes and every morning has its own special treat. We thank you again for your comments... More 

Bern
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated on the Sea Point you'll find many good restaurants around. The staff is very helpful and gives good recommendations what to do and see in Capetown. As the huge breakfast is served at a big table you easily meet other travellers. Big, beautiful decorated rooms and nice garden. Unfortunately a bit badly soundproofed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Katharina S We thank you for your review. Here at Sweet Orange Guest House we always strive to provide the best service, our staff are constantly being trained to give the necessary assistant. Each morning we serve a huge breakfast that caters for all discernible tastes and every morning has its own special. We greatly appreciate your review, your... More 

Voorthuizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I chose B&B because I like to have company during my stay. I have met very interesting and nice people during my stay. Further as a business man I have liked the quality of the wifi. The B&B is located very near to a nice restaurant and shopping street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

As Johann F, many of our guests visiting the restaurant “La Boheme” which is just around the corner and we are happy to hear that you liked the bandwidth of our WiFi as we continuously strive to improve our services we thank you for your review and hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Cape Town. Kind... More 

Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night recently. Fabulous guesthouse with tremendously elegant rooms, extremely personable service, and excellent breakfast! I am planning to go back here in a few weeks. Definitely recommend this place as it is right by the sea, close to table mountain, and easy to access.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear nuwan_samaraweera Thanks nuwan_samaraweera for your next trip to Cape Town, we recommend that you take advantage and communicate with us for your booking. We honor direct and personal inquiries always with a price rebate. On your next visit four of our rooms will welcome with new touch ups we are looking forward to welcoming you again and we thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question